We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"the walker family-our favourite place in the world!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koukounaries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtia Hotel
Save
You added Myrtia Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Koukounaries 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Koukounaries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"the walker family-our favourite place in the world!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Everything that has been said of the myrtia is true! This was our third trip here and even though we were worried that the staff had changed( lovley spiros!) there was no need,if anything it is even better.V,Charlie and Bibi were fantastic and really made you welcome.They have restarted the greek night which was a great night and the movie nights are also fun especially mama mia!The food is fab and though we have tried other places(not many!)they cant compare with the myrtia.We are a family with two teenage girls,16 and 19, and they love it here and we have already booked for next year for two weeks as one week has never been enough! Even though Skiathos is a small island there are so many gorgeous places to go and we cant wait to get back next year!

Room Tip: we have stayed in three different rooms and they are all fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    56
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
100
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at this Magical Place and previous reviews regarding the friendliness of the staff are all correct, but you really have to meet them to understand why everyone feels this way.
We felt like we were leaving part of our family behind when we came home.
The food we thought was the best on the Island and we ate at a few places in Skiathos town all of which were good.
The weather was not so good the week that we were there and unfortunately the Greek night had to be cancelled, but V provided Greek Fire Dancing and Music and the night was a great success.
Koukanaries Beach is beautiful and only a short 15 to 20 minutes walk from the Hotel along a lovely forest path surrounded by Pine trees.

There is a lovely lake next to the beach with ducks and swans even 2 beautiful black swans.

There are quite a few tavern'as on the way to and from the beach and a supermarket which provides anything that you may may need.

We took the bus into Skiathos town most days and found it so convenient for only 2 euro's each,also being nearly the last stop you could always find a seat sit on the right hand side and enjoy the lovely views all the way down the coast.

The boat trip to Skopelos and the Mama Mia Church on the Posiedon was great. A full day from 10 am until 7pm visiting the Church,Skopelos Town for lunch and the beautiful Kastani beach for a swim or just to chill at the Tavern'a for only 15 euro's was really good value.
We are already planning our next trip and would not want to stay anywhere else on the island but The Myrtia.

Missing you all already Bi Bi ,V and Charlie, thank you so much for your hospitality Lots of Love we will certainly be back.

Keep smiling BI BI and take care I am putting the mozzie spray in the middle of the table to keep the midges away. it really works.

Sue & Alan King & Queen xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel is in lovely quiet setting. Walk to beach approx 15 mins. Rooms clean, well kept. Staff friendly, helpful and approachable. Travelled alone with two teenagers who didn't get bored and want to return next year for two weeks. Already looking into it! Skiathos is a beautiful island,.and the people we met were great too.Thanks to the staff of the hotel who certainly provided entertainment. Excellent bbq and Greek night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 2 week stay here, having been out as part of a wedding party of 60 people. The site is set back from the main road running through Koukounaries, in a beautiful wooded area. The apartments are dotted around the site and well landscaped. There is an excellent pool area which is lit up with candles at night, and a bar set just to the side. The bar staff (Vlatko, Charlie & Bibi) in particular made the holiday - they were knowledgeable, friendly and definitely went the extra mile to make sure we had a great stay. We also had the best meals of our holidays here - the lamb shank and pasta dishes were outstanding.

The site is close to an excellent string of tavernas and shops, and a short walk through woods to the best beach on the island. There is also a bus stop right outside which takes you directly into Skiathos town (the last bus back is at 1am). The staff also put on entertainment at the hotel, and our particular favourite was 'Greek night' with traditional food and dancing.

This really is a hidden gem, and we can't wait to return. It has a chilled out kind of vibe, great location, fantastic facilities and excellent staff - well done Myrtia Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in August at the Myrtia for our fifth consecutive year and it is still as idyllic as when we first went. As soon as you arrive, you instantly relax in the beautiful setting. This year the restaurant and pool bar was run by Vlatko, Charlie and Bibi who were great hosts and made everyone's time at the hotel a holiday to remember. It was easy to become very close with the three bar staff and everyone was sad when it was time to leave. New for this year was a big screen for watching family films during the evening which was a great idea.

The pool games and football tournaments were organized by the bar staff and were always friendly, involved everyone of all ages (who wanted to get involved) and were a great laugh. The restaurant had a Greek night every Sunday which included an amazing BBQ, the bar staff are a real credit to the hotel!

The apartment rooms are in need of an update, but that is a small price to pay for such a great all round family venue.

Skiathos island is beautiful, with dozens of gorgeous beaches to choose from, for evenings out Skiathos town is great, alternatively there are several good restaurants in Koukanaries. However, if you don't want to venture out, the Myrtia restaurant serves some of the best food and was always a great place to eat - credit to Petros, an amazing chef.
Hope to see everyone again soon.
Mike, Nikki, James and Sam

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was me and my girlfriend's first holiday together and it could not have been made any better by the outstanding group of staff at the Myrtia. Everybody from Vlatko, Charlie and Bibi at the bar to the reception staff and even the cleaners couldn't do enough for us from the moment we arrived to the sad day that we had to go home. We were made to feel totally welcome by everybody from the outset and by the time we left it felt as if we were old friends. The hotel itself is set in a beautiful location away from the main strip, although it is just a 5 minute walk to a good selection of friendly bars, good restaurants and useful supermarkets. The rooms were simple but comfortable.. we ate at the room at least 6 or 7 times over our two weeks there but at no point found ourselves wishing for anything extra in the way of kitchen appliances or utensils etc. The food at the hotel is truly exceptional, and very reasonably priced. Also, the various entertainment provided, day and night, gave a different dimension to the holiday, however if you just felt like relaxing by the pool or in the bar it did not intrude on this, the best of both worlds.
The island itself is a beautifully unspoilt Greek paradise, with Skiathos town just a short bus journey away (which were very regular and reliable), and plenty of beaches all over the island even two weeks didn't seem nearly enough.
We will not hesitate to return in the future and to recommend to all of our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first visit to Skiathos. What a holiday - we cannot wait to go back. The Myrtia was an excellent choice. Perfect for a family holiday. The staff were exceptional - always at hand ready to offer advice. The care and attention thay have show to us was amazing. Its is extremely wonderful (especially in these days) to see someone actually care and go the extra mile to make your stay a happy and enjoyable one. Our compliments to the chef - the food was amazing. We were sorry that we only went for a week - as we would have loved to stay there longer.

I want to say a very special Thank You to the Bar staff - all you guys worked tirelessly and have always had a smle on your faces. I wish you all the best of luck for the future - your deserve it - you guys were brilliant. Leaving you was funny enough a sad affair - it was like saying goodbye to family. That is how welcome & comfortable we were made to feel. We hope to meet you all again.

AND A BIG BIG THANKS FOR THE BOTTLE OF WINE (IT'S ME) IT WAS WONDERFUL.....

Take care guys - I will certainly be recommending my friends to visit you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtia Hotel

Address: Koukounaries 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Koukounaries
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koukounaries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koukounaries
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Myrtia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Myrtia Apartments Skiathos
Myrtia Apartments Hotel Skiathos
Myrtia Hotel Skiathos/Koukounaries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.