We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reserve Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Reserve Hotel to your Saves list
La Reserve Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island Pri, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nearly everything was perfect about this place. Our room was huge, very clean and comfortable, and right on the water. Breathtaking views of water, island and sky from our deck. The staff were most professional and attentive. The restaurant food was excellent when it was a buffet, but less so when it was a sit down,4- course meal (the meat and fish were overcooked). The resort is located on a Marine National Park. The restaurant juts out over the water, so I was quite horrified to see guests and waiters throwing dinner rolls out to fish. It is well known that this practice is extremely damaging to marine ecosystems. I'm hoping that other customers also complain about this to the management, so that this stops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    164
    39
    12
    11
See reviews for
94
478
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family spent two weeks here in February 2013. We travelled with our daughters 6 and 8 years old. It was important for me to find a hotel that we all could enjoy. A place where kids can be kids! And at La Reserve we found that – a great pool area, giant turtles in the garden and great beaches close by. A great selection of food and light entertainment in the evenings with dancing also. When one travels a lot - the people one encounter at various sites adds to the total impression. We will remember the staff and their beautiful smiles. They were highly professional, without being "stiff", very friendly, and I would say gave us the feeling of being at a happy place. We also had a wedding ceremony here on the beach which was lovely. There is a small gym by the pool, and it is also great to take a run on the roads outside the hotel area. Another high light for the children were the fish and baby shark underneath the Jetty restaurant where we had dinner. No need for IPad! From the hotel we also took a trip to Curieuse Island where the giant turtles wander freely around, the island has magnificent beaches. Not to be missed! And Anse Lazio = paradise Beach. During our two weeks stay we did actually visit a few other hotels both on Praslin and on Mahe. We conclude that we choose the best hotel for us for our Seychelles adventure. And we pale Norwegians also got a great tan to take back to the snow We have nothing but great memories from La Reserve and people who work there.

Room Tip: DeLuxe Family room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here in May 2011 for 5 days during our honeymoon. This place was super romantic - our beautiful room opened up to the ocean. Friendly, attentive staff made sure all our requests were accommodated for (e.g., vegetarian food). Blissful, peaceful place with amazing views away from the rest of the world (not at all commercial). We loved our stay and look back fondly on our memories at La Reserve!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 10 days at La Reserve at the start of April. We absolutely loved it! The rooms are lovely, the food was amazing and the setting was beautiful. We also got married during our stay! The ceremony was lovely and the photos we have of our wedding day are amazing. We'll be going back in 5 years for our anniversary!

Room Tip: All the rooms were the same except four of them, which I think were reserved for families anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Absolutely stunning. Very romantic (we went for honeymoon). Private beach, restaurant is on pier over the water and the food is great. Breakfast buffet with fresh fruits is great way to start, and coconut curry shrimp for dinner with champagne! Service is terrific. Day trip to Anse Lazio.

Room Tip: Beach side villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 nights in February 2013.

This was our second stay at La Reserve and our 5 visit to the Seychelles where, over the years, we have stayed on various islands and at different hotels. La Reserve made a big impression on us the first time and we were not disappointed this time although, and we feel that this is quite an important issue, whereas until fairly recently they used to offer FREE daily boating excursions and snorkelling trips to other islands, now they charge for them. It's a great pity that they've stopped the free trips because their beach is not fantastic and the sea water in front of the hotel is sometimes (presumably only some months of the year) not very clear although, if you go out a little (to the right) you can enjoy some decent snorkelling.

Having said that, everything else is excellent: the rooms are very spacious and spotless with lovely huge bathrooms and very relaxing balcony with seaview, fantastic swimming pool, nice food, excellent and attentive service. The location is also ideal because it's tucked away on its own secluded beach and well tended grounds, with rocks on both sides jutting out into the sea, but you can still walk down to the shops in about 15/20 minutes or catch a bus to Anse Lazio just outside the gates.

I've no doubt we'll go back and we feel that we can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for six nights at the start of our two week holiday in the Seychelle Islands. I would highly recommend La Reserve. Our room was on the ground floor, fabulous bathroom facilities and our doors opened out to the beach behind with amazing views. The facilities were of a very high standard, pool, bar and the Jetty restaurant served some of the best food we had on the island. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Reserve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Hotel

Address: Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island Pri, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Reserve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your La Reserve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
La Reserve Hotel Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reserve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.