We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reserve Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Reserve Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Reserve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island Pri, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Anse Volbert
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dream honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed at La-reserve for one week during my honeymoon at seychelles . it was perfect : the food , the stuff ,the pool , the location and the views .
the beach is not suitable for swimming but great for snorkeling . a walk distance from Anse Volbert and 15 minutes by taxi from the great Anse Lazio .
Very recommended

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms at the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    145
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
84
424
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Reserve for the second part of our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived it was clear that this is a quality property which does things properly. We were escorted to our room and informed of how everything functioned in the room eg safe, location of hairdryer etc. The rooms are spacious with big four poster beds and the bathroom is open plan with his and hers sinks and a sunken bath. There is a separate shower room and also separate toilet. On the balcony are two comfy loungers as well as a table and chairs and clothes horse. All rooms are sea view facing and a thirty second walk max to the private beach. The pool is also very big and if you are a swimming fan, it is long enough to do lengths. The food at La Reserve is second to none and could not be faulted. The breakfast was the usual hot and cold buffet but always had plenty whatever time you went to the lovely jetty restaurant. In the evening, the meal is either a set 4 course meal or a themed buffet - we stayed 8 nights and had 4 of each which was a perfect balance. The restaurant staff are friendly yet not intrusive and the jetty is a great place to watch the fish while you dine. Also there is a daily complimentary afternoon tea and biscuits in the pool bar which is a nice freebie! There is a daily activity schedule which includes things like a snorkelling tour, a nature walk, and aqua fit and water polo - all led by the knowledgable and fun Francis. The hotel is extremely peaceful so if you are looking for nightlife, it is perhaps a little quiet, however for a honeymoon or coupley holiday it is very restful. We would both stay in this hotel again and would recommend to anyone. The location is perfect - a beautiful beach is a 10 min walk away and the bus stops right outside the hotel so you can get around cheaply and easily. A real winner!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What can I say! Heaven on a stick.
Recently I travelled to the Seychelles with a group of friend and shared one of the most amazing holidays of my life. The resort and the facilities were fantastic, whatever activity or sight seeing we wanted to do was sorted by the friendly, happy and professional staff. The rooms were luxurious and lived up to and beyond our expectations.
The dining room over the water was such a beautiful setting and the menu changed on a daily basis, simply delicious.
It would make a perfect honeymoon destination for newly weds.
I look forward to re-visiting La Reserve in the future.

Room Tip: The Villas on the hill had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Paul B, General Manager at La Reserve Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your concise feedback on Le Domaine de La Réserve. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you hold fond memories of the hotel and Praslin Island. We thank you for recommending us as a perfect honeymoon destination and we do offer wedding and honeymoon packages for our guests.
We are also pleased to advise that since your stay, the hotel has changed its name and is now called Le Domaine de La Réserve, now managed by the same company as Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie on La Digue Island.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Jean-Paul Barallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were 4 nights on Prasilin and really enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is about 12 minutes from other hotels and restaurants, so it`s no problem to go out of the hotel area if you like to eat somewhere else. The hotel and the grounds are well looked after and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
The only thing over our stay which wasn`t to our satisfaction was the dinner. The price is too high for not such a big variety. If you compare it with other, a la carte, restaurants, its to expensive. Everything else was to our satisfaction and we recommend this hotel for your holidays on Prasilin.

Room Tip: If you`re a early booker, you can wish a room in front of the sea. Same price but better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good Hotel located on the north of the Praslin Island so could avoid the south eastern monsoon at this time of the year. However, the beach in front of the Hotel are all submerged under water leaving only a very small patch on the far side. I was told it was due to global warming that sea level has risen and has an significant effect on this small island country. If you are looking for big beches right in front of the hotel, certainly this is not your choice. Food is average quality only. Room is average also but the restaurant was very nicely located over the water, so dinning there is a very good experience no matter in the morning or at night. There is an area that kept several giant tortoise so you can see them without the hassle to travel a long way to the Curieuse Island. Bus stop is right in front of the hotel giving you convenience to travel by bus to go to other places on the island like the Vallee De Mai but the bus was not so ontime especially on Sunday. Swimming pool is big and very nice. However, it is far from the airstripe and take half an hour to reach here from the airstripe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Paul B, General Manager at La Reserve Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay at Le Domaine de La Réserve, formerly known as La Réserve Hotel. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the food quality have been noted and discussed with our team.
The high tide does at time cover quite a bit of our beach, but it does not affect the quality of the snorkeling immediately in front of the hotel which is one of the best you can experience on Praslin.
We thank you once more for your invaluable feedback and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Le Domaine de La Réserve soon.

Regards

Jean-Paul Barallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nearly everything was perfect about this place. Our room was huge, very clean and comfortable, and right on the water. Breathtaking views of water, island and sky from our deck. The staff were most professional and attentive. The restaurant food was excellent when it was a buffet, but less so when it was a sit down,4- course meal (the meat and fish were overcooked). The resort is located on a Marine National Park. The restaurant juts out over the water, so I was quite horrified to see guests and waiters throwing dinner rolls out to fish. It is well known that this practice is extremely damaging to marine ecosystems. I'm hoping that other customers also complain about this to the management, so that this stops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family spent two weeks here in February 2013. We travelled with our daughters 6 and 8 years old. It was important for me to find a hotel that we all could enjoy. A place where kids can be kids! And at La Reserve we found that – a great pool area, giant turtles in the garden and great beaches close by. A great selection of food and light entertainment in the evenings with dancing also. When one travels a lot - the people one encounter at various sites adds to the total impression. We will remember the staff and their beautiful smiles. They were highly professional, without being "stiff", very friendly, and I would say gave us the feeling of being at a happy place. We also had a wedding ceremony here on the beach which was lovely. There is a small gym by the pool, and it is also great to take a run on the roads outside the hotel area. Another high light for the children were the fish and baby shark underneath the Jetty restaurant where we had dinner. No need for IPad! From the hotel we also took a trip to Curieuse Island where the giant turtles wander freely around, the island has magnificent beaches. Not to be missed! And Anse Lazio = paradise Beach. During our two weeks stay we did actually visit a few other hotels both on Praslin and on Mahe. We conclude that we choose the best hotel for us for our Seychelles adventure. And we pale Norwegians also got a great tan to take back to the snow We have nothing but great memories from La Reserve and people who work there.

Room Tip: DeLuxe Family room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Reserve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Hotel

Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
La Reserve Hotel Seychelles/Praslin Island
Address: Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island Pri, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anse Volbert
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your La Reserve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reserve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.