We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Reserve Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Reserve Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Reserve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island Pri, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Anse Volbert
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Could do much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I give the room 5 stars (room 136 was large, contemporary, and had a splendid outlook) but the rest 2 stars. The hotel grounds are tired and in need of considerable upgrading and the food offer is rather dull, buffets offering quantity rather than quality. The bar is dark and unwelcoming.

Given the options in the Seychelles I will not stay here again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Paul B, General Manager at La Reserve Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Le Domaine de La Réserve and are disappointed to note that you had a negative experience with us. We try to provide guests with best value for money and be assured that the comments will be seriously reviewed and discussed.

The grounds which are very spacious and ideal for families will soon undergo a major upgrade and this will include the rehabilitation of our wetland behind the hotel which will become the focal point of the hotel compound.

Thank you again for your comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service


Jean-Paul Barallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    155
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
88
441
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were looking for a calm place with high standard rooms and great service and found exactly this in "La Reserve". This hotel has roughly 40 rooms which allows a private atmosphere. Basically all have ocean view. Some are very close to the sea others are behind the garden but with no other building before them. The rooms are clean and look nicely with typical wooden interior like you would expect it on an island in the Indian Ocean. The bathroom is great with large shower, seperate from the bath tub, also the toilet is in a seperate room and zou will find a large area with lavatory.
The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is over the sea on a roofed runway - very nice as well. Buffet and menu change on a daily basis. Breakfast stays almost the same but offers a good variety of food.
I must mention the customer relations, because I think they do a great job. They make reservations for dinner, help with wellness bookings and are generally helpful if you need anything.

Room Tip: Take first floor - You will have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Paul B, General Manager at La Reserve Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Happyluci

Thank you for choosing Le Domaine de La Réserve for your most recent holiday on Praslin.

We are delighted that you had wonderful times with us and that you enjoyed all our services . We really appreciated the opportunity to welcoming you at the hotel and to receiving your good comments. We value our guests' feedback which we always pass on to our team.


Thank you again for your endorsement. We sincerely hope you would consider a return visit soon,

Sincerely

Jean-Paul Barallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in September, one of the best month for visiting Seychelles. We relax ourselves and had a very good time. Food was great and had an excellent and pleasant service. We went outside for snorkeling and went for a walk in the beaches, really fantastic. In La Reserve we went outside for excursion and had unforgettable dinners every day. If you like sea and beaches this is the right place you had to visit!

Room Tip: I suggest you to book sea view room: it is very comfortable and so romantic. It has a fantastic sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Paul B, General Manager at La Reserve Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Tonyuccio

Thank you for choosing Le Domaine de La Réserve for your most recent holiday in Seychelles. We are delighted to read your wonderful and detailed feedback on your experience of the services and facilities offered by our hotel during your stay in September.

We hope that we will see you again in the future. Should you need any help with future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely

Jean-Paul Barallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were very lucky to have been married at La Reserve in April 2010 and had the most amazing time. Everything was absolutely perfect.......food, rooms, location, staff, ceremony we could not fault anything at all. We went on the sunset cruise which was the perfect end to the perfect day. I am sorry it has taken us so long to write the review, but better late than never!! The snorkeling was also a very special experience as was scuba diving :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at La Reserve during the 1st week of our Honeymoon and could not have asked for better. It was an absolute pleasure staying at La Reserve and from the moment we arrived until the time we had to leave we were treated with friendly staff - always ready with a smile and to help where they can!

This is definitely the place to go if you are looking for a romantic break away for you and your partner - to get away from it all. The other more lively and busy beach is in any case just around the corner - just a 10 minute walk away if you feel like it.

The rooms are fantastic - we had a lovely sea front room - the bedroom is spacious with a lovely bathroom, a great shower and a nice bath - if there is probably one thing I would have liked was a bigger bath :-)

The food was also great with a themed evening every night, alternating between buffets and set menus and the jetty restaurant in itself was a great setting for breakfast and dinner every day.

What's also great are the excursions and daily activities - Francis was a great host - always fun to be around with.

Thank you to everyone at La Reserve for making our Honeymoon so special and an unforgettable experience - we would recommend it to anyone and hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed at La-reserve for one week during my honeymoon at seychelles . it was perfect : the food , the stuff ,the pool , the location and the views .
the beach is not suitable for swimming but great for snorkeling . a walk distance from Anse Volbert and 15 minutes by taxi from the great Anse Lazio .
Very recommended

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms at the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Reserve for the second part of our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived it was clear that this is a quality property which does things properly. We were escorted to our room and informed of how everything functioned in the room eg safe, location of hairdryer etc. The rooms are spacious with big four poster beds and the bathroom is open plan with his and hers sinks and a sunken bath. There is a separate shower room and also separate toilet. On the balcony are two comfy loungers as well as a table and chairs and clothes horse. All rooms are sea view facing and a thirty second walk max to the private beach. The pool is also very big and if you are a swimming fan, it is long enough to do lengths. The food at La Reserve is second to none and could not be faulted. The breakfast was the usual hot and cold buffet but always had plenty whatever time you went to the lovely jetty restaurant. In the evening, the meal is either a set 4 course meal or a themed buffet - we stayed 8 nights and had 4 of each which was a perfect balance. The restaurant staff are friendly yet not intrusive and the jetty is a great place to watch the fish while you dine. Also there is a daily complimentary afternoon tea and biscuits in the pool bar which is a nice freebie! There is a daily activity schedule which includes things like a snorkelling tour, a nature walk, and aqua fit and water polo - all led by the knowledgable and fun Francis. The hotel is extremely peaceful so if you are looking for nightlife, it is perhaps a little quiet, however for a honeymoon or coupley holiday it is very restful. We would both stay in this hotel again and would recommend to anyone. The location is perfect - a beautiful beach is a 10 min walk away and the bus stops right outside the hotel so you can get around cheaply and easily. A real winner!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Reserve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Hotel

Address: Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island Pri, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Reserve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
La Reserve Hotel Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reserve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.