We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest innkeeper; comfortable lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street. Bruff. | Co Limerick. Limerick, Bruff 061, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bruff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest innkeeper; comfortable lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

On Main Street in a small town, the Old Bank B&B was in a convenient location outside of Limerick. Our room was well appointed and quiet. Miriam was very accommodating, highly energetic, quite the conversationalist, and a font of knowledge on where to spend our limited touring hours. We certainly would stay again.

Be sure to visit the Morning Star Park at the south end of town. Bring treats for the ducks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the B&B with a free internet computer right outside our door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Home

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and Im delighted to saw that we now have wifi access in all the bedrooms.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our home.

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
64
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Terre Haute
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a nice place to stay....a little out of the way for my taste, but the accommodations were great....would have liked a lobby that was open during the day or at least more on call than it was. I loved that the breakfast was a mix of self-serve and menu. Food was amazing....especially the brown bread.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Todd & Family

Thank you for review, Our Home has always someone present from our Check in time of 6pm through out the night. You arrived especially late at night with your young kids at 11.30pm and naturaly I allowed ye straight to your rooms to go to sleep. ( even family members were rining me from america) We offer a very competive prices of B&B for 2 Adults & 2 kids with breakfast for E89.00

Our Check out time is 11am and I came to your rooms after 12 and You stayed in our home till nearly 1pm, It is common pratice in any B&B for the owner to Leave the house after the Guest have checked out, rooms etc are cleaned to run errans etc - All the time you were in my home I was present, Cleaning the breakfast area or the other rooms. As this is a Family home, I manage all aspects of the house from meeting, greeting, reservations, cooking and Cleaning etc. and can not offer any later checkouts that what you had.

Im delighted you enjoyed our accommodation & Breakfast and hope that the above response makes more sences to you.

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Miriam, the owner, is a very lovely person. She welcomed us warmly, though we arrived a bit late and is very helpful and informative. She gave us great suggestions on what to do in the area. She and her family completely renovated The Old Bank, and you can view photos of what it used to look like in the sitting room. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The value is great. Breakfast is large. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you Meaghan for taking the time to review our Home.

Im delighted you enjoyed your welcome to our home, I can be accused of asking too many question in making sure I know what our guest want to see in Ireland when they stay with us, but I think You and other Guest do appreciate all the additional information so that you can get the maximun from you stay with us.

I do hope that we may get the opportunity to welcome you to our Home again.

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We (two couples) recently chose to stay at this B&B on the last night before going to Shannon airport for a morning flight home.
Miriam, the hostess, could not have been more welcoming, exerting herself to make sure that we were comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms were generous and well fitted out, the common rooms were superior and the breakfast was first class. It's not inexpensive, but still good value. In the morning, it was 45 minutes to the airport, at least half of which was along a relatively quiet country road.
The small town of Bruff has at least one excellent restaurant (recommended by Miriam) and is nearby the Lough Gur historical site, which itself is well worth an afternoon visit.
To our mind, this is a much preferred first or last stop from Shannon, compared to Adare.

..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Paul for this Lovely Review.

Im delighted that you found our home convenient for your departure from Shannon airport. New guest will be very interested to see that this Regional Airport is attracting more and more flight weekly as this is a perfect access point to Ireland.

We have a great community that is just so welcoming and show the true "irish Welcome" that can only be experiences when leaving the traditional driving routes.

I do hope to Welcome you back to our home again

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our last of 6 b & b's on our first 10 day trip (1212 miles!) to Ireland - we LOVED it! It may be off the beaten path, but the charm of the bank and Miriam's touch make this a gem! We used this as our base for Tipperary and Kilkenny (both are must sees) -BIG bedroom with a HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi tub.....OH YEAAAAAAAA.....breakfast was superb....clean rooms, comfy bed....great to see a young couple working their behind off to raise the kids and make their business a success...Miriam is a real pistol....stories....one liners....non stop...try to keep up with her!!!!! This is everything good in an Irish B & B! We loved it and would stay again in a New York minute! If you are close to Bruff and need a great place to spend the night, Miriam and her " BANK" would be a great choice! Jim &Jessie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank You Jim & Jess for this lovely review,

I do try and Make our Home a Home experiences and as Our website says you "stay with family" and Im delighted that you enjoyed our Home.

I hope to Welcome you back to our Home again

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived after a 100+ Km cycle ride feeling a bit dishevelled. We were warmly greeted and welcomed with hot tea and the service from then on in was the same high standard. Miriam has the ability to carry off courteous professional service with the warmth and humour of a family home with some panache. The room was excellent, the food was really good (I would certainly use her husbands butchers shop regularly if I was local), and the area is great. If you are in the vicinity, make locality part of your tour itinary and put Old Bank B&B as one of your 'must stay' places.

Room Tip: The rooms have jacuzzi baths, particularly welcome if your on outdoor pursuits, but ask the owners f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
What Can I say C & S

Thank you for such a wonderful review not just our my Home but of the Region and Your right Everyone must visit our Locality!! I was delighted to get the "thank you note" letting me know the rest of your trip went and think that we may see you again for a return trip, theres so much more left to see!!

Till then Fond Farewells

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is very comfortable and offers all the comforts of a home away from home, rooms are airy, bright and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and even though Bruff is a small(ish) town there are plenty of places to eat. If staying in Bruff well worth considering.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brufflady, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you So Much for taking the time to Review our Home.

Bruff is indeed a nice town, I think our County setting makes our Guest feel like home here, There is always the nod or a Hello to be had from everyone and I think each of my Guest get told a dozen times by all the local of the best things to do. This is something that is hard to find in the more urban areas.

Thank you again and Hopefully I and the Town of Bruff we get to welcome you once more

Miriam & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street. Bruff. | Co Limerick. Limerick, Bruff 061, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Bruff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bruff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4* banking town house offers accommodation in 8 luxurious ensuite jacuzzi rooms, ranging from family interconnecting rooms to the serene intimacy of four poster bedrooms over looking peaceful courtyard gardens. Each room possesses its very own distinct individual style that blend period decoration with all of today's modern services and luxuries. Miriam & family have earned a great reputation for the quality of both accommodation and service, and breakfast is a treat - an impressive selection of home baking is served next to a extensive menu in a dining room that is set up like a restaurant. For golfers & cycling entunacity the house is ideally located among 5 golf courses and with in short distances of Europe’s largest mountain bike park and is on many road cyling routes. The house is a excellent touring base for historic Lough Gur, Adare with day trips to Cliffs of Moher, Rock of cashel, ring of Kerry and Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Bed And Breakfast Ireland/Bruff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.