We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telesilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Telesilla to your Saves list
Hotel Telesilla
Kontokali Next to Gouvia Marina | Corfu, Kontokali 49100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Neat little hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Telesilla for three nights on our way out of Greece. The hotel was perfect for our needs, very simple but the staff were friendly, the rooms clean and well appointed. Nice to have the pool top dip into after a day out seeing the sights. Also very close to a dry-cleaner and scooter rental shop which was very handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Murray B,
We would like to thank you for your visit as well as for your time to review us on tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that we have met your needs, and we thank you for pointing out the handy location of bike rental and launderette, next to the hotel.
Hope to see you again in the future,
Kindest regards,
Elizabeth Filippa & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
86
110
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a delightful gem this hotel is! We were there only two days, as Corfu was a quick stop before our flight home to the U.S. It is only a 10-minute taxi ride from the airport, and Elizabeth gave us a warm welcome and invited us to enjoy their breakfast buffet, as we arrived before our room was ready. She made wonderful suggestions about how to maximize our time on that lovely island.

The bus to Corfu town is only a two-minute walk from the hotel, and very easy to manage. Old Corfu town is lovely, with a beautiful old fortress, churches, even a cricket field! We enjoyed watching a cricket match, even though we don't understand the game. A shop owner directed us to a local hole-in-the-wall for a delicious lunch.

Back at the Telesilla Hotel for cocktails and dinner, we were treated to a warm welcome by Spiro, the father of this lovely family, who welcomed us with open arms. Our waiter was so nice and warm, and made suggestions for dinner which were delicious!

Our second day, Elizabeth suggested we go to Paleokastritsa for the day. We didn't want to rent a car, and the bus couldn't have been easier to navigate. It is a lovely and popular spot, with beautiful beaches, a lovely monastery, and touristy aquarium and underwater rides which we didn't do. Another delightful suggestion by Elizabeth!

Back at the hotel for our second and last night, we told our waiter that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and he was disappointed that we had not told him earlier. We were treated to a lovely surprise dessert, with sparklers, special music, and kisses and handshakes all around from Spiro, our waiter, and every single member of the wait staff.

After another delicious dinner, when we said we were leaving early the next day, we took photos with the entire restaurant team to remember our brief but sweet stay at the Hotel Telesilla.

If you like a hotel which is family run, well located, with friendly and helpful people, clean rooms, and delicious food, then this is a winner for you too!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear shadow106,
My family and I would like to thank you for your visit.
We are all very happy to know that you have enjoyed your short stay. I am very pleased you had a wonderful time visiting Corfu’s historical centre as well as famous and beautiful Paleokastritsa! My father and brother we also very pleased to know you have enjoyed your evening meals at the hotels pool restaurant.
Even though we are a 2 Stars family hotel, we try to provide the best possible service to every guest as our goal is to maximize guest satisfaction, with a quality "product" at a reasonable price.
Again, we thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
We wish both of you the very best,
Kindest regards,
Elizabeth Filippa & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Tirane, Albania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Telesilla has a friendly welcoming staff and this makes it a wonderful relaxing place. They make you feel like special guests every day. It has a very good restaurant with delicious food. The barman also makes very good cocktails. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Every member of the staff is really professional and helpful.
They offer good advice and info about trips around the island. It has a good location, only 10 min away Corfu town.
But there is something special that you won't find in many other hotels. The general feeling of sincere, warm hospitality and the friendly staff makes you feel as you are in home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Vasil,
My family and I would like to thank you for this review. We all feel greatful, as you have managed to put into words what the Telesilla hospitality is all about. "A 2 Star family hotel, making every guest feel special, in a relaxing environment, with good food & service quality. Our guests benefit of the location (close to Corfu Town and next to Gouvia marina) and off course the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms is our number one rule."
We can't be thankful enough for visiting our hotel and certainly hope to see you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Elizabeth Filippa & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a welcoming and wonderful stay we had. All the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food it fantastic. We met couples who had been coming for 20+ years and we can see why. We'll be back next year. Thank you to everyone Ben & Teresa.

Room Tip: A pool view room has a nicer aspect. The pool becomes the restaurant area in the evening so as long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear BennyBoyles,

We all from the Telesilla thank you very much for your visit as well as for taking the time to write this excellent review. We had an amazing summer this year, with lovely guests like you, and yes it does make a difference to know that you have had a very good time with us.

I must say that it is also very helpful, both for us and the new guests, to know what to expect from a “Telesilla holiday”. Only individuals, no package holidays, and lots of regulars. That creates a unique atmosphere where everyone is special and not just a room number. We love to work in this atmosphere and will continue for a long time.

We look forward to seeing you again next year. Please email me at anytime during winter and I will personally take care of your reservation.
Best wishes from the Telesilla team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Thanks once again for a lovely relaxing holiday.
We always recommend this Hotel because of the
wonderful welcome we get each time we visit,
even though we having been coming for 20 years.
Clean rooms,great service from all the staff and value for money.
Thanks everyone for your thoughts, encouragement and help
and as you know my results were very good.
Best wishes for Christmas and see you all next year.
ALLAN AND SHARON
XXXX

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear friends,
We thank you once again for your visit! You are a true example of our regulars, and we are very happy to have you here for so long. That is not a simple guest relationship anymore as you are part of the Telesilla family. We are pleased to know about your good results, and look forward to seeing you again next summer! Please keep in touch by email, also in the winter.
Take care of yourselves,
Best wishes from everyone.
Elizabeth & Makis, Spiros & Sofia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am very careful when recommending a place to friends and family because one always feels responsible that the place lives up to recommendations! Well, "Welcome to the hotel Telesilla" (I think there is a song about that! A family run hotel where everyone is afforded respect and a big welcome and each person considered unique! Special occasions are always celebrated and the Bar Staff full of fun and energy! Generations of families return to the hotel , a legacy of good standards and the feeling of being "at home" Just as importantly, when things go wrong and people have accidents or are taken ill the family always ensure people are well looked aft
]er. The hotel is also very child friendly. Don't miss out on a holiday of a life time! Karen Stait

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We can't be thankful enough, as you know that it does mean a lot to us. The number of people that choose their holiday after reading reviews on Tripadvisor is absolutely amazing! And the number of guests who were so excited even before arriving at the hotel... it was a fantastic experience!

So, you and your family are always welcome at the Telesilla, you will always be special to us.

Best wishes to all of you,
Elizabeth & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Where do I start! I had read the reviews and thought that no hotel could be this good - well, it is amazing. I have stayed in many hotels from 2 to 5 star and this tops them all. Thank you to Spiros, Elizabeth, Tomas, Markus, Yianni and Alex for making our stay so special. I went here for a 4 night stay with my daughter - we could not have chosen a better hotel. The place is spotless and from the minute we stepped through the door we were treated like family. The staff were so attentive and Elizabeth 'organised ' us to make sure we squeezed everything in to our 5 days - hired a jeep (stunning beaches - if I can drive there anyone can!), BBQ day on the boat (excellent), and drove into Corfu town in the evenings. I have never experienced a hotel like this before and will definitely return - I can see why so many couples return year after year. The food was amazing and the service first class. We actually had quite a small room overlooking a busy road but it had good air conditioning and we were hardly ever in the room so it didn't matter. The beach is a 10 mins walk and you can use the Kontokali Beach pool which is fantastic. Gouvia Marina is quiet with a few tavernas but with a regular bus service to Corfu town 10 mins away there is plenty to see and do. We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELESILLA, Owner at Hotel Telesilla, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear AAVisitor,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are all very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our 2 Star family hotel. Also would like to thank you for pointing out all the important things that make a holiday remember able. The handy location, for visiting the island, the family hospitality, the best food quality & service. I am sure that our Special double glazing windows & air-conditioning made you feel very comfortable, and I am happy to know that you have made the most of it. I must admit that both the BBQ boat trip which runs locally and the efficient car rental company gave, not just to you, but to many other guests this summer, the opportunity to see how beautiful our island is!!
My family and I look forward to seeing you again next year.
So, please do not hesitate to contacting me directly be email.
Kindest regards,
Elizabeth Filippa and the Telesilla Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Telesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telesilla

Address: Kontokali Next to Gouvia Marina | Corfu, Kontokali 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Telesilla is a two star, family run hotel close to Gouvia marina. The hotel is only ten minutes drive from the historical sites of Corfu town and is a perfect base for exploring the beautiful island of Corfu. It offers excellent facilities and services to all guests. It includes thirty three guest rooms offering all modern amenities. The swimming pool has a newly decked sun lounge area, snack bar, cocktail bar and evening a la carte restaurant. The Telesilla accommodates guests visiting for both business and leisure in a friendly, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel operates from the beginning of April to the end of October every year. Spiros, Sophia, Makis and Elizabeth, the Telesilla family, look forward to welcoming you to their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Telesilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Telesilla Kontokali, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telesilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.