We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Great for all ages. Go there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mareblue Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mareblue Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mareblue Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Spyridonas 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Great for all ages. Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was our wedding anniversary and a very cheap deal came up on our email. So we went for it.

This is an all inclusive hotel situated right in the north of the island on a nature reserve, next to a lagoon, which does mean there might be a problem with mosquitoes although we received no unexpected loss of blood to them whilst there.

Accommodation is in attractive 2 storey villa type apartments with an outside walkway so not echoey, all painted in different pastel colours, well spaced apart and in lovely extensive grassy areas. All named after Bond movie characters. Looks more like a housing complex than a hotel, very pleasing.

First night we arrived in the wee small hours, pulled back our curtains to see the sea view our travel agent had promised and all we could see were trees. Trekked up to reception and advised to speak to management in the morning. Apparently rooms are graded and we were bronze. The room was fine, decent sized double bed, good bathroom with good deep bath, powerful shower. Kettle and fridge and hanging and drawer space. The next morning our request for a sea view was granted. We were upgraded to a 2 room apartment on the first floor overlooking the pool in the James Bond block and most importantly a wonderful sea view. Very quiet as well. What a fantastic way to celebrate our anniversary and top marks to the hotel for reacting so positively. Facilities were almost the same as the previous room, except obviously roomier, double bedroom, kitchen/dining area with 3 single convertible bed settees, table and chairs and kitchen sink, larger fridge, larger kettle, larger balcony. Tip..no bath plugs provided so take your own. Presumably it's to save water. The shower is good, powerful, only drawback is that you have to choose whether to hold it in one hand or bend double to use it as the holder is positioned really low down. The shower curtain only just fitted inside the bath so careless positioning of the shower meant paddling out of the bathroom. We soon learned.

Meals were quite varied in choice, the chef obviously takes pride in what leaves the kitchen, for the very first time ever I actually chose the scrambled eggs. Most breakfast buffets serve it up looking like hard, dry yellow stuff, not so at Blue Beach. So good I tried it several times, along with the delicious Greek yogurt and honey. Lovely variety of fresh bread and usual other breakfast items. Lunch & dinner was equally interesting with several choices of meat and fish and vegetables that actually looked inviting, not boiled to death as some hotels do. Bar snacks available at the pool area lunchtime and early afternoon along with ice cream. No problems getting a table or having to queue for food although if you choose 9am and 8pm you might have to as these seemed to be popular times.
There is an a la carte restaurant adjacent to main dining room. The whole week we were there only a handful of guests used it. We learned right at the end we could have had one free meal in there, but quite frankly it lacks any ambience so we didn't feel we'd missed out. Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful.

The inclusive drinks were also good, we worked our way through the cocktails, and tried the local kumquat liqueur with lemonade. Wine and soft drinks also fine.

There are two pools, one quiet one with no children or music, and a larger one with a kiddies pool and bar area overlooking the sea. We never had any problem getting a sun lounger and no-one reserved them early which was refreshing. Pool towels available for a small deposit.

Wifi expensive, 3 euros an hour or 35 a week and only available in reception area. Local beach cafe had free wifi with a drink

Cleaning regime was amazing, rafters swept, pool loungers scrubbed, path lights,flower pots cleaned. Public areas swept and washed down every day. Never seen such industry.

The beach is a very short walk away, sea looked fine, quite shallow but quite a lot of seaweed. the beach the other way was smaller and not particularly inviting but there are a few good looking restaurants. There is a small supermarket next door to the hotel and another a bit further down the hill. Shuttle buses to local villages either side and into Corfu town for a reasonable fee. We went on a day trip to Albania, tiring but interesting with a fantastic Albanian guide called Loretta. Can recommend it if you like historical sites and want to learn about the country.

The only small criticism I have is that there is absolutely no information written down in your room about all the facilities etc which would have been really useful rather than keep asking at reception or finding out from other guests.

The hotel has recently been taken over and I hope they keep up this excellent standard. No hesitation in recommending it and I would be delighted to return. In fact I've given it my highest rating ever on TA for a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    274
    93
    38
    18
See reviews for
231
345
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A fantastic 10 day break ! Location, service , food and value just unbeatable, will definitely go back again. Great for families and mature couples. The management and staff all work hard to make your stay memorable. There are other flashier resorts but they lack the charm of the Mareblue Resort. The quality of the food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner was superb and all to easy to over indulge

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at the hotel for a week in may 2013, and we had the most amazing week ever. The hotel is really nice, the food is great and the staff is lovely and always smiling. If you are going to Corfu, this is the hotel to choose, really!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have travelled far and wide never have I woke to such a fantastic location.The dining experience was second to none top chef brilliant staff throughout nothing was too much trouble always helpful and polite.
Rooms could do with updating but were very clean.The resident rep Jason was marvellous very funny man who could deal with any problems
safe for kids and the elderly.The views in the hotel and beach area are astounding highly reccomended as a place to chill.

Room Tip: Beach front for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was very good and the reception and bar area is very bright and clean. However, on reaching our room we were very disappointed. Certainly this is no more than a 3* hotel. The room was clean but very basic. We were provided with a kettle but it was so full of limescale it was virtually unusable even after we cleaned it out, and the tea and coffee were never replaced. The food was good but very repetitive and towards the end of our stay it was so busy in the dining room that it was difficult to get a table without walking round to find one ourselves. Also there was a sign outside advising of a dress code but this was never adhered to. The management were not particularly helpful and one or two of them barely managed to speak. Both the bar in reception and the pool bar were understaffed so we always had to wait for drinks and they closed at 11 pm prompt every night, which was the earliest I have found on my many stays in various hotels. The nearby beach seemed to be in the process of being cleaned up and improved but currently is unusable. The hotel is so isolated that we went into Corfu Town one day and to Kassiopi another, but really because of its location a free shuttle bus should be provided to Kassiopi, We were fortunate that we had good weather during our stay but would have been very bored had it not been good. We did intend using the gym during our stay but it only consisted of two bikes and some weights! Certainly would not recommend this hotel nor would I return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Slightly nervous after reading some quite scathing reports about this hotel. our fears were totally
unfounded as the owners have now taken back control and have turned the hotel round . Our room was very clean, fresh towels every day ( sheets not changed daily ,but then who does this at home ? ) plus a very welcome fridge . We found all the staff very hard working, friendly, and polite. The food was excellent and we couldn't fault the variety and the breakfast really sets you up for the day. The scenery is stunning and even if you don't hire a car there are plenty of buses and excursions to get out and about to see more of this stunning island . There are sandy beaches to be found, try Kalamki it's a beautiful bay or San Stefonas well worth a visit. Kassiopi just along the coast (regular buses to here) has a very pretty harbour and some great places to eat , try the Old School (was the three brothers ) fabulous Greek food Having a choice of pools ,at least for adults, is so nice, if you want peace and quiet or fancy a bit more of a lively atmosphere it's up to you. If they advertise the Greek night, at the hotel, don't miss it, wonderful dancing and "plate smashing" All in all we came home feeling as though we really had had a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a brilliant week at the Mareblue Beach Resort. Hotel,staff,amenities,rooms,veiws all 10/10. What planet are the guests who write negative reviews living on????? Amazing time had by all in our party........WE'LL BE BACK : ) Oh and Jason the Rep.....11/10 : )

Room Tip: Most rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mareblue Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareblue Beach Resort

Address: Agios Spyridonas 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Spyridonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Spyridonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareblue Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mareblue Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Beach Hotel Agios Spyridonas
Hotel Escape Blue Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mareblue Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.