We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“France in the Indian Ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Nautile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Nautile to your Saves list
Le Nautile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Rue Lacaussade, La Saline les Bains 97434, Reunion Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“France in the Indian Ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were allocated a ground sea facing room which was worthwhile - pity about the howling wind in August though. We had a very friendly reception and pleasant stay and everything was working, apart from the WiFi which had a problem, but was fixed straight away. There was constant hot water for a shower or bath.

Dinner was good and lunch looked appetising, although we did not have lunch at the hotel. Breakfast was adequate.

My recommendation would be to provide some English TV channels other than BBC News, as we do not speak French.

The location is great and long walks on the beach as well as watching sunset makes this hotel a gem in Reunion.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
98
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Not the easiest hotel to find at night, we got lucky but im sure there are no signs off the main road. Reception was frendly and we got by with a mix of bad French and English and were made to feel welcome. We had the middle room on the first floor facing the beach which is probably the pick of the lot due to the view. The room was clean and everything worked. The hotel was fairly empty so we had no noise issues that others reported. The main pool is not heated and was freezing which was disapointing but as you walk straight out onto the beach not a big issue. A nice touch was the free to guests sun loungers on the beach and there was towel hire. Evening meals were really good with a great selection on the menu, which was good as when we were there the other restaurants in the area appeared shut. Breakfast was fine and as we ate around 8 am we did not experience any issues over things running out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to a diving holiday in, what was called the undiscovered gem, Le Reunion.
The hotel Nautile has a wonderful location right on the beech. The hotel can be called quaint
and very french in that everything is almost working. We also stayed in the sister hotel Juliette Dodu in St Dennis which had the same problem, The rooms are very small so don't change your mind or bring many suitcases. There is not a lot of space. The showers were in the bath and dripping. So to draw a bath one needed to put the shower head in the bath to prevent flooding the bathroom.
Dinners was a hit and miss affair. Some evenings were wonderful but some evenings , although paid for, we looked for a restaurant elsewhere.
Breakfast was really nothing to write home about and some days we opted for Yoghurt from the supermarket.
Consistency is also not one of their strongest suits since some days we received a menu just in French, some days in German and French and on the occasion one that was also written in English.
The WiFi was working every now and then in the room and if it was not working one and to go and sit at reception to download mail etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague - Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We travelled as a couple, came for a week after 2 weeks on Mauritius.

The reason we gave 3* is that we did not feel welcomed. We have very poor french and even if we paid for the most expensive room - the executive one with seaview - we felt unwanted.
The staff on the reception was extremely unhelpful, the only nice employee was the blond woman the first day we came (17th February).
The staff member called Delphina (I am sorry for my spelling) was so unfriendly that we almost wanted to changed the hotel. Everytime we asked her for something, she was almost angry that she has to do something. I do not understand, why do you have in your room manual that the reception is there for your help because there was nobody to help us. I would expect different kind of services if you pay 200 EUR/ per night for 3* star hotel.

There is written on the hotel websites that it has sound proof windows, it is really great, unfortunately the doors are so old that even if you can't hear anything through the window, you hear EVERYTHING from the hall because there is a gap around whole doors.

I would not say that the hotel has 3 swimming pools, I would rather say that the swimming pool is divided to 3 parts. I do not care as we prefer beach.

Breakfast was very boring, it was nice at 6 in the morning but at 9, when the majority of people go there, it looks a little bit "used", especially the fruit, the hot food part and hams and cheese with dozens of flies.

+
As I do not want to be negative only, the best thing about the hotel was location. The beach behind the hotel was great and we really enjoyed snorkelling, there is a beautiful barrier reef, u can spend hours there.
Another positive thing was private beach with sunbeds, ready every morning, just few steps from the hotel doors.
Even if the equipment of the room lookes old fashioned, it was well equiped and we had everythig we need with a balcony facing ocean sunsets.

In other words, we would not choose this hotel again and would never recommend it to our friends, as we want to give our money to someone, who appreacites it and who is happy that other nationalities than just French people are interested in this beautiful island. This hotel is just "French welcomed".

Room Tip: Go for the seaview rooms, the advantage is not just a view but there is no noise from children swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is a 3-star one, but it would rather be a two-star considering the state of the rooms. The bath is old and had some black spots on it, the shower was corroded by rust or salt, almost no trace of the original colour. We stayed in a Superior Room with Pool View (by the way, it is noth worth the word "superior" when there is nothing below it, I guess). The room, besides, was a communicating one, although we were on our own. Even when the door seemed to be permanently locked, the noise comes from your neigbours easier than with a wall separating both rooms and it makes you wonder wether the others could open the door at a certain point and get in your room. We asked for a change but the hotel was meant to be full the evening we arrived. Bed was correct and confortable, wide enough. A big TV was provided, which we did not even switch on, and a minibar with a door impossible to be closed. Prices for both the minibar and laundry are far too expensive. Specially remarkable that regardless of what you send to the laundry, all pieces cost 6€ except for the socks (2,5€). Laundry flat-rate... but expensive!

The best of the hotel was the direct access to the beach and the possibility to enjoy the sea right by your room. There are three pools which you can use until late, but I never use them when I can swim in the sea. Close to the pools is the restaurant, where also parties/shows are made in the late evening. Not he best if you want to sleep or rest early, although I have to say they finished at about 22.00, still ok to get some sleep.

On the second day, we were having breakfast at about 9.15 (breakfast being served until 10) and nothing was being refilled: no more fruit salad, no more bread, no more marmelade, no more pancakes... And no waiter/waitress there to help! This is not tolerable at all, and we mentioned this in the customer satisfaction form provided by the hotel. On the first day it had been much better, although it was much earlier when we had breakfast. Hadn't it been for this, I would say breakfast was ok and complete: cereals, fresh fruit, cheese and ham and bread assortment. Nothing spectacular, but quite ok. however not worth the 13 euros if you have to pay it separately!

Service was pretty ok as well, we cannot complain about it: the three people we met in reception were helpful and correct when needed, and they are supposed to speak not only in French but also in other languages, being this helpful if your French is rusty, as it was my case. We got a bottle of punch as a present, this being unexpected. Thank you! That was a nice detail!

You can park your car in front of the hotel. Inside there are only a few places available, this being a point that could be better solved.

We went to have dinner one night to the small town close to the hotel (La Saline, I think), to the restaurant Les Cocotiers -recommendable as well. The price of the dinner, buffet or not, at the hotel, is frankly excessive (35€ p.p.!!) Unnfortunately, there is a 150m street close to the hotel with no light at all and, even when the area felt safe, the fact of not seeing anything at all made us come back and take the car to the restaurant, not being able to walk there.

Prices for the night are too high for what you get (200€ onwards) , even when the hotel is a reasonable choice in the area and good located.The incident with the breakfast and the not so new bath are minus points, not matching the price paid, not even for La Reunion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

this is a comfortable, good quality hotel backing directly onto a pleasant beach. rooms are modern, well-appointed and comfortable, the beach is clean and protected by the outer reef, and they provide kayaks/canoes for guests. good off-street parking, good restaurant beside the enormous swimming pool complex, excellent buffet breakfast. short stroll to supermarket and specialty shops including bar/cafe with good fast-food meals. the hotel staff speak german (as well as english) so there are many german guests - don't let that put you off !!

Room Tip: get a beach-facing room in the rear building. the rooms facing inwards to the pool and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in April and used Le Nautile as our home base for exploring Reunion Island.

Check in was a breeze - we arrived late at night and having flown with Air Mauritius (we now know they are notorious for flight delays and cancellations), the driver was waiting patiently and very nice, explaining in good English a bit about the Island as we drove the 40min trip to the hotel.

The restaurant kitchen was closed when we arrived (around 10:30pm) so we missed out on a meal. But this was made up for by the check in - we literally were given the keys and unpacked in our room within 5 mins!

Room: our room was simple, with a double bed, working air con, and a small balcony overlooking the entrance to the beach. The downer was the shower head which was broken and we had to balance it every night or it would come crashing down. The bathroom was in original condition, but always clean. Very basic toiletries - no body lotion, just body/shampoo gel in one, so bring your fave toiletries and don't rely on the hotel to provide.

The air/con worked well and the housekeeping were always consistent and did a good job every day. We kept the balcony door shut the whole time for fear of insects - the door could not be locked and so this should have been fixed (we didnt mention it). The safe was very hard to figure out.

Breakfast: we had buffet bfast as part of our room rate. We thoroughly enjoyed this; we had low expectations as we are big foodies, however, the quality of the food was outstanding, albeit quite repetitive (we had 5 breakfast in a row!): croissant, pain au chocolate, baguette, a really good brown bread. crepes (with a variety of confit - eg. fruit de passion, papaya and ananas-pineapple), scrambled egg and omelettes (sometimes very salty), some sausages. there was yoplaint yogurt, a pineapple puree, fresh fruit and a variety of fromage (cheeses).

there were good juices - orange and pineapple, coffee and dont forget to have some hot choc - the powder is very good.

We didnt have any other meals at the hotel, but the restaurant seemed busy nightly.

Location: good location - there is a very handy v large supermarket : Leader Price which is <5mins walk. you can use the hotel as abase for touring the island, which we did but it meant a lot of driving if you went to the East side.

Service: front desk was very friendly atALL times. in particular, Sanya (sp?) was an amazing help as she saved us from having rental car issues (Avis caused us major delays - you have to CALL them to pick up the car - they do not open the shop unless you call and say you are coming! But in the end, 2 very nice Avis reps came to the hotel and delivered the car to us personally to make up for the delay - so this was all sorted in the end - good rates compared to say Europcar). Sanya (the girl with curly hair) is so responsible and prompt and efficient and can speak French and also German!

The only negative (but this is for the Island, not just hotel) : INSANE amounts of mosquitoes - we were like prisoners in our own room due to the mosquitoes. not only that, but they bite without you knowing and i blow up with massive red welts. they even attack while at breakfast! not just at night...

The beach: St Gilles Le Bain has a nice stretch of beach, with very shallow swimming areas that are like a lagoon that then extend into the ocean. so it's very peaceful and calm swimming conditions. The sand is VERY uncomfortable - very rough, with lots of coral and shells, so you can't walk barefoot (but perhaps we are used to soft silky sand bac home).

Reunion Island tips:
* you must try the local cuisine: samoussas are amazingly flavourful (spicy pastries with filings inside- eg. fish, chicken or cheese). Caris (spicy curries with seafood or other meat - very good but not as strong as Indian curries - i loved the spicy condiment, rougail that comes with it).
* go to visit the amaing St Andre markets - a huge colourful, senses stimulating buzz of activity.
* go to Bras Panon - vanilla cultivation - you get a tour of how amazing the process of vanilla cultivation is and really appreciate the highest quality vanilla. support the local vanilla farmers. our tour guide gave us a special dedicated english translated tour after he xplained everything to the french speaking visitors. beware, again insane amounts of mosquitoes.
* the Jardin De Espices - a total waste of money/time. we didn't speak french and bought tickets and were not told the tour had started and so followed without undersatnding anything and were eaten alive by mosquitoes. we ran back to the car and didn't get any benefit from this.
*Boucan Canot - our favourite area for eating out. Ate at Boucan Canot (4* hotel with fancy restaurant - good fancy food and good service). but mosquitoes :( also ate 2x at the restaurant that is adjoined to the Glacier (ice cream place) - forgot name but they served really good pizza and caris.

****HIGHLIGHT OF TRIP: the MOST AMAZING, DELICIOUS GELATO EVER IN OUR LIVES: at the above Glacier, the passionfruit gelato is to die for . so tangy, fruity, even a little spicy, the tartness is so refreshing that we had it 3 out of 6 days and coud have more if they hadn't sold out. the other flavours are good - freis (strawberry), mango, but passionfruit....i am salivating as i write this review. we will dream about this passionfruit gelato til the day we die. we may even make a trip to Reunion Island for this passionfruit gelato ALONE.

French speakers will really benefit - we struggled without speaking french but learnt very quickly all the important food words. the people are helpful (where they can - the snack caravan places speak v little english and can't help you much) and you can definitely get by.

all in all, a good enjoyble trip, with lots of amazing scenery to look at and good food - a real French paradise that inspires us to go to mainland France.

amazing pattiseries and boulangeries everywhere - it is like the equivalent of pubs in Australia - i wish we had such good baked goods like in Reunion island, but i guess my waistline will thank me for it.

any q's, happy to answer them.

Room Tip: bring lots of repellant for mosquitoes. ask for a beach facing room and you will wake up to the wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Nautile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Nautile

Address: 60 Rue Lacaussade, La Saline les Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > La Saline les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in La Saline les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Nautile 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Nautile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautile Reunion Island/La Saline Les Bains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Nautile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.