We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Hotel Surf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vasiliki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surf Hotel
Save
You added The Surf Hotel to your Saves list
Vasiliki 31082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time at Hotel Surf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked fairly last minute, on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed! Had a brilliant holiday and would definitely return. Great for active families as well as those who like to enjoy the sunbathing/pool/scenery/ local tavernas. Staff are excellent and everyone is friendly. This hotel was very clean and well maintained. The rooms have basic but good furniture, we had a mini kitchen too. Air con very efficient. Activities for children and water enthusiasts alike were well organised.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all rooms pointed towards the pool and sea. Best views are from higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sheena P,

Thank you for your review and it is lovely to hear that you were recommended by friends. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and we hope that you would consider returning next summer!

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second visit to Hotel Surf with Ocean Elements. It surpassed our high expectations once again. The staff remembered us from our previous visit and all took the time to chat to us when not running classes.
This holiday is all about the opportunities for sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, SUP paddling, cycling, jogging and walking. There is never a dull moment so make sure you get a good breakfast down you. And on that note, the breakfast is plentiful and this time we could have freshly cooked pancakes or omelettes as well as the cereals, meats, cheese, yogurts, toast etc.

The rooms may be tired and basic but they are cleaned on a daily basis by staff that genuinely care.

We highly recommend this holiday for fun packed days in a fabulous location .The water sport tuition is superb and the overall package is supplied at a very reasonable price.

Thank you to everyone for the holiday and we'll be there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sunlovers2006,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad to hear that you loved your holiday second time round too! We are refurbishing our bedrooms this winter which will include new bathrooms, bedroom décor and furnishings and we hope that you return to see them!

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A brilliant spot in Vass, Hotel Surf may not be a five star hotel but it has all you need for a relaxing stay whilst providing every opportunity for you to get out on the water (or on a bike if you prefer). Ideal for us with 2 teenage sons and another, younger son who wanted to do everything his brothers were doing and more ... which he managed to achieve in the Elite Youth squad with the excellent Harry at the helm! We had great weather, the bay of Vass is just fabulous for sailing, even for a beginner in dinghies like me! Above all the team at Hotel Surf are exceptional - from housekeeping, to the bar, the instructors and beach crew were friendly, helpful without being OTT. Best holiday all-round for years and we all want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Andrew O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your family holiday with Ocean Elements. We are glad that you had a fantastic time and we have passed on your feedback to the staff in resort.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with a mad wind surfer husband who has been to the resort around 8 times over the last 30 years. This was far and away the worst accommodation he has had. The location is vey good and the public areas including the pool are well maintained. Could not fault the staff.
I cannot understand how this hotel has got the good reviews it has. Rooms are less than basic with dreadful, small single beds. There are no mattress protectors and the sheets are not fitted which mean you end up sleeping on a mattress which has heaven knows what on it. Furniture is cheap and tatty, the wardrobe was filthy. On the plus side, the aircon worked and there was a full sized if rusty fridge. The bathroom defies description, suffice to say you needed to close your eyes if you have any liking for cleanliness and hygiene - there is even an open drain in the middle of the very small floor. Nothing short of the fittings being ripped out and a hospital like deep clean could make these right.
This is basically the sailing equivalent of a poor, un catered ski chalet for which people seem prepared to pay a ridiculous weekly rate to get access to free water sports. Everyone I spoke to was dissatisfied with the accommodation but shrugged and said it was made up by the facilities. Rubbish, particularly if you are someone who does not indulge in sailing et al. The breakfast was very poor, we never tried the limited lunch menu and dinner was not a feature. There is no reception so at night, should there be any problem, you would have to work down to the office, write down an emergency mobile number and hope someone answered.
Lovely resort, dreadful "chalet" and could not recommend under any circumstances, not even based on price.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineElementsTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Amanda7164,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very saddened to read your comments as we have received a lot of positive feedback from our guests this season about the Surf Hotel.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room, our staff should always be available to immediately sort any issues out or to move you to a different room if there was one available. We are aware that some of the hotel rooms in the old block that you stayed in are a little dated and we are implementing a full bedroom refurbishment plan this winter which will include new bathrooms, bedroom décor and furnishings.

We want to continue to 'wow' our guests in the hotel as well as on the beach especially for our guests that aren't partaking in the water sports so that you can enjoy a relaxing holiday.

Thank you,
Sarah Stewart
Customer Care Advisor
Ocean Elements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vasiliki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach Surf Hotel offers a warm welcome for couples, families and active sports enthusiasts. Its private swimming pool and gardens which front onto the beach, offer a safe and exclusive area for family fun right on one of the best beaches in Greece for active water sports! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surf Hotel Lefkada/Vasiliki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.