We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3*...I think not!! 1*....maybe if we're being generous!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ipsos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margarita Apartments
Save
You added Margarita Apartments to your Saves list
Kato Korakalia, Ipsos 490 83, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ipsos
Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3*...I think not!! 1*....maybe if we're being generous!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Let us break down this holiday so as not to ramble:

Room: Very basic cooking facilities...just a 2 ring electric hob. Beds are as hard as bricks (in fact lying on the beach would have been a better option were it not for mozzies!) Room looks dated but was clean on arrival.
We hired air conditioning for 6 Euros per day, which never managed to get the room below 23 degrees. We should have complained on the 1st night but to be fiar 23 is a nice sleeping temperature.

Cleaning: NON-EXISTANT!! We made a wine stain on the patio table on 1st night. It was still there on the last. We also had an ant infestation which we dealt with but the ant bodies were left there till we cleaned them up.

Staff: My partner summd them up with the statement 'they have smiles which don't reach their eyes'. Not very customer focussed at all. Every request got a 'oh why have you disturbed me' look. If they could charge for something they would. Felt like they wanted every last cent from us and then wanted us to get the hell out of there so they could bleed some other tourists dry. Barmaid (fiancee of owner's son) is quote a corse character and although we're not snobs, found her to be abrasive and two-faced.


Food and Drink: Nice. Small portions and a random pricing structure but on the whole ok. We didn't eat in the bar often due to the attitude of the barmaid but what we had was ok.
A full breakfast was only 5 euros which isn't bad but then just toast and jam was 2 euros....doesn't really add up!?! Although that was pretty similar thoughout the resort so not specific to the studios.

Environs: Resort is ok. Studios are about 1km down a relatively steep hill from the beach. I enjoyed this but am 29 and quite active. There are a good secection of bars there although no nightlife to report. All the restaurants seem to have the same menus so after a few places it's pretty much the same. There's a great Gyros place called the Yamas Grill House. 2 Euros for a sizable portion of homemade Gyros which is made from pork loins (spiced) in a pittal with chips, tomato and Tadziki. It's a meal in itself.
We had a great boat trip on the 'Captain Homer'. We paid 25 Euros each but was a full day out and included a BBQ and a number of stop offs.

All in all the resort was reasonable and the accommodation/service was appalling. Will not be going back to Greece in general for many years. Would rather pay more and get real quality farther afield.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    30
    9
    2
    9
See reviews for
16
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

good budget accomodation, friendly atmoshphere. lovely views of mountains and greenery but you must take mosquito repellent we killed 15 in our aptartment when we arrived and quickly went out and bought plug in repellent still i got bites so many times in the evenings,  not sure but i think this is due to so many fruit trees arround.
As the accomodation is basic there is no cleaner for the apartments however someone does empty the small bins in the apartment every couple of days. you must take your own towels as you are provided with one hand towel per person for the week, and you must take your own sheets as you are only allowed one set of sheets per bed for the week. apartments were clean on arrival although in the bedside drawer there was personal female hygiene  items from previous occupiers. 
apartments are situated in a quiet area its about 15 minutes downhill to ipsos town and beach. walking back uphill takes bit longer.
would i reccomend margarita apts to one of my friends no not really, would i stay at margarita again not really unless i couldnt afford anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

First time visitor to the Margarita apartments, we were sold by the excellent reviews from previous visitors..
The real charm of this place is the location, away from the resorts up on the hillside with breathtaking views and stunning gardens, it may be a long walk into Ipsos or Dasia but we did not find this an issue at all. Our studio was very comfortable and clean, the bar and restaurant was very friendly and Tracey and Demitris could not do enough for you, the prices were very reasonable and the food quality and menu selection is excellent.

There is a traditional Greek village two minutes walk from the complex where you will find a few taverna's and a small supermarket, from this village you can walk to Dasia (personally we would avoid Ipsos as it is very tired and the beach is too close to the main road) on the road to Dasia you will pass Vinieri Art Bistro, we can not recommend this place highly enough, the food is stunning and very reasonable priced (mixed meze is a must) and the couple who run it are very friendly and make you feel very welcome,

It is also worthwhile booking direct and getting Tracey to book a taxi collection from the airport, you will ultimately save time and expense.

Room Tip: Book direct and get a studio on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

If you want to lounge by the pool and smoke and drink beer then it's perfect for you. You can smoke in your room too. It's a bit far from the beach if you don't have a car or moped, but a little village five minutes away has some great restaurants. Mostly english people there, some dutch. Very friendly staff. Wifi in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Only stayed for one week and totally chilled out. Excellent service and food. Family hotel run by Dimitrias and Tracy along with Dimitrias's father Chris and mother Dora. Nothing was too much to ensure our stay and needs were seen to. 20 mins walk into Ipsos or a 5 min walk to a little village which had a supermarket a few restaurants and bars typically Greek. However the food and service at the hotel was superb. Don't go there expecting lively nights or raves because you will be disappointed, if you're looking for a quiet, well run, good food and clean hotel then The Margarita is spot on. Pool area is lovely the hotel set in lovely gardens on the hillside with great views. Rooms are basic but comfortable with fridge, 2 ringed hotplate, kettle and cutlery. Nice balcony overlooking the hillside.

Room Tip: Higher floor levels have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I think most people who stay here come for a week, we decided we wanted a long weekend that was a bit more relaxed than a normal city break though and this was great.
Rooms are perfectly fine and there's a nice looking pool. The whole place is set in very pretty gardens overlooking the hills, it's quiet and really relaxing.
The service is really good - very friendly - and the food is excellent.
Location wise it's about 30min drive from the airport and it's an easy 20 or so minute walk to the beach at either Dassia or Ipsos. Personally we preferred Dassia as it's off the road and the water looked cleaner.
You aren't in the thick of things here - that's why we picked it - but there's a village just behind the complex with some tavernas and shops. And on the subject of restaurants, go to Panorama, the view, service and food is fantastic - go to the village, turn left, walk past the taverna at the junction and keep walking another 10minutes on the road down to Dassia.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We've just enjoyed a wonderful 10 day stay at the Margarita again, this time for the last few days of the season. Very different from the last time we were there, but only because it was the end of October instead of mid August.

Despite the torrential rain and thunderstorms for the first 3 days and nights, the sun came out for the last week and it got quite hot in the daytime. The scenery was absolutely stunning, even more so then in August, with carpets of wild cyclamen growing everywhere. We had some lovely walks, exploring the little villages further inland, and of course, spending our evenings in Kato Korakiana.

Everything about Margarita was as good as we remembered (see my previous review) we even had the same room, which now had air con; not that we needed it, of course, although we could have done with a bit of heating as it got quite chilly in the evenings.

Here's to the next time! Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Apartments

Address: Kato Korakalia, Ipsos 490 83, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ipsos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ipsos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in a quiet area but only 900m from the beach, the hotel is surrounded by peaceful gardens and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Margarita Apartments Hotel Ipsos
Margarita Apartments Ipsos, Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.