We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic people, fantastic holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic people, fantastic holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We returned yesterday from our 9th (yes really!) visit to this hotel and as ever are feeling relaxed and happy (if a little sad to be back to reality) after a truly fabulous holiday.

Why go back so many times? It’s the people particularly, plus, what the hotel offers.

From the efficiency and receptiveness of Nelly, the Customer Relations Manager at the initial booking and throughout our stay, the genuine welcome at reception from Yolanda on checking in, the friendliness and helpfulness of Kostas and Spiros, part of the porter team, the housekeeping staff under the management of Teresa, Spiros, the ever enthusiastic and hard working “beach and towel man”, the inventive cooking of Chef Spiros, and extra specially, the sheer customer service professionalism and attention to detail of Maitre d, Kostas, and Sous Maitre, Lambros, and their team, especially Dionsis, Georgios, Xenia, Alexis, Christina, Harris etc . The restaurant management team, Kostas and Lambros really are superb at what they do and are great ambassadors for the hotel.

We believe the key to this hotel’s high service standards is the fact that the Management team are always leading from “the front” and role modelling the caring standards that they personally expect and achieve. And it is a very personal, individual style that is friendly, genuine and warm from the G.M. Alex Margonis, down to the team.

Of course it is not just about “people” but also about the hotel itself, the beautiful location, the decor and ambience of the hotel (love the new lobby furniture!), the fabulous breakfasts, the varied dinners in the Main Restaurant and the superb chateaubriand and style and setting of the a la carte restaurant. Kontokali Bay Hotel manages to be warm and welcoming, plus efficient and effective.

A winning, unique combination that draws us back......

Mary and Izzy

Room Tip: Have had bay view and it is good, however, recommend sea view room as the sunrise and view is specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
“Dear Mary and Izzy,

Kalimera!!

Wonderful review, thank you for posting it!

We are grateful that you took the time to provide us with such fantastic feedback. It is very rewarding to read such comments from a valued repeat-guest like you that you thoroughly enjoying your holidays and that we are still able to fulfill your expectations.

The Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa culture has been created over decades and it is the culmination of shared values, assumptions and beliefs that determines how people behave and work gets done. Our aim is to ensure that each and every guest has a memorable stay with us and it is wonderful that we did this for you.

I will pass on the compliments to all personnel and I am certain your kind words will encourage them to continue their hard work to provide unique experiences to all of our guests at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

Thank you once more for your exquisite review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.”

With warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    195
    63
    14
    4
See reviews for
241
373
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Currently t kontokali on holiday 4 to 11th october. If you are heading here, bring your wellies! The rain hasnt stopped in days, puts scotland to shame. Apart from that, hotel nice, breakfast good however I come to greece for the weather, so unfortunately this has spoiled my holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
“Dear mizziScotland,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for your continued support of the Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa and it was our great pleasure to welcome you back once again.

We truly regret that the weather is not cooperative to fully enjoy your holiday. While we cannot do anything about it, please make the most of what Corfu offers. There is a Greek proverb that says the happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

Thank you for posting your review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Corfu …with sunshine.”

Warm regards,

A. Margonis – GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was just by chance we selected this hotel for 10 days after looking through the TC brochure and after a little room mix-up when we arrived we settled down to what became a lovely relaxing holiday.The breakfast is a little hectic with so many people around but a great choice of food is available.Annoying that so many people reserve their tables at breakfast. (Did the food taste any different). Dinner is great with lots of choice although the good wines are a little pricey.
The staff are lovely and they take good care of you.Special thanks go to the lovely Xenia who should in a couple of years time make Captain Xenia.
Our room was exceptionaly clean and thanks must go to Elizabeth for that and what a good laugh she is.The sea view rooms get a spectacular sunrise.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful position and the beach is regularly cleaned with the paths hosed down. I like this place apart from one thing. There are so many cats around the beach, the pool and eating areas and i dont like them.
A good hotel is based on whether you would return to it or not. We would and probably will.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view get a beautiful sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
“Dear Weberman,

Kalimera!!

Congratulations on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa!

Thank you for choosing to spend your holidays at KONTOKALI BAY RESORT AND SPA and for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor site.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your holiday with us was a pleasant and enjoyable one. We are happy to learn that the service from our staff and the facilities at our hotel met with your expectations. It is really good to see that so many colleagues delivered excellent customer service and I will ensure that your kind words are shared with them.

Once again, allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next Holiday to Corfu.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully appointed on 2 beaches with views to die for. Close to Corfu town and Gouvia marina. Expensive and not value for money for food and drink in hotel but a few good local tavernas. Not too friendly a welcome from reception especially following incident with headphones but breakfast staff great! Place spotless but so many Russians I had to remember I was in Corfu!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
“Dear casAberdeen,

Kalimera!!

Thank you very much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We, at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa are continuously striving to meet or even exceed the expectations of our multinational guests.

We hope to see you back in the near future and I would ask that you contact me directly when you decide to stay again so that I can personally take care of your reservation.”

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my second stay at the Kontokali Bay Resort and I only can repeat my comments from two years ago: this is simply the best hotel you can imagine for a perfect relaxing vacation.The location is splendid. All personnel is extremely friendly and helpful, with "5 star awards for excellence" for Kostas and Lambros in the restaurants, Alexandra in the main bar and last but not least Marios in the beach bar. Food is not only excellent all the time, but the choice in the main restaurant both for breakfast and for dinner is extremely wide. And the food quality in the à la carte restaurant is absolute top. Rooms are kept very clean and airco is working very well, so once again no single complaint to make. No doubt I will spend more vacation in the Kontokali Bay resort in the future, the more even in late September - early October the sun was present for some 90% of the time. Many thanks to hotel management and staff for making my vacation so wonderful.

André Desutter, Knokke-Heist, Belgium
André Desutter, Knokke-Heist, Belgium

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
“Dear André,

Kalimera!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your holiday with us and I am delighted to hear that you had a splendid time, and that it was everything that you were looking for.


Thank you also for your very complimentary words about the accommodation, service provided by our team and it is rewarding to hear that all your requests exceeded your expectations and that everyone was helpful and warm. It is our great pleasure to look after all our guests and our motto is no request is too large and no detail too small; so, I am thrilled to read that you felt so well looked after.

I have passed your kind words to all the team who greatly appreciate your time and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Corfu at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa on a future holiday.

Warm regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikendorf, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

wonderful island, nice natural location of the resort, fine sea-beach and seawater pool, perfect restauration service nearly through 24 hours, great offer at breakfast and even greater at the dinner buffet in the evening
SPA not used

Room Tip: prefer the bungalows (even without seaside view!), the room is larger than in the hotel, with terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
“Dear 442Schneider,

Kalimera!!

How delightful to read that you loved Corfu Island and Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa met with all your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments about our services and facilities especially our restaurants.

I do hope that you will have another holiday with in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful fortnight's holiday at the Kontokali Bay resort. It was fabulous. All the staff whether they worked in the reception area, restaurants, bars or were cleaning our rooms were friendly, efficient, helpful and seemed to really care that my husband and I had a nice holiday. When we booked (through Thomas Cook) I had originally asked for a pool/sea view and was initially slightly disappointed not to have got one. However, we had a view that looked out over the marina and the sunsets in the evening were stunning. We weren't disappointed for long. There was also a cricket pitch that you could see from our balcony which was in use for a number of evenings while we were staying there, which really pleased my husband.

We found the location ideal as it was near enough to pop into Corfu Town without any difficulty at all. We used the hotel's courtesy bus, but we also used the local number 7 was very reliable and ran a regular service.

I absolutely loved the pool - it is a good size (25m) and was spotlessly clean at all times.

I was told by a couple of the waiting staff that the hotel was completely full while we were there, but there was never a problem getting a sunlounger around the pool or the jetty or beach areas. You never got the feeling that the hotel was crowded at any time.

The food was really good - especially considering how many people they were catering for. There was a lot of choice for breakfast and for the evening meal. We had a half-board arrangement and the hotel were happy for us to have lunch at their beach taverna instead of eating in the restaurant in the evening (we've stayed at other places where the half-board arrangement has not been very flexible in that way). We used the beach taverna four or five times and really enjoyed the barbecue/grill, which we would recommend.

Brilliant. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel at all.

Room Tip: If you like to sit on the balcony and admire the sunset, opt for a marina view. If you're an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
“Dear LeicesterTaylor65,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor site following your holiday with us and we are delighted that you felt our hospitality was “Perfect” and indeed your satisfaction is our priority.

The Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa is our great pride and joy and it is our goal to provide highest level of service possible for our guests; so I am glad that you appreciated it. I have passed your very kind comments to the team who are always delighted with the acknowledgement.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future holiday and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind regards,

A. Margonis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.