We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in a quiet location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in a quiet location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived lunchtime at the hotel and our room wasn't ready, we were told to take a seat by staff for 5 minutes. After 30 minutes my husband approached reception to check on the delay, apparently she had forgot about us!!! The room was 106 and it was quite nice but not 5*. The next day we asked to move rooms as there was noise above the room as it was directly under reception and looked out on to the start of a service road. It felt almost subterranean. The hotel was full but they managed to move us to a garden room. The good holiday experience started there and then :-))

The hotel is definatey 5* in the main areas but 4* rooms.

The staff are lovely and friendly. We went B&B, the food was good but the breakfast area was always pretty congested and we ate 8.30-9am most days.

All areas spotlessly clean with loads of sun beds and towels.
Maid service was excellent with linen and towels changed daily. That did feel a bit excessive but nice non the less. There's nothing like slipping into a freshly made bed each night. Tea and coffee is in the rooms but was hardly ever filled up. We asked at reception most days for coffee and sugar.

We used the courtesy bus into Corfu town 3 times, we always booked a couple of days in advance to avoid disappointment. I must say the driver was quite miserable and each drive was at full throttle and hold on to your seat.

The mosquito's are rife on the island so take plugins and plenty of repellant. I had 30 bites in two weeks :-((

We had a lovely relaxing time and would definately consider returning in the future.

We would also recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
“Dear JMW199,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your holiday at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa. We certainly do our utmost to make our guests feel as comfortable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the helpful and friendly staff, and our facilities and services provided.

We appreciate the positive feedback & we would love to have you stay with us again.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    191
    62
    14
    4
See reviews for
239
359
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Kontokali Bay is a very comfortable and well presented hotel. We had a garden room which had sliding doors dividing the sleeping and living areas. Great for me as I am an early riser and I could sit in the living area without disturbing my husband. We were very impressed with all areas of the hotel which was of a very high standard. There was a very good choice of breakfast, really something for everyone and very tasty. Only slight downside was the position of the room we had (108) was right next to the cleaner's access door (which squeaked). We could hear the cleaners starting their shift and we were really surprised how noisy they were. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the nearest shop and a small restaurant. 15 minutes walk will take you into Kontokali and you will find bars and restaurants. We especially liked the Telleslla Hotel which served the most wonderful orange cake. A bit further along the road is Gouvia which has a bigger choice of restaurants and bars. We went to the o2 bar as we liked the classic rock they played. We found food and drink prices very reasonable. A main course was on average 6-7 euros. A half ltr of wine with dinner was about 5-6 euro, a beer on average 3.5 euro, cocktails around 6 euro. The hotel prices were more in favour of a 5* hotel. Bottle of wine (house) 17 euro, gin and tonic 7 euro. All in all we really did enjoy the Kontakali Bay Resort but next time (now we know) we would avoid the rooms round about room 108 as I didn't really enjoy being woken up really early by the extremely noisy cleaners.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 108 as it is extremely noisy also doesn't get the sun till well into the afteroon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
”Dear JeanetteM,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for this 5* review and your comments of how we can take Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa even higher. We cherish our guests and strive to make them feel like home away from home.
We apologize for the noise outside room 108. I will bring it to the personal attention of our Housekeeper Manager to better monitor the situation.

We are delighted that we were able to enhance your holidays with pleasant memories and we are also grateful that your share your Corfu-experiences in public, so potential visitors can read them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and your comments will be taken into consideration and action.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We got back on Monday and am still trying to work out how to go back in September. It is a lovely hotel. The staff are all so lovely and very attentive. The A la Carte restaurant is very good with the food beautifully presented. We had a very big room and bathroom with walk in shower which was perfect. The beaches and pool are lovely too. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: From talking to some people their rooms were dark and had baths with leaking showers. We overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
“Dear 153Sarah1944,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you on discovering us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

On behalf of the team at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us.

We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the attentive and friendly staff, your room, the A la Carte Restaurant, and beaches.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa again soon.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here in last summer and we were really wowed by the exceptional service and the friendliness of the staff. We initially didn't like our room as it was on the ground floor but the hotel quickly changed it to upper floor beach view room as per our liking. We were probably among the only young couple around though; there were mostly families or much older couples who had come back for their sixth or seventh visit to the resort so that says it all. We were on half board and I would really recommend that as the dinner buffet was fabulous with a different set of at least ten desert choices each day. We needed to hire a bike and they helped us get that as well without any commission for the hotel. I would not recommend the spa and that's the reason for taking off a star; i understand that it has to pricey because its a five star hotel but the service was not at all good; the message was okay but i got a spa manicure pedicure which was a total waste of money - not so clean equipment, the lady didn't know what she was doing. Otherwise great service, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for a beach view room on upper floor, this got us a small balcony which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
“Dear NDPri,

Kalimera!!

Thank you for choosing to have your holiday at Kontokali Bay Resort & Spa and for your kind comments posted on TripAdvisor site about your recent stay with us.
Our aim is to make each guests holiday as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so we are very pleased to see that you were satisfied in particular with the friendliness of our staff, food and the reception.

I will personally look into the case of the manicure/pedicure to see what the details are.

We thank you your taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am a huge fan of Corfu, have been going for years with friends and mostly staying in a private house but this time took a short break at the Kontokoli Bay which i had visited for lunch previously with my friend who has a house in Gouvia.

Upon arrival we were shown to one of the glorious garden view rooms with a huge terrace with views of the sea in the distance, we were thrilled. Everything was spotless and our 4 night break could begin. We loved sunbathing on the deck, close to the beach bar for drinks with the friendly Akis and the restaurant for lunch. Food from the grill and the salads are simply gorgeous and the quality of the food is excellent.

The hotel has a lovely beach and great views out toward Corfu town and is very well maintained. We had a thoroughly lovely 4 night stay and with the hotel only being some 15 mins by taxi from Corfu town, its perfectly located.

This trip was very special as I asked my girlfriend to marry me whilst on the island and we hope to return for our actual wedding in the not too distant future. I would happily recommend the hotel to family and friends and hope to re-visit next time as Mr & Mrs H.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
“Dear theoneandonlyjay,

Kalimera & Congratulations!!!

Thank you very much for this lovely review; it is always a pleasure to read a positive review from one of our guests. We always strive to personalize our services and give a 'homey' feeling to our guests.

We are proud to have such a dedicated team/staff that delivers paramount service and I would be happy to pass on your compliment to Akis.

On behalf of the team we hope that you have the opportunity to welcome back again soon to our resort and enjoy all the facilities and we would be particularly happy to receive your enquiry for a reservation for M/M H.”

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recommending Corfu and Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa as a place to have your holiday.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just returned from a holiday at Kontokali Bay and over all, the opinion was not of a 5* hotel.
We can compare with the 4* hotels that we staid until now every time we were in Greece so maybe our expectations were a little high to what a 5* hotel should have been.
First: the room was a little smaller, the tiles in the bathrooms were old and also the furniture and the doors in the room ware old. And this in a bay view room.
Second: regarding the cleaning, as far as I know the maid should come until noon, and should not disturb you after 2 pm and I find inadmissible for a 5* hotel to have to hang on a door the sign "Please make up my room" in order to have the floor of the room cleaned. Also, regarding the maids, in the afternoon they were very noisy, they shake their trolley and speak loud on the hallway.
The food was OK for me, with fresh fruits, cereals,and else, but in case you are a fan of meat you would have very few choices and not very qualitative ones: like mortadella with olives, salami, bacon and small frankfurters.
What I liked about the hotel was indeed the gardens which are very luxuriant, also the beach was clean and the swimming pool very nice.
The bar of the hotel and the one near the beach were OK, very nice staff and the cocktails were good.
But, over all we had holidays as I mentioned before at 4*hotels that we enjoyed more and locations we recommended.
We can recommend Kontokali Bay only if you don't expect 5* over all. Or maybe if you would book a superior room or a suite they most certainly look different, and maybe on the floors the maids are quiet as they should be :).
Andreea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
“Dear Andreeacr294458,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations about your recent holiday with us.

Though we are delighted to read that you found our grounds, facilities, food and the staff very accommodating; it is always disheartening for us to hear someone wasn’t 100% delighted with his/her stay.

We have reviewed and discussed all your comments to see where we might improve. As for the size of rooms, while we can’t make them any larger, we make every effort to provide pictures, sample room layouts, square footage etc, so that people can make informed decisions on if this is the right hotel for you. I encourage everyone to review our website.

With regards to the sign "Please make up my room" it is put there in order to have an early servicing of the room/priority. As far as the housekeepers being noisy in the afternoon, we do apologize. However, most rooms are vacated in this time, thus making it difficult for our hard working housekeepers to have new rooms ready for the newly arriving guests.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will take your comments under consideration. We appreciate all our guest comments and thank you again for taking the time to review Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.”

Kind regrads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

When we arrived, we had a superior sea view room in the main building. This room was very old and creepy : absolutly not a 5*room... We complained to the reception and finally changed for a new bungalow with sea view. This place was really better with a very big balcony, a modern new bathroom and a nice view. Therefore housekeeping was not really well done (they never sweeped or vacuum cleaned during 1 week stay...) and every morning, housekeepers wery very noisy and shouted just behind our door.

Buffet was nice but it was every day the same. We had dinner twice in the "a la carte" restaurant and really enjoyed it! Buffet staff were very nice (especially Lambros).

Swimming pool was beautiful and clean but very noisy because of lot of children screaming and running all around us... Private beach was nice with a clear blue sea. You can also rent nice tennis court in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
“Dear Anneetsophie B,

Kalimera!!!

It saddens me to read your review.

As hoteliers it is our aim to exceed our customers’ expectations and it is evident that on this occasion we have failed.

I have taken the liberty to forward your comment to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention. (They never sweeped or vacuum cleaned during 1 week stay...) Rest assured that this kind of attitude, the "laissez Faire" attitude is not normal practice of our hotel.

I am disappointed that you left the hotel feeling far from satisfied and I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me personally at: manager@kontokalibay.gr to further discuss the events of your holiday. “

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.