We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good spot on Korfu East Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rejuvenate You
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good spot on Korfu East Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Incredible Sea view room with terrasse to directly walk over grass field to the very close beach. Staying there a delightfull one week and never missed the beautiful sunrise.
Water temperature in October still around 25 centigrades with cristal clear water and very pleasant sandy beach entry. Very good for children as they can play around in water without big danger.
Service level is for southern European standard very high. We should not expect the 5 star precision some hotels in central Europe (e.g. Austria) are offering. Still the Greek carry a big heart and if they are addressed properly they try to fullfill every wish in a very generous way.
We did not book dinner - as the location still allows to reach Tavernas around the nearby Kontokali Marina in comfortable walking distance. Still we tried the buffet dinner and found it reasonable - but not on a spoiled 5 star niveau. Some guests complained about the lack of choice over time. But this we did not experience ourselves. Generally we think very good value for the money is provided and the location of the bay is really one of the top spots on the Korfu island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
“Dear somweku3,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Nice of you to write about the various services and facilities we offer within our resort, as well as our location and the information about Corfu.

I will share your comments with our team especially the one about the “Greek heart”. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next holiday will be as pleasant as the previous one. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at manager@kontokalibay.gr so I may take personal care of your booking.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    198
    64
    14
    4
See reviews for
245
377
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned form a week at this hotel - after reading very positive Trip Advisor Reports.
In short, we thought it fabulous, and concur with all the previously well written reports.
15 mins north of Corfu Town, and our room (602) had a fantastic view accross the bay to mainland Greece. We looked forward to our meals in the dining room as there were many choices, well cooked and delicious. Costas, one of two 'Maitre D' staff, played his part to the full, was charming, and lovely to talk to. ALL hotel staff were attentive and they did not hassle you, nor seemingly expect a tip, though naturally grateful if given. Not much evening entertainment, but we knew not to expect too much, but were happy with a post dinner drink and a good book in comfortable lounge or outside as the weather was lovely.
Four, free WiFi internet terminals for guests, but one was defective, and the others had a frustrating slow download speed.
A lovely swimming pool, or by the beach only a few metres away, it was most enjoyable.
Locations is slightly isolated, so either hire a car or put on your walking shoes.
The daily free shuttle bus into Corfu town meant we did not bother hiring a car this holiday.
If we went to Corfu again, this is the hotel we'd want to stay at. We loved it and this entry is an opportunity to say thank you to the staff who looked after us.
Bob and Maureen.

Room Tip: Try 602, close enough to reception and all amenities, but was not noticeably noisy at all. Room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
“Dear Robert L,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our Sea front rooms are ideal for couples and great view and I was delighted that you gave us an “excellent” for your overall stay.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team – they are the backbone of the hotel and without their excellent efforts we would simply cease to exist. They take so much pride in their work and I will take pleasure in sharing your comments with them and particularly Kostas our Maitre d’ Hotel.

Just for the record we have already repair the 4th computer I am sorry for the inconvenience and regarding the download speed, we were told shortly the main public provider, will upgrade the central phone lines with new fiber optic in this region of Corfu.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Corfu and to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa next time you are visiting Greece.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Noisey room, poor view & unhelpful staff. Long way to local aminettes. Booked bay view room but giveb sea view room NO view Concrete wall obsureing 50% of view,one way palm tree obscuring view the other way. room 601 just of reception so all reception noise including staff at 6.00am could be heard. Asked to change rooms, reception said you have been upgraded. Ask for room I booked back was told fully booked nothing they could. Long way to any aminities 1/2 to nearest Taverna /shop next tavernna another 1/2 mile on that so unless full board long walks everly night, you hire a car for your duration or you will have to pay hotel prices, very expensive, small glass of house wine 5 euros local tavernna 1/2 litre of wine 5 euros. Everly thing double if not treble the price of things outside the hotel.Room floor not cleaned sand on floor from bay on beach still there when I left. Spa not open on sunday so indoor pool steam rooms thermal pool & gym also not open ( have to access these through spa, Evening entertainmeant was very amaturist & poor, (cheap). The actucual area of Kontokali is probably one of the worst areas in Corfu. So my advice is DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
“Dear Rad-E120,

Kalimera!!

Wow, what a distressing review to read!! Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback; we are always seeking to improve the quality and the overall guest experience of the resort. Thus, we were taken aback to learn about your experience and I would like to take this opportunity to address a couple of your disturbing comments. To begin with you were upgraded from bay view to sea view (sea front) room, but it seems that this very room assignment/allocation was the primary cause for getting the wrong impression of us and consequently this review. I uploadef a photo of the 601 room-view; so, Tripadvisor readers will be able to judge the view for themselves.

I was deeply surprised to hear that you asked to be moved to another room and the reception refused to assist you. So, I looked into your case. The desk of our guests relations manager just around the corner from your room and she does not recall having any enquiry from you or anyone else at the reception. However, I would love to get in touch with you for further details, please do contact me directly at +30 2660 90505 or by email at manager@kontokalibay.gr.

With regards to the comment about the unhelpful staff, we do apologize in case you had any negative interaction. However, if there is one thing we pride ourselves on most; it is the exceptionally kind, caring, and attentive service of our friendly personnel.

As far as the location of our property is concern, we have a special section in the main page of our web-site indicating via map our exact location and details of the area (photos, attractions, etc); please note that the majority of our guests find the location of the resort very convenient (not very far from the city, 6kms, but secluded enough to enjoy their holiday).

Corfu is a beautiful island and Kontokali makes it even more beautiful; what a sad comment to make for someone’s home. I know that if you judge people and places; you have no time to love and enjoy them. I suppose some people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.

Lastly, your review is only focusing of what you perceive as negatives about our property and it is certainly not objective. Furthermore, we would love for each and every guest’s stay to be problem free and we are committed to this goal. I thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback even though so piteous.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our two little ones (aged 3 and 2). The room was fantastic - double bed and two sofa beds and it was kept clean, with good tea and coffee facilities. Staff were on the whole polite and very helpful. The setting is absolutely gorgeous - a lovely refreshing salt water pool and a great beach. One of the things we enjoyed most of all was the 'mini club'. This is a children's area with little (freshwater) pool, slides and an indoor area to do jigsaws, games, painting (all the things children miss when they're on holiday). This was available 10-12 then 4-6pm each day (other than Saturdays). You have to stay with your children, but the club is staffed by a lovely lady called Christiana who played with our children and brought out lots of lovely things to play with. We took the local bus into Corfu town a couple of times to wander round. It is a very pretty town and there was lots for the children to see and do. Although we did really enjoy being here with our children, we also thought that it would be a great place to come just as a couple!

Room Tip: We had a bay view room which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
“Dear Hari C,

Kalimera!!

Thank you so much for your review. Although your stay was short, we are delighted that you had a very positive experience with us.

Our team has the best interests of our guests at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required. I will personally pass this lovely comment to Christiana and I am sure it will make her day.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon for a lengthier holiday.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having spent a superb 2 week holiday during September 2012 here,in our opinion this hotel is worthy of its 5* status for the following reasons-
Location,amenities including water-sports and spa, cleanliness,super sea-view room,hotel layout, lovely grounds-excellent for guests with mobility problems,its own beaches and decked areas, facilities/activities for young children, food and restaurants available and above all very friendly, helpful staff. We can quite understand many guests in conversation saying that they visit on a regular basis. We certainly hope to go back.
Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea-view room-views spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
“Dear melanie p,

Kalimera!!!

What a lovely review! Thank you very much for posting it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and I am grateful for pointing out the areas (facilities and services) that you consider why Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa is worth its status.

The majority of hotel-guests on a holiday are mainly focusing on the “tangible” aspects and not of what really counts “the overall experience”; however, a large component of the services that we offer is “intangible”. I am grateful though to our guests/reviewers that almost all recognize the effort of our friendly personnel.

We work in an exhilarating industry with a mission so fundamental: to provide care, comfort, safety and sustenance for others by are trying to attain a high level of performance in an environment beset with challenges.

Thank you again for the recognition and sharing your experience, and I hope your next holiday with us to be as pleasant as the previous one.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just come back from a week staying at this hotel. As other reviews this is not a 5* hotel but is a good 4*.
We had a bungalow room, which had a lovely sized balcony. My overall impression of the room (and the hotel) was it was very clean but a dated.
The buffet dinners and breakfast were good for buffet food. We ate twice in their a la carte restaurant in the evening and the food was special. I would have liked to see a different menu (or a nightly special). This stopped us eating there more often.
Their a la carte lunch restaurant was lovely, nice situ and food was good but we did not enjoy the buffet lunch offering.
Other pluses of the hotel are its close location to the airport (only 20 mins away) and the hotel puts in daily buses to Corfu Town.
Not feedback for the hotel per se but we did the day trip they recommended called the 'Grand Island Tour' and it was appalling - cramped in like sardines in a coach, the cost of entry to venues was not included and we weren't back until 8.30pm (told it would be 5pm). Do not go on this tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
“Dear Jennie F,

Kalimera!!!

Thank you for your nice review. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa.

We are constantly seeking to improve the quality and the overall guest experience of the hotel. Thus, we appreciate all well intentioned comments, suggestion and criticism, as it helps us to improve the services in our property. Therefore, I made careful notes of your comments about the rooms, and F&B outlets.

I will look into the “Grand Island Tour” excursion and certainly I regret the inconvenience caused, but as you understand it runs completely independent from the hotel and it is also recommended by the local T.O. representatives.

We do hope to see you back in the near future and I would ask that you contact me directly when you decide to spend another holiday in Corfu, so that I can personally take care of your reservation.”

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent a week here in June, the location was fantastic with its own beaches, decked areas and boats available for hire. Sun loungers and umbrellas were easy to find each day and you could change your towels as many times as you liked. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, but ate at the hotel for lunch on a few occasions. The food was fantastic quality, if a little expensive. Good choice on the menu and beer and drink prices were not too bad. We had a bungalow overlooking Gouvia bay, which had a great view and was spotlessly clean but the room was probably more of a 3 or 4 star in terms of look and facilities. I think you would need to upgrade to a superior/sea view to get one that looked more worthy of a 5 star. A 10 minute walk into Kontokali village, which offers a good array of restaurants and a few bars, the pick of the bunch being the Navigators bar, great staff and good prices for food and drinks. Gouvia harbour and town is more of a walk, about half an hour and we found the main strip of bars didn't offer much and the food was not a patch on the places in Kontokali village. Make sure you take a trip on one of Spiros boats (at Gouvia), great value and a real laugh, we went up to Kassiopi for the day and stopped off for swimming at some caves and coves on the way back - fantastic. All in all, Hotel stay was very enjoyable but stay away from the shops - some shocking service at the shop in the complex - its allegedly independent but sells some really bad quality merchandise, bought a hat and wore for a day before it fell apart and they point blank refused to even entertain a refund or exchange. Hotel management were no help either. For a hotel of this quality, they really do need to think about service and quality in these places!

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms and superior quality rooms will give you more of a 5 star feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, General Manager at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
“Kalimera!!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to receive positive comments about our services and facilities, but more important for the friendliness of our personnel.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant holiday with us and I regret that the assigned room was did not meet with your expectations. However, I would like to take the opportunity to mention that the hotel has a refurbishment program (for the bungalows) in place and we anticipate this work completed within the next couple of years.

As far as the service provided by the shopkeeper, I apologize for the incident (they did not bring it to my attention) and it is indeed run independently, but this is no excuse if they do not provide appropriate service to our guests. As a result of your mentioning, I have instructed all people at the reception to bring it to my personal attention similar incidents.

It makes us particularly happy when our guests explore Corfu and see how pretty this green-island is and how many attractions it offers.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you back at Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa. I will be happy to personally take care of your bookings, so please do contact me when you are planning your next trip to Corfu.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa

Address: Iridos Street, Kontokali 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kontokali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kontokali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KONTOKALI BAY RESORT & SPA is a Hotel-Bungalow complex on the central eastern shoreline of the emerald Isle of Corfu, situated only 6 kms. from the island’s capital, Corfu Town. Built on a densely wooded peninsula and on a natural incline, the main building of the Kontokali Bay overlooks both the sparkling blue waters of the Ionian Sea that separates Corfu from the taupe, coastal mountains of the Greek mainland and the Gouvia Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontokali Bay Hotel Kontokali
Kontokali Bay Hotel Corfu
Kontokali Bay Resort And Spa Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.