We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de La Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine de La Reserve to your Saves list
Domaine de La Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have spent a great time in La Reserve hotel! it 's worth to go! Clean rooms, complete privacy, great view. We enjoyed the great sense of humor of the staff. Thanks to Sylven for hosting to perfection at the bar and to Francis for his great entertaining efforts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. I will be sure to pass your compliments to both Francis and Selven. They are both great guys and we are very lucky to have them on our team.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    171
    42
    13
    12
See reviews for
98
500
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from delightful week at La Reserve. First floor deluxe room with great views of the beach, decent A/C, comfy 4 poster bed and an enormous bathroom. The hotel staff do a fantastic job keeping the rooms imaculately clean.

The pool bar was not open as far as I could tell) during our stay, possibly due to what seemed occupancy levels of only around 50% but with beautiful ocean steps away not much need to bother sitting by the pool. The pool though is pretty big and very good for the kids (if you brought them).

The jetty restaurant is amazing and the chef(s) needs to be congratuated on the varied menu and the unfailing taste presentation and quality of every dish I tried. I don't think I have ever encountered a consistentally better holiday hotel restaurant included on a half-board basis. Note that no drinks are included in the meals though (I assume) due to lack of available drinking water (unless bottled) during the dry season.

Our stay coincided with our 10 year wedding anniversary and as such we were given a complementary bottle or good (Chilian) sparkling wine, a coconut full of rum cocktail and a very nice (as every meal) special lobster dinner.

The bar manager was a credit to the hotel, always genuinely friendly and helpful as were all the staff. Nice to not feel that everyone is looking for tips you do in some countries.

Recomend visit to La Digue, and hiring bikes (on Praslin and La Digue). The ride to Anse Lazio though does have a hill that proves a challenge...

Did a little SCUBA diving with WhiteTip Divers who are a very short walk from La Reserve. Small friendly operation although did not get a chance to sample any dive sites that I would call world class. Choppy seas probably did not help.

I would certainly recomend La Reserve without question.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have better views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us here on Praslin. My team and I were very excited to read that you had such a great time with us.

Our Pool bar has remained open the whole time during the month of August apart from one evening when we closed to do some varnishing of the woodwork. The pool area often looks empty as it is so vast for our size of hotel and many guests go out to the surrounding beaches during the day and only visit the pool in the late afternoon when we serve complimentary afternoon tea and cakes. The occupancy for the whole month of August was 85% and it’s one of the busiest time of the year for Seychelles.

I will definitely pass on your compliments to our Kitchen Brigade, and Selven our Bars manager, they will be very happy to receive such high praise for their efforts.

Arnaud and his team at White tip divers really do run a great Dive center. We have always received great feedback about them and we recommend them to all our guests. August is not the greatest time of the year to dive as the seas are always very choppy which stirs up the ocean floor and causes poor visibility.

Thank you once more for the great review and for recommending La Reserve to other potential future guests.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I have spent a week at La Reserve hotel between July 21st and July 28th as part of our honeymoon trip.
Room: big, nice, quite new and with a fantastic view. Big king size bed, huge bathroom with funny window on the room, big and weel equipped terrace. cleaned 1 or 2 times a day (very very good job)
Beach: small but very clean (every morning there was people cleaning it), there are several small beaches behind the rocks on the left of the hotel that look like beaches of La Digue! Never noisy and you can always find a place to rest and take a sun bah.
Restaurant: Dinner: amazing in terms of location (the jetty) and in terms of food. The quality of the food either at buffet or a Lacarte is very high and the level of service is very good.
Lunch: good and nice the restaurant at the pool ( not too expensive).
Staff: all the people met at La Reserve welcome you with a smile and everybody is ready to help you for any need you can have. Absolutely one of the best staff I have nerver met (and I normally visit around hundred hotels per year).
General: nice, safe, clean, quite .......Probably the best place on Praslin island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I couldn’t have said it better myself! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of La Reserve.
We all look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again soon,

Tropical regards from sunny La Reserve,

Peter
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Much has been said about this hotel and I'm not sure there's much new I can add. It's just as amazing as the reviews and pictures let you think it is! Anyway, to give the hotel the credit it deserves, here are some thoughts after our 8 day stay in July.

For us, the location was what made La Reserve so special. I can still remember my jaw dropping wide open when I first opened the door from our room onto the terrace. The sight of the turquoise ocean right at your doorstep surrounded by lush green hills is breathtaking! Another great thing about the location is that it's secluded enough to feel complete privacy, yet close enough to walk to Cote D'Or beach with small shops, restaurants etc.

The rooms are spacious with a huge bathroom and they are well equipped and kept extremely clean. The private beach just meters away from the room is very well suited for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking etc. due to its calm waters. While there are not that many sun loungers there always seemed to be enough for all the guests as it's not a big hotel. The large pool is a definite plus too, although we didn't use it that much.

Overall the service was outstanding (the only exception being the beach bar where we felt the service was a bit on and off). Especially the Jetty restaurant and front desk staff get top marks from us - very helpful, friendly and efficient. And while talking about staff, I must mention Francis the excursion guide who was amazing!

Recommended activities:
- Hiring a car for 1 or 2 days (50 EUR a day) to visit Anse Lazio and tour around Praslin to admire the beauty of the island. Even though it's a small island, there's lots to see!
- Visiting La Digue, especially Anse Source D'Argent and Grand Anse (the hotel organizes excursions there twice a week)
- Hiking up the hill next to La Reserve - great views!
- If you're a real nature lover and enjoy jungle walks then you might want to visit Vallee De Mai too. However, we felt there was actually very little to see…

All in all, we had a truly memorable trip. A big thank you to everyone at La Reserve, well done and hope to see you again some day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your detailed comments about your recent stay. I really appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which I can measure our success and make changes where appropriate. I will certainly share your insights with my team, especially in regards to the service at the beach bar as this is not the first time a guest has mentioned it to me.
We all hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Tropical regards from our little island in the sun,

Peter
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very friendly place.....especially the lady restaurant staff who took care of our baby and gave us time to eat in peace :)
Do not miss the free afternoon tea and sandwiches which were lovely.
Excellent location for everyone to enjoy the beach.
The staff also had organized their own Creole festival which turned out to be fun though overrated.
The only drawnback we felt were the bathrooms- which had no privacy.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room. Try for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you found us to be a friendly hotel in a great location.
We do our own Creole festival on the beach every year during Creole week which is basically a celebration of all that is Creole in Seychelles, from cuisine, to music, and our general way of life and I’m happy you found it to be fun but not quite sure how you mean by overrated. Our team put in a lot of effort into organizing this great event, in fact we are already busy planning our next one for the end of October.

Thank you once again and maybe we will see you again at La Reserve in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here - room 110 that was 2 m from the beach - from 22.july-28.july. It has a perfect calm location at Praslin with a very serviceminded and helpful staff. We had a great week - went on 2 excursions (La Digue and a trip on a katamran), ate great food and got a lot of good service in the bar as well (",)

We would recoomend this place to everyone - know though - that it is a quiet and a place for relaxation - just what we needed after a week in Kenya on safari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterpomeroy, Owner at Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Many thanks for the review. I definitely agree with you that a day trip to La Digue is a must as it is a very special place. You also mentioned a trip on a catamaran, and for me there is no better way to see the islands than from the sea itself.

We hope to be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our island in the sun someday.

Kind regards,

Peter
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at La Réserve in July, for about a week. It was our first visit to the Seychelles, and the first hotel of our stay. Overall it is a very nice and relaxing place, and it definitely deserves its four star rating. Throughout our stay, we never had the feeling the place was crowded. They don't have a lot of rooms, and that is a big advantage. The rooms are truly excellent, large, all facing the sea, with a huge bathroom area, a large and comfortable bed, a nice terras, plus all of the items you can expect (safe, airco, deck chairs, ...). Housekeeping is discrete and efficient, room service was always fast and friendly (even for things like a bucket of ice).

La Réserve has a small private beach, never really crowded, with several other nice locations on their grounds (for instance under the trees, in the garden, etc), making it very easy to relax, swim, snorkel (equipment provided for free) and enjoy the sun. They have a couple of canoes as well. Views from the hotel and beach are very nice. The sea is fairly mild there due to the location in a cove. La Réserve also has a very large swimming pool, really huge, with a beautiful view of the volcanic rocks on the left side of the hotel. One of the other highlights of the hotel is the main restaurant, which is constructed as a covered jetty built over the sea. It is really very nice, with stunning views. The staff make sure that guests are rotated regularly so that everyone has a chance to get the 'best tables' all the way at the end. The food was very good, and it is recommended to take the half board option, as breakfast and dinner at La Reserve are really nice - at night they alternate buffet style dinner with à la carte dining. The wine list is good, not huge, but very well adapted, and reasonably priced.
The hotel is also an ideal staging area for excursions and boat trips (some depart at the hotel), and a lot is available at reasonable prices. Francis is one of the resident guides, and truly a nice person with a big heart and a lot of love for his islands. Last but not least, the service is excellent at La Réserve, and, best of all, it feels very genuine (as opposed to 'forced' professional behavior). We visited Mahe, Praslin, La Digue and Silhouette Island during our stay, and the friendly, helpful, hospitable and relaxed attitude is clearly a trademark of the Seychelles. Remarkable !

Bottom line : highly recommend in this class !

Room Tip: The rooms close to the jetty seem less recommended, as the offer less privacy and are a bit boxed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de La Reserve

Address: Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Domaine De La Reserve Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de La Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.