We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Sun to your Saves list
Paradise Sun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Volbert | Cote D'or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island SEZ, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 4, pay 3 (=25% off)
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We're so glad we chose this hotel for our Seychelles stay. The hotel is tucked at the one edge of the beach and from what we saw it was the best spot on Anse Volbert.
We arrived quite late, after dinner, and were treated to a plate of lovely sandwiches waiting for us in the room. The room was spacious and we stayed upstairs which gave us a nice private balcony. The restaurant is situated on the beach and serves great food. We stayed half-board and enjoyed the breakfast selection and wide buffet selections at night immensely, BBQ night was my favourite! We had lunch outside the hotel at a place called Pirogue once where I had probably the worst burger of my life. Prices of restaurants outside the resort are mad. The prices of food at Paradise Sun are reasonable compared with outside and the food is much nicer. I did not enjoy my grilled calamari one day and they did not make me pay - other than that the fish and chips, yacht burger, chicken wraps etc. were all very good.
Food tip: Forget the milkshake, have a banana split it is cheaper and fantastic!
The staff on Paradise Sun are all lovely and friendly unlike outside the resort where the only time a local will smile is when he's trying to rip you off - not a very friendly local population I'm afraid!
We swam in the warm water and went for the complimentary sunset cruise, took long walks on the fantastic beach and ate,ate, ate! A great relaxing time.
There was no snorkeling from the shore but apparently the diving per boat is great.
We will come back to this hotel :)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have provate balcony; Rooms far from Restaurant side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    217
    49
    33
    18
See reviews for
125
505
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Paradise Sun, in 2 years, and I must compliment the Management. Normally when you visit a resort with the same management in a year’s time you generally don’t see any changes and mostly some slack in the running of the place.
With our last visit in February we could see that the staff is more customer orientated, they have new uniforms, and the maintenance of the resort is up to standard.

We can’t wait to plan our next visit in August.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Spent 2 weeks on Praslin at Paradise Sun. Loved the room (21) and its proximity to the beach.
Safe, hairdryer,air con, comfy bed, plenty of storage, kettle etc and verandah. Kept clean, towels changed daily, bed turned down and room swept every night.....Only down side in our opinion was the chairs on the verandah, not too comfortable and very difficult to get in and out of especially if you have a disability.
Beach was well kept as was the pool. Restaurant had a good selection of food, dont know what we were expecting but seemed a bit bland to us, perhaps we expected more spice and taste. That being said we did not go hungry by any means.
There is not much to do in the area, but we had a few good dives with White Tip divers based at the hotel. Big thank you to Jimmy who kept us all entertained with his wonderful personality and friendliness. He organises a worthwhile sunset cruise and trips to other islands. Nice ice-creams can be purchased from cafe in the village, 10 min walk away along the beach.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, cannot be faulted.
All in all a great relaxing holiday and really glad we went.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

my wife and i stayed 7 nights in a superior room. the transfer flight from mahe to praslin was smooth and the reception at the hotel good. we did buy a bottle of wine at the airport in south africa which came in very handy for sundowners since alcohol is 10 times the price there. this hotel is situated on a very beautiful and quiet part of cote d or beach and we could snorkel right in front of the hotel. very few other hotels have this privilege and be aware that some of the other hotels are not even on the beach. the food was buffet breakfast and dinner which was excellent considering the location in the middle of the indian ocean. the a la carte lunches anywhere on the island praslin was excellent but expensive. best beach definitely anse lazio where we could relax on perfect soft white sand in the shade of indigenous trees in between snorkelling crystal clear waters teeming with hundreds of different fish species over coral reefs found 20m from shore in depths of 1-2m. felt safe with lifeguards on the beach. snorkelling at st pierre also good try do this with the whitetipdivers scuba centre next to the hotel if you are experienced. excursion to la digue island is expensive:we took the local bus to the jetty where we baught tickets with the cat rose ferry to la digue which was an easy 20min transfer. on la digue we rented bicycles like everyone else and enjoyed scenery especially anse source d argent. snorkelling not easy here have to be more experienced to go deeper. also found endemic seychelles paradise flycatcher in the veuve reserve easily with local guide. on praslin saw black parrot at entrance to vallee de mai. also visited cousin island via this hotel and saw seychelles fody,warbler and magpie robin. fairy terns were everywhere. take cash to smaller islands:can exchange rand,dollar or euro for seychelles rupees at local shops. buy local beer and local takamaka rum= very good. budget to have enough extra money for excursions because that is what makes it a dream holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our holiday was truly an amazing experience thanks to paradise sun, we went with our 2 year old son and it was breathtaking..we stayed in room 16, the view is out of this world, the service was outstanding, the hotel went out of their way to make us feel comfortable with our toddler, the highlight was the boatrip with "Jimmy" he was so funny, we swam off the boat at anse lazio, there are no more words to describe it, i would go back in a heartbeat, the GM is very friendly and so was all the staff, i cant wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: rooms closer to the white tip diving are better:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel F, Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Juanita,

On behalf of the Paradise Sun Hotel team, I’d like to thank you for your time to write the positive review. Our team continuously strives towards service excellence, which you have experienced during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Paradise Sun Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Philippe Bethune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

5 star for its settings: fantastic beach and clear water, breathtaking views, at walking distance from shops and restaurants. The hotel's restaurant had a fantastic view.

4 stars for the service: one feels definitely like a guest and not a customer (for ex., we were offered free late check out immediately and each afternoon,for all guests, they had complimentary coffee, tea, water and cookies ; in higher end hotels, they make you pay for everything - at Constance Lemuria in a restaurant we were asked for more money just to get a table with a view for the same food as at any nearby table- and free tea, coffee and cookies in a restaurant is not even imaginable elsewhere). Also complimentary use at any time of the hotel's kayaks. Staff is really friendly, although a bit slow, cleaning staff obviously asking for tips, restaurant staff fantastic. The hotel has a homey feeling and I liked that the restaurant is only a few steps away from the rooms, meaning we could leave our kid sleep later in the morning and he would just walk to the restaurant later to join us. Try doing this in huge resorts like Ephelia where you need a buggy for everything.

2 stars for the rooms and facilities: I don't think they had a gym (we were not told in any case), rooms terribly basic, although clean, not spacious, swimming pool tiny, public areas not quite carefully maintained, internet "working" in the lobby only (not in the rooms), but it was so painfully slow, we quit using it after the first tries, lobby worn out. No kids club or activities

1star for the food: here is where they are cutting costs to a max: cheap food and the restaurant was on the beach with no airco.Imagine eating warm salad or melted butter while sweating...Birds are everywhere, they were literally ON the toaster (we joked saying the toaster was a grill too). The entire food presentation didn't look very hygienic. One night there was a seafood buffet with grilled prawns, which I liked, but they were only giving two per serving, so one had to return several times. We ate to survive the day, not for pleasure.

Would we go back to this hotel? No. But would definitely return to swim and just chill at Anse Volbert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lioferrari, Manager at Paradise Sun, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Anda,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback about your recent stay at Paradise Sun, we do appreciate your valuable comments.
We are delighted to hear that not only did you find the location absolutely wonderful, but you also appreciated the different added values we offer, such as the daily complimentary coffee and tea break, the FREE internet access and the friendliness of the service which we believe all contribute to our guests enjoying a memorable holiday experience.

Paradise Sun is one of the landmark hotels in Seychelles, which has retained its genuine and authentic architecture, which is what most of our guests enjoy. All our rooms were completely refreshed last year and the Hotel is going through a Yearly maintenance programme, whereby the rooms are blocked for a week in order to maintain them to the high standards we set.

We were obviously disappointed to hear that our Food & Beverage was not to your particular taste, and I can ensure you that our chefs have put a great deal of effort into trying to ensure that we provide the best food experience to our guests. Last year we appointed an International Chef who trained a very competent team, who are dedicated to preparing freshly cooked dishes daily. Our restaurant is one of the only restaurants located on the beach offering a 180 degrees open view onto the sea, and this superb feature, is one which we know is thoroughly enjoyed by our guests.

We are also pleased to advise that we have received very positive feedback both from first-time and repeat guests over the last few months, which re-inforces our aims of delivering excellent guest service and confirms that we are moving in the right direction. We are constantly striving to improve our standards, which is part of the Paradise Sun ethos.

We are sorry that you did not communicate with our team during your stay, as we can assure you that we would have done our best to satisfy you. It is our philosophy at Paradise Sun to provide the best holiday experience to all our guests.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we are so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Paradise Sun when next you visit the Seychelles.


Philippe Bethune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The place is so beautiful and the people are very nice.
The hotel gave us a warm feeling of home with a treat...
We will come back.
Every night in the restaurant was another topic for eating and we always found what to eat.
Somtimes they have a band that sings so nice. At one point, we came back into the room and continued to listen to the band

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Sun

Address: Anse Volbert | Cote D'or, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a Seychelles gem, embraced in the warmth of the Indian Ocean. The pristine white coral sands of the Cote d’Or Beach at our front door will tempt you to bare your feet. The aquamarine waters that stretch towards an endless horizon will float your troubles away. Our lush lawns and tropical gardens will delight your eye with their beauty. Here there is more than sand, sea and sunshine. There is also the warmth of the Seychelles smile – making it a paradise you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Paradise Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sun Hotel Anse Volbert
Paradise Sun Praslin Island
Hotel Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.