We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards always consistent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“High standards always consistent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We've just returned from a week at the Kontokali Bay hotel on Corfu,and have had a super time. We 've been there twice before,but not for a few years, and we wondered if the standards would be as high,and they certainly are! The extensive grounds are immaculate,the whole hotel is spotlessly clean,and the staff are as friendly and helpful as you could wish. The food is well-prepared,varied and beautifully presented. I can't really fault this hotel: we're not the only ones,as at present it is fully booked. We would be very happy to go again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear dillydream,

Kalimera!!

We are delighted to hear you again enjoyed your recent holiday with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

It is especially rewarding to read your kind comments about our facilities/services and particularly for our staff. Such feedback as yours is a great motivator for our employees and I would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    195
    63
    14
    4
See reviews for
241
373
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire,UK
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here and was more than pleasantly surprised at what i found, everything you would expect of a 5-star resort at exceptionally good price (for us).
It looks a bit "concrete-blocky" as you drive up to it but this dated facade is just covering a superb main hotel with traditional rooms above and very nice chalet-style rooms dotted all over the complex, some with their own pools and various views, ours overlooked Gouvia Marina nearby. Rooms have air-con, plenty of towels, beds were comfy and large balcony.
Hotel reception area was spacious with lots of comfy chairs dotted around, and the main bar immediately behind, only complaint here was the 1am closing time but a free bottle of red wine in your room could be used in an emergency.
Although we were told the hotel was full there seemed more than enough sunbeds around the pool available, more than enough sunbeds (all free) on the 2 beaches and always plenty of tables at the various restaurants on-site. No need to being beach towels, these are provided free of charge at the towel hut on the beach.
Only checked out the breakfast for food, huge choice of good quality items, something for everyone and nice staff always helping.
There is also a games room, volleyball court and boats for hire (but too early in season for us). Didnt try the Spa but word is that its good. One small warning, there were Mosquitos buzzing around in early May so best bring some repellant and maybe one of those plug-in devices for your room...they do get in, and we did get one or two bites !.
Gouvia Marina is just around the corner, about a 10 min walk and other tavernas and shops on the way, prices are quite high at the Marina shops and bars.
Corfu Town only a 10 min cab ride away, about 15 euros fare.
Delightful hotel, would love to come back for a longer holiday at some point.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet room overlooking the beach, the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
“Dear Zoom6562,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share us your kind comments about your recent holiday at our resort via Tripadvisor.

We were very happy to know that you had a most enjoyable vacation with us and that our resort facilities met your expectations (especially our friendly staff).

Your flawless and accurate depiction of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa makes all of us feel very proud. It also encourages us to strive to improve even further our facilities and services to meet the expectations of appreciative and knowledgeable guest (senior-reviewer) like you.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your kind comments and we will be most welcome to welcome you again in the near future at our sunny resort.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

all I can say is wow. We are 3 days in on our 1 week holiday here and I feel I must review it now. This place is amazing. The attention to detail is incredible. The room we are staying in is big enough for 2 more people. We have a lovely view of the garden and can see the marina in the distance The staff are increbibly friendly, especially towards my young daughter.The food is delicious, we have booked half board. My daughter, who can be very picky has tried nearly everything. The buffet has a huge variety to suit everyone, but you must try the local dishes. My compliments to the chef. The pork steak and lamb is to die for.there is also a free shuttle bus to bring you to Corfu town. Book a seat early! The views at night are stunning. Nothing better to unwind with a cocktail watching the sun go down over looking the sea. There is a shop with some basic supplies, but there are more shops and a chemist only a five minute walk from the spa. For anyone worried about internet connection. There is free WiFi all around the resort. Roughly a 2mb line which is more than enough for emails, sending pictures back home and general browsing. I have stayed in some hotels where they throttle the speed, but not here.I will update my review when our stay is over. But I really can't fault them anywhere. Going to sit our balcony now enjoying our complimentary wine!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
“Dear colin1981,

Kalimera!!!

Congratulations!

Thank you very much for this lovely review, I am so pleased to read through your recent experience with us and your comments regarding our services / facilities and our personalized service.

Exceeding our guests’ expectations is what we always aim for and I am so pleased we have accomplished it with you.

On behalf of the team I wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent 4 nights in April/May 2013 in Kontokali Bay hotel. Hotel has great beach which at the time i stayed was partially occupied and it was a great place to rest. I have to mentioned that the water temperature was just enough for me to take a swim in the sea :). Beside beach, hotel has outdoor swimming pool with sea water. Breakfast is served until 10:30 which could be prolonged until 11:00 at least. Anyhow, the variety of food is excellent and everyone can find something for himself. Hotel has a beach tavern with a bar just between 2 hotel beaches which is open all day and you can get refreshing drink and have a traditional Greek meal. There is a Marina in the vicinity and the Kerkyra city is just 10 min by car. Summary: relaxing and enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: You can chose between rooms in main building (sea, garden, and bay view) and bungalows. I stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
“Dear Ivica987,


Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your “outstanding” review posted on TripAdvisor. Your detailed and descriptive comments “paint the picture” of our property and your comments encourage all of us to work even harder to meet our guests' expectations.

We are delighted that we were able to enhance your holiday with pleasant memories and we are also grateful that your share your Corfu-experiences in public, so potential visitors can read them.

We appreciate it very much for taking the time to write about our services and facilities of our property. Your comments are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa soon."

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here with friends for a short break, we had a lovely suite with adjoining rooms, very modern and new with lovely balconies over looking the pool and beach. Breakfast was nice but Dinner was average but hey it's all good when you don't have to cook. The Pool area was fairly small and there was a lot of children playing which is fine but was no where to get away from them, lunch by the beach was lovely grilled seafood was much nicer than dinner. No evening entertainment and its a car drive anywhere else. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
“Dear Dollyncrumpy,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for choosing Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa for your holiday and for taking the time to share your comments with us on Tripadvisor.

We value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests.

Once again, allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next Holiday to Corfu. “

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Kontokali Bay R&S in late May 2012. Had a very enjoyable vacation.

Generally: Food quality was excellent; beaches were well groomed and maintained; workout facilities and spa were fine and as expected. We stayed in a Family Room with a Bay View ~ had a lovely deck and the room was well appointed. Plenty of storage / closets, etc. Daily housekeeping kept everything nice and tidy.

A word about the dining room: this really is an operation! One dresses for dinner (men must wear long pants) and everything is served buffet style. We found the food selection / variety to be very good (catering to Euro / Russian / British tastes alongside traditional Greek cuisine) ~ however, if consistently dining buffet style is not your thing, then I can understand some frustration. Here's the plus: the wait staff were great, on top things, and always welcoming.

Beyond the beach, outside activities were a bit limited. May 2012 was exceptionally cold and rainy (more October weather than summer) ~ but the staff was kind in hooking us up with a driver to do some sightseeing around the island; a visit to (that fading beauty) Corfu; and (when the weather cooperated) to some of the other beaches.

I tried running several days, but the lack of consistent sidewalks combined with road traffic was slightly off-putting. Outside restaurants were fun, decent with some very nice dining locations within walking distance located at the Marina ~ but again, walking as a visitor with a kid along side streets which have incomplete sidewalks / berms is somewhat annoying.

Let me end with what I liked best: getting up in the morning, not fighting for a place at the beach, and just relaxing ~ the Hotel is blessed with two fantastic beaches (and a nice outside bar)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
“Dear Matthew H,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and it helps us monitor the service we provide.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your holiday with us was a pleasant and enjoyable one. We are happy to learn that the service from our staff and the facilities at our resort met with your expectations.

We thank you for praising particularly of our staff. Our team has the best interests of our guests at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here last June with two friends. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are a little basic but spacious. There was free wifi throughout the resort but it was spotty- got kicked off a good amount but could usually get it back. The food at breakfast was plentiful- excellent breakfast buffet, really delicious. For lunch, there are many great choices at the Taverna. I loved having fresh fish grilled to order here for lunch. The food at the restaurant upstairs for dinner was really good, too. The private beach and pool area were very nice as well and the hotel is walking distance to two other restaurants off-site. You can also go to Corfu town by bus which you can pick up down the street from the hotel or a quick cab ride. While we were three single people looking for a bit more excitement (this is not a singles resort), I still really enjoyed this resort and would recommend it. The staff were all really friendly, the grounds were beautiful, the food was great and the time here was relaxing and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
“Dear Dana P,

Kalimera!!!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, and thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted you found our food delicious, our facilities very accommodating and our staff very pleasant and friendly. We want our guest to experience many different things which can be retained as a pleasant memory to be recounted amongst friends and family when they have their holiday with us.

We hope to see you back in the near future and I would ask that you contact me directly when you decide to stay again so that I can personally take care of your reservation at manager@kontokalibay.gr”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.