We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Telesilla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Telesilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Telesilla
Kontokali Next to Gouvia Marina | Corfu, Kontokali 49100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kontokali
oxfor
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed with my wife, great location to get to town and around the island. Staff very helpful, take care of you like you are their own family.
The room very comfortable and clean, bed one of the best i have slept on with great pillows.
Thanks for a great stay , we would come back again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    30
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
106
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel and again as soon as we walked through the door we felt like we were back at home. Michael was there to great us and made us feel like we were returning family. The atmosphere at the hotel is the best I have ever experienced. The quality of the rooms are excellent. There is air conditioning, a fridge and a safe in every room to use free of charge with welcome drinks provided in the fridge. The beds are made every day and the towels replaced. The quality of the food in the restaurant is amazing with lots of choice with lots of homemade traditional greek food to try. My favorite was the Telesilla Lamb and the Pastasada (excuse the spelling). The apple pie was also the best I have ever had. There is also an adjoining bakery and cafe for either a mid morning or afternoon treat (although the breakfast is so extensive youn can't fit anything in until at least 2pm!).
The entertainment at the bar is usually in the form of Thomas although as an added extra there is now traditional greek dancing and Elvis (who I have to say was actually good!) on a Tuesday and Thursday night. Every year you go back they have been working hard at keeping the hotel in tip top condition and the new decking area was brilliant (although I would recommend flip flops as it does get hot). As soon as the flights come out for next year we will be booking again. Thanks again to Spiros, Elizabeth, Michael, Thomas, Yannis and Alex for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, united kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have made three visits to the hotel Telesilla in the past 18 years and the first being when my parents took myself and my brother when i was aged 14 after they had been and had such an amazing time that they wanted to share the experiance with us.

I then returned with my future husband and parents again in 2001 and again had the holiday of a lifetime.

Myself and my Husband have just returned from my third trip to the Telesilla this time taking our 9 and 5 year old children.

why have i kept on returning, well what can i say once the Telesilla is in your heart it becomes your family, i have never known such genuine hospitality and kindness, you are made to feel as part of the family and i for one am extremely proud to have seen how the Telesilla has grown.

The food is so amazing with a vast amount of options that we choose to eat there every night and with two fussy children they could not have been more accomodating. The cleanliness of the hotel is second to none and the rooms are lovely, the children loved the family room where they had there own section with air con, tv and it was decorated to accomodate them, myself and my husbands room off the childrens room was a little piece of heaven, we had a beautiful balcony over looking the pool, and it was lovely to sit out and enjoy the views whilst the children slept, we also had air con and a television of our own( not that we watch much tv as the balcony was amazing). we experianced the Elvis night for the first time which was brilliant and Makis and yianni's greek dancing was amazing, and Tomas makes the best Pina Colada ever.

The children loved the pool which is kept spotless and they loved Anastastia, who had the job of constantly making them ice creams.

you really would be missing out on an experiance of a life time if you did not make Telesilla your choice of hotel whilst in Corfu.

Thank you Spiros, Sophia, Elizabeth and Makis and all the team for giving myself and my family more wonderful memorys to treasure.

we will be returning next year to make some more and this time my parents, brother and nan will all be returning, im counting down the days.

Nicole Button

Room Tip: the Children made there own activities in the pool and with the toys provided, as to fitness centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 4 for Elvis Night. changed to 8 an hour before when they were fully booked. We picked up a few friends on the way and arrived with a party of 15. They quickly found extra tables and squeezed us all in. Then the heavens opened! elvis carried on in the rain. Makis and Yianni kept smiling. A great evening, great food, great atmosphere, great company and great hospitality. Thanks !

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Hotel Telesilla, although we have been going to Corfu for 23 years. From the minute we alighted from the taxi, we were made to feel like part of the family. The hotel is spotless, and the rooms are extremely comfortable, and up to date. All rooms have air conditioning, tv,fridge and free safety deposit box, and our view over the pool was just perfect. The staff are extremely friendly, and make you feel so welcome, and special. The food is, probably, the best I have tasted in the last 23 years! Nothing is too much trouble. It is a family run hotel, ably assisted by the very hard working staff. Yiannis' recommendations on what to eat are spot on, and if you only want an omelette with a little salad, then that's what you can have! Tomas tending bar is fun, friendly and excellent at his job! With regular entertainment, (Elvis night and Greek dancing performed by Makis and Yiannis) the hotel is the best value for money on the island. All the family help to make the hotel what it is - friendly, comfortable and amazing value for money - this may have been our first visit to Hotel Telesilla - but it certainly won't be our last! Thank you Makis, Elizabeth and Spiros for making us feel at home - nothing was too much trouble, and we look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Room Tip: First floor rooms tend to have a better view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hotel Telesilla is clearly a family operation and guests benefit. Everyone on staff works hard and they generate a powerful sense that they are part of a team dedicated to ensuring that you feel like a cousin visiting (from Australia in our case) who should enjoy a marvellous time both in the hotel and on Corfu generally. The hotel is simple but impeccably clean, safe and quiet; the pool, bar and dining areas are delightful and the restaurant is both tasty and great value. We went to Corfu to see the Easter rituals and spent the rest of the week walking, running, swimming and diving around the island, but we wound up back by the pool each afternoon and had dinner at the Telesilla almost every night. Importantly for our trip, the advice and referrals/recommendations of the team at the hotel (car hire, dive operations etc) were spot on. The Telesilla are overwhelmingly concerned to give guests a great holiday and they clearly do it consistently. We had a marvellous time & they are superb value on top of all that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine1_0
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel has made some excellent improvements since our last visit in August 2012. The decking is a fantastic addition, I also don't remember wireless being available last year so thanks for that.

As both Spyros and Elizabeth informed us they are always looking for ways to improve can the hotel do that yes I am sure because this family really care about you and do everything to try a make sure your holiday is a good one.

The food in the Restaurant is absolutely fantastic, the service brilliant. Thank you to Yannis, Michael and Tomas.

We did venture to both the local beach; however it was a bit windy (well it is May) and to Gouvia which again left us wondering why we walked down there again, perhaps we are missing something e.g. neither of us particularly like sailing.

Yes I would agree the shower curtain is a big turn off, perhaps glass / Perspex sides instead?

The only other area which needs looking at is whilst yes it is half-term so families on holiday as you would expect to have a pool the size of the one at Hotel Telesilla needs a bit of control one day there were eleven inflatable’s in the pool putting it out of bounds to all the other residents (the water was cold, again as it was May but it would have been nice to have the option to use it).
Thank you again and see you all soon.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Telesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telesilla

Address: Kontokali Next to Gouvia Marina | Corfu, Kontokali 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telesilla is a family run hotel by the Filippas family, it is situated in Kontokali next to Gouvia Marina.It accommodates guests either for business or pleasure in a friendly, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Operates since 1982 and was last renovated in 2006-7, has 33 comfortable bedrooms as well as a famous Ala Carte Restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, Indoor and outdoor Bar, Reception Desk, TV lounge, Internet Cafe, Indoor Dinning area with a large Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Telesilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Telesilla Kontokali, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Telesilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;