We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Myrtia :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Save
You added Myrtia Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Koukounaries 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank you Myrtia :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thank you to everyone at Myrtia for the first class service we received during our stay with you.
We have been to Skiathos three times before and have always stayed at the Myrtia but this was the best yet. The hotel has changed and improved everytime we have stayed (from being lovely the very first time we stayed) but has never lost any of it's charm or spirit.
We came to Skiathos this year to get married and there were 21 people in our party so we hoped that everyone would enjoy Myrtia and the island as much we do.... I think that may have backfired on us a bit and that we may have lost 'our island' now, as everyone loved it so much that they all already want to go back!
Everyone in our party had different requirements but Myrtia and the staff are so special and truly have something for everyone.
Thank you so much to V, Bibi, Charlie, Igor for the genuine interest, energy and care that they showed to everyone of us.
One of the reviews further down the page mentioned our wedding party as 'getting all the attention' but although we spent a lot of time with the staff, there was *more than enough* of them to go around as they are truly fantastic, social and outgoing people who enjoy nothing more than getting to know their guests and making everyone feel special.
I would recommend Myrtia to anyone: it's a beautiful island, a beautful place to stay, and a beautiful group of people who will look after you as one of their own. You can't fault it.
(Just please don't go cos it's ours!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    56
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
100
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The apartments, pool and restaurant were genuinely excellent but what really makes this place special is the staff! V, Charlie and Bibi behind the bar and Igor the chef were so much fun all week and felt like good friends after a couple of days. They really went out of their way to help us out and have fun with us too.

The location is great; koukounaries beach is a 5 minute walk away and stamelos bar down the road is amazing with great music. Skiathos town is really beautiful too, lots of great bars and you should definitely go on a boat trip if you get the time! Also, drop into Spiros' restaurant in the town and get a mixed grill - he's really friendly and generous and the food is great. He sings as well!!!

Myrtia Summer Village is the perfect place to stay and enjoy it all! Thanks again guys! Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Myrtia just continues to maintain the best of standards and yet its set in the most beautiful spot. Why choose anywhere else to stay as it has it all location, pool, bar, taverna, rooms I could go on and on!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

me and my family recently stayed at this wonderful place it was set in a wonderful setting minutes from beach and places to eat .the apartment was a good size and we had 2 balconys which was lovley.they where clean and tidy.
the staff where so helpul and lovley and emma in reception was great .
the owner of the restraint where we ate and Charlie and bibi where sooooooo nice and made us feel so welcome.
we will go back again as this was a wonderful holiday would recommend it to everyone as such great place .cant wait visit again miss it x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We re visited Myrtia in May 2013 to see Charlie, Vladco and Bibi for a two week holiday. Another fantastic time, instantly at ease and relaxing. Fantastic people and staff who genuinely go above and beyond to guarantee a brilliant holiday. The bar in the evening is more like a family get together. Lovely food by "Ego" and "Hev". Our 4 year old son loves Charlie, Vladco, and Bibi so it is a real wrench to leave, for all of us. Lots of tears at home time!! Ideally located near the beach in the peace and quiet of the forest but not far off the main (but quiet) road. Easy for the regular buses along the coast and into Skiathos town. Would not hesitate to recommend it, just wish we could go back sooner to see everyone at the Myrtia who we now consider close friends. Angie the rep was always at hand another part of the Myrtia family. Made some new fantastic friends (guests) and everyone had a brilliant holiday. Also recommend popping in to see Theodore at "under the pine tree" by the second supermarket and the fantastic Baklawa at "Ariston" in Skiathos town opposite the Taxi rank. If you can go to Myrtia, don't hesitate. Take Vladco & Charlie some sweets!!! Grumpy people need not apply!! xxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everything people have said in previous reviews about the Myrtia is basically correct! Nothing bad to say at all, a lovely hotel with great amenities and great rooms.
Unfortunately though, and unknowingly, we holidayed here at the same time as a large wedding party so they did get a lot of the attention from the hotel workers etc. It didn't really matter too much though as we didn't spend much time at the hotel pool/bar/restaurant, we wanted to see as much of Skiathos as possible in the 1 week we were there.
The walk from the main road of Koukounaries to Myrtia is longer than I had imagined. Its fine in the day time but at night it is very dark so you must take a torch. We forgot our torch one night and it was quite hilarious trying to figure out where to walk as there are a lot of bends in the path! It made us never forget the torch again!

We did have a great holiday in Koukounaries but found it very quiet, too quiet if we're honest. But this may be that 1. We are in our 20's and still like a bit of life/music/atmosphere and 2. We holidayed at the end of May.We spent an evening in Skiathos town and it was much more "our thing" and if we ever return to Skiathos we'd definitely book a holiday in or near the town.

The best beach we visited was Elias Bay. Bit of a walk from Koukounaries through Mandraki Forest but absolutely worth it 100%, stunning! Another lovely beach was Xanemos Beach which is at one end of the runway (opposite end to the harbour). Its pretty cool watching the planes fly right over your head as they're landing.

We went on a boat trip around the island and booked it through our travel rep, as we didn't know where else to book one from! But if you go to Skiathos Town you can book boat trips by walking along the harbour and choosing a trip from the many stands people have outside their own boats. Its a lot cheaper.

All in all a great island, a great holiday but I don't think we'll rush to return.

PS. Just a word of warning, the nudists that holiday in Skiathos don't stick to "Little Banana" beach, they tend to bathe at one end of the quieter beaches and de-clothe there too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at the Myrtia. The apartments are in a lovely setting in the pine forest and it is very peaceful. It takes about 5 minutes to walk down the lane to reach the main road, but this is very uneven so wouldn’t suit people with mobility issues. It is pitch black at night so a torch is essential. The nearest supermarket is just a little way from the end of the lane as is bus stop 23. The pool area is very nice but we prefer to go to the beach. The nearest is Koukounaries and takes about 15 minutes to walk there. It is absolutely beautiful and is backed by pine trees, has fine pale sand and crystal clear water. 2 loungers and a sunbed cost 8 euros. We also walked to Mandraki beach which took approx. 40 minutes. This is another lovely beach and is less busy, although we did encounter several nudists! The apartments and grounds at the Myrtia are kept spotlessly clean. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The safety deposit box key cost 10 euros per week and air conditioning is 40 euros per week. It is a bit hit and miss as to whether you get hot water for a shower at peak times. The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of storage space. There are no TV’s in the rooms. The evening entertainment was geared mainly for the children and films were shown on a projector screen by the bar area. Koukounaries is a small resort and doesn’t have a centre as such. It has 2 supermarkets and several tavernas set by the road leading to the beach at bus stop 26. We ate at Big Bad Wolf which seemed to be the most popular and the food was excellent. However most evenings we caught the bus to Skiathos Town which takes about 30 minutes and cost 2 euros. This is a lovely place and is full of character with loads of tavernas and bars to choose from, many with fabulous views of the harbour areas. We would definitely recommend Lo and La, The Final Step and The Windmill. We did boat trips to Skopelos and Allonisis which cost 25 euros and around the island of Skiathos which cost 15 euros. You can book these direct with the boat operators and save money. We were lucky with the weather and had a fantastic, relaxing beach holiday in this beautiful setting. I would highly recommend the Myrtia to anyone looking for this kind of holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 357 which is a 1 bedroom apartment. It is tucked away in a corner of the complex b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.