We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corfu Holiday Palace

Save Saved
You added Corfu Holiday Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corfu Holiday Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nausicas Street, Kanoni Beach, Kanoni 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kanoni
Bolton, Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although there is no doubt that this Hotel does require some refurbishment to the bedrooms - (it was formerly a 5 star Hilton in the 1960's) - nevertheless it still offers great value for money and still retains the original stunning and remarkable location that the original Hilton offered when it was first opened. The rooms were roomy and the bathrooms were still fine with everything in good working order and plenty of hot water available whenever required.
Food wise, it was also good - the breakfasts were excellent and offered a really wide choice plus a feature cook each morning who produced freshly cooked eggs, pancakes etc. Dinner in the evenings was also quite sufficient - no problems at all in my opinion - the staff, on the whole, were cheerful and efficient, all of them were helpful. Plates etc were cleared pretty quickly throughout our stay. The Hotel reception area and lounges have been kept to a higher standard than the bedrooms - the room maids really were fast and extremely good at their job.

So, all in all, in my opinion, this is a very well run Hotel in an absolutely wonderful location. Sea view rooms are a MUST at the Hotel (not much more expensive) and they offer that superb view over Mouse Island - floors 5, 6 and 7 being the best. The Funicular lift that takes you effortlessly down to the beach area is great and once down there you can hire 2 sunbeds and an umbrella for 7 euros per day - the Hotel provides you with towels for the pool area and the beach area.
A beach bar serves drinks and snacks from around 10am until 6pm every day.

Watching the planes come in to land is fascinating and the runway proximity does not present any noise problem - there are 3 bars serving food overlooking the runway and right on the sea edge. There is a sushi bar and a Cocktail bar (formerly Starbucks Coffee House) Ma Cocette, that both overlook the sea and approaching aircraft, sited within the Hotel grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    215
    110
    46
    18
See reviews for
125
247
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to this hotel and very happy with everything.
Yes the hotel is slightly dated but the position and outlook are wonderful.
Since our last visit the hotel has added garden rooms with a lovely pool, great to see money being spent despite the economic issues within Greece.
The Manager Maria and her team run the hotel very well, we loved the banter with the waitress Lavinia throughout our stay.
Eating breakfast outside, laying by the pool enjoying great views, we will be back.
Clean rooms, nice food.
Thank you Maria, see you soon.
Duncan

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfuholidaypalace, Manager at Corfu Holiday Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear DEPC,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at corfu Holiday Palace Hotel.

We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable – memorable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to book again in order to personally take care of your accommodation and assist you with your reservation.

Yours sincerely,
Maria Ioannidou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked the CHP for a family holiday (including daughters aged 19 and 15) At the time of booking I paid to upgrade our accommodation to seaview rooms (after reading the advice on this site) and was so pleased I had. We had rooms 740 and 742 and it was a pleasure to wake up to such a stunning view. As previously mentioned, the room is dated but it was spacious, the beds were comfy (pillows unfortunately not so much so), sheets changed daily and towels changed when you chuck them in the bath (hanging them back up signals you are happy to keep them).

As our rooms also overlooked the pool it was quite disturbing (when getting up to answer the call of nature at around 6am) to have a quick peek down to the pool area to see towels on sunbeds already.. REALLY?? Around 10 beds in prime position taken by a group of Eastern Europeans who then frustratingly vacated before lunch and returned at around 5pm. This happened pretty much every day of the 9 days we were there. If the hotel is at full capacity there are not enough sunbeds to go round so if you do not join in the ridiculous early morning towel game you are going to miss out.

There's no improvement on the lift situation - one permanently out of action and two erratic in behaviour. We weren't overly bothered - walking down from the 7th floor wasn't an issue and we were never in that much of a hurry that we couldn't wait for a lift back up to the room.

We were happy with the food - even my picky teenagers found something to eat every night - but as has been previously mentioned it did get a tad repetitive. Everything was replenished regularly and the breakfast grill chef cooked eggs/pancakes/omelettes to order. The table clearing situation was worse at breakfast - finding one already laid was virtually impossible but you just need to catch the attention of the member of staff for that area and they will happily sort it.

Speaking of staff, we were all really impressed with the attitude and friendliness in every department. The room housekeeper always bid us a cheery 'good morning', the reception girls were helpful and efficient, the pool bar staff were chatty and smiley and the restaurant staff were polite and efficient to start with but by the end of our stay were joking and laughing with us (special mention for Andreas who was a total star and tried to teach us Greek!) I think staff attitude has a lot to do with how you treat THEM - a 'please', 'thank you' and a smile is common courtesy (something I witnessed sadly lacking in some of our European neighbours)

Evening entertainment in the bar is patchy to say the least - usually a man with a synth/keyboard murdering something by Lionel Richie. However, given half a chance the marvellous George behind the bar (ably assisted by the lovely Efi and Lena) will crank the disco up and get you up and dancing to eighties disco classics. He does a mean cocktail too!

Can recommend the car hire place at the bottom of the hill (take the paper part of your licence) It's easy to drive the beautiful coast road around the north of the island to Paleokastritsa (do the little 40 minute boat trip), the mini-market next door is good for essential drinks/snacks/bus tickets.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and loved Corfu and it's people. The hotel is not 5-star by UK standards but you will hopefully not have paid 5* money. Do consider the room upgrade - it really is worth it. We used one of the bungalows for a shower before we left for our evening flight and I was greatly underwhelmed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk u.k
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

just got home from staying at this hotel and definatley wouldnt go again:( some of my points seem petty, but go for a week and see for yourself? we had a sixth floor room with view of runway & lake, nice enough and room was plenty good enough (although, in the whole week we stayed, the bathroom floor wasnt cleaned once). first big issue is that the lifts hardly ever worked and when they did, you never knew how long it would take to get to your room! we were half board and whilst we couldnt complain about the food, finding a table that wasnt full of the previous guests plates,cups etc, was another matter! the resturant staff just seem to walk around doing lots of nothing, whilst the tables fill up and dont clear them? another real issue, was the bowling alley, we thought we'd have a game one night (theres a bar and about four full size lanes), but when you go down to the lower floor (thats where the bowling is) there is a terrible stench all around that area??? my wife was almost sick! i could go on and on really, but i'll end by saying that what this hotel really needs is hundreds of thousands spending on it, to make it what it is crying out to be! P.s, theres not much to do in kanoni, we got a scooter out for four days just to break the boredom!!! rob & norms, norfolk.

Room Tip: "higher the better"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As all the other reviews state, this is not a five star hotel – probably a three at best (it is quite dated in parts) but it was clean and comfortable (especially the beds) and good value for the price we paid. Don’t expect luxury when you are only paying a few hundred pounds!!!
The pool area, bar and restaurant are all good and the food was very nice with lots of variety. There is glass lift which takes you down to the beach and beach bar as the hotel is set on a cliff. The staff were friendly and all in all we had a lovely time. I only have minor things that I can moan about such as three euro’s for a can of coke round the pool!!! – I think that is a little excessive! We just drank beer instead which was cheaper. Also you had to pay for your sun beds on the beach – I think they were seven euro’s a day for two - not too much unless you want to spend everyday there then it soon mounts up. Also you can not check in until 2pm (unless you are really lucky) – this moan is directed more at Broadway Travel as we were not informed of this.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel – get your tickets from the little shop over the road - it is cheaper than getting your ticket on the bus, or you can walk but it takes over an hour. Corfu Town is lovely and a great place to explore.
As this was our first time to Corfu we hired a car and went round the top half of the island which was fab, a little bit scary at times because of the Greek roads but well worth it. Don’t miss Paleokastritsa and Kassiopi.

We also went to Paxos on a “Boat Trip” (it was more like a ferry and it took two and a half hours each way) (if you want to go I would just get a ferry across – probably half the price). 50% of the people were very sick – in my husbands words “It was like a war zone”. Paxos was so beautiful and worth the horrendous journey but beware if you get sea sick!!!!!!!!!!

All in all we really enjoyed our holiday there – yes the hotel needs updating but the location is good, the views are great and we even enjoyed watching the planes flying over.
I would return if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After reading other reviews we had no major expectations.

We were two couples, staying for a fortnight half board and had adjacent rooms on the 6th floor. We were given rooms overlooking the lake and runway. At first we would have preferred views over the sea, but we then realised for us we had the best side as the side to the sea also overlooked the sunbathers at the pool, we had the "excitement" of watching planes coming and going, and best of all, we had the sun over our balcony in the evening when we were at the hotel, while we were out and about during the day.

The room was generally clean and tidy, though in need of a revamp and updating. It was spacious enough with 2 single beds together, ample cupboards, bathroom with bath/shower, fridge and safe. We found it lacking coffee / tea facilities and after a few days we realised the fridge wasn't working. After mentioning this to reception for 3 days, we finally had a replacement.
Although it was clean, it wasn't spotless. For example the glass in the balcony door still had a love heart and initials on it and some dust here and there. The cleaner came every morning and made the bed and changed the towels.

As we were half board we had breakfast and evening dinner included in our holiday package. The food was presented buffet style, cooked and tasted well. Breakfast consisted of fruit salad (tinned, though you could ask for fresh fruit) with greek yoghurt, honey etc., a selection of cereals, fresh breads and croissants, cooked breakfast of sausages bacon, scrambled or fried eggs, beans and sliced fried potatoes, fresh omelettes or pancakes, hams and cheeses, and as much coffee or tea as you liked. This was a good selection though it was repeated daily.The evening dinner selection included a soup, salad, cold meats and cheeses, several types of grilled, casseroled or baked meats and fish, different vegetables, pastas etc., and a selection of sweets or ice cream and a bowl of fresh fruits. The meal choices varied every day, more or less repeating again on a weekly cycle. In the evenings though coffee and tea had to be paid for.
The staff were friendly, smiling and helpful, taking drink orders and clearing the tables. In particular we appreciated Andreas who although busy found time to chat and provided an insight into the island and places to visit, Roberto, Leonardo and Lavinia who made us laugh. This helped make our holiday more pleasurable. The staff were still smiling even though there were a few residents who would complain about anything, like not having 5 courses, though in reality there was enough choice to have 5 courses if you wished. One of our party with a gluten allergy was cooked bread and other foods specially for her by a friendly and helpful chef.

The hotel was in a pretty good setting overlooking the sea from one side, with it's own pool and a lift down to a "private" beach which was accessed by the locals. There is a bar/café by the pool and by the beach. Sun loungers and umbrellas are free by the pool, though as is usual you need to get you towel on them early to reserve them, while the ones by the beach are hired per day. This is an indoor pool and gym, bowling and games facilities like ping pong and snooker. As our intention was to use the hotel as a base and explore the island we never used the pool or the hotel facilities, apart from a couple of days by the beach.

There was evening singing and karaoke entertainment provided in the bar most nights, though we were happy, after being out and about all day to relax with a glass and a game of cards on our balcony in the last hour or two of sun. One night we were pleasantly entertained by some greek music and dancers while we were in the restaurant eating our dinner.

There are several tavernas, hire cars and mini market shops nearby and Kerkira (Corfu town) is only a couples of miles walk or you can catch the number 2 bus outside the hotel for just over a euro each way, buying your tickets in the mini market, with the option to explore the town or catch other buses to go to other parts of the island. We hired a car for a week to do this. We stocked up on beers and water etc. at the lidl in the town to save money

We were awoken one night at 2:30 by residents from a couple of rooms above partying on the balcony and moving chairs around. The next day we, and it turned out other residents complained to reception, however 2 nights later we were again awoken in the early hours by the same people. Although this was a nuisance it's not necessarily a reflection on the hotel, as the hotel can't be responsible for discourteous and thoughtless patrons.

The hotel need to sort out the lifts as out of three lifts only one worked regularly, one never worked at all, and the third worked some times, though if you rode it, it would stop at every floor before the one you wanted, even though no one had called it. Once when we in the working lift the lift stopped and the lights went out. A few seconds later they came back on again. Obviously with only one working lift and although the holiday season hadn't quite started, there was often a queue for it and sometimes it was quicker to use the stairs to go up down the 4 or 5 floors between or room and the lobby or restaurant.

All in all we had a lovely holiday, with no major complaints. The hotel is one of the first on island, and in it's day may have been splendid and 5 star rated, I believe it was once a Hilton, but now it needs a good overhaul and is no longer 5 star. As I said earlier, we had read the earlier reviews on here, so we weren't expecting 5 star. We were on a reasonably priced package deal and the hotel served as a good base for our holiday. We would happily go again.

Room Tip: Get a high level room and if you want evening sun go lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

as the hotel looks outdated and in need of some tlc. You feel the staff are a bit weary with it all. We were only there for 3 nights and everyday we requested that the curtains and air conditioning be fixed. This was never done and therefore left a bad impression. The lift to the beach was also out of order for 2 days. Not a problem for able bodied people to walk down but very much so if you can't. Breakfast was ok but having stayed at good 5 star hotels, it was definitely not up to that standard - no fresh fruit, all tinned and sloppy scrambled eggs. Lots of airplane noise on Friday and Saturday at the airport for the return journey was absolute pandemonium with no organisation whatsoever. Was told Wednesdays are better days for the airport as its a lot quieter then.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corfu Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Holiday Palace

Address: Nausicas Street, Kanoni Beach, Kanoni 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kanoni
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Kanoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Corfu Holiday Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first luxury hotels in Corfu, this hotel is the only one in the island with a direct view to the famous ‘Mouse Island’’ the trademark of Corfu Island. Set in magnificent landscaped gardens /45000 sq. m./ with an abundance of pine- eucalyptus and cypress trees, well maintains its prominent position amongst Corfu’s top hotels. The hotel is very close to Corfu town and also nearby the major archaeological sites offering the perfect base for those seeking to explore the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Corfu Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Hotel Kanoni
Aquis Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni
Corfu Holiday Palace Kanoni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corfu Holiday Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.