We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JulieS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokkinidis

Kokkinidis
Kalymnos, Massouri, Greece
698 016 8273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 restaurants in Massouri
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“JulieS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

One of the best restaurants in Massouri, beef stifado to die for!Very warm welcome and excellent service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    17
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kokkinidis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Friendly family run taverna. Great atmosphere. Good food. Treated like old friends every time we go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The oldest and the most traditional on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Im an Australian Greek traveling around greece..and I have come across kokkinidis tavern in massouri and I am blown away by the taste of their food which reminds me of my mothers cooking. You need to get in early cause it is full every nite..the staff were extremely polite and welcoming...especially dimitri and the owner rita...I will definitely be back again next year... Thanks guys for everything...xxx....tina (Aussie)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Massouri's best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Me and my friend spent a week in Massouri and after having tried a couple of not impressive restaurants there, we found the Kokkinidis Taberna. This is a very cute and typical Greek restaurant with amazing food, plenty of choice and great atmosphere. We returned there every evening, always founding amazing dishes and a very welcoming and warm staff. Rita the owner is a really lovely lady who tried to accommodate, with his son Dimitri, all our needs. Very recommended is the grilled fish dishes, we tried the tuna steak, the swordfish, the calamari stuffed with feta and orata....all delicious. If you are more a meat person you cannot miss the roasted lamb, unbelievably soft and succulent. They serve quite big portion for an excellent price/quality ratio. You don't have to worry much about the dessert which is kindly offered from them-their loukoumades are absolutely the best in the Island, once you try them you will never want any other dessert!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A very poor example of Greek cuisine.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Being Greek, we feel we are good judges of Greek cuisine. This restaurant did not do Greek cuisine justice at all. The feta saganaki with honey was burnt, my daughter's souvlaki was completely dried out, as was my son's kleftiko. My shrimp saganaki was probably the only item that did not disappoint, although serving both rice and potatoes with the main course was not really to my liking. The place seems to be popular with back packers. Would not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkinidis also viewed

 

Been to Kokkinidis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokkinidis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.