We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, great service, fair price, quiet at night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SunRise Suites

Save Saved
You added SunRise Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunRise Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalyves Apokoronou, Apokoronas, Crete 73101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalyves
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, great service, fair price, quiet at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

These two bedroom, two bath condos overlook the slat ponds at the east end of the island - away from the busy tourist areas. The suites are comfortable though not fancy. They come with a workable kitchenette that is fully equipped. There is a swimming pool that is attractive and comfortable to use. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have lots of discount coupons in the office and can direct you to a restaurant that is sure to please.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bothwell, Glasgow
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Sunrise Suites was a real find for us as we were looking for somewhere to use as a base whilst we built our own house nearby. We've been back to Sunrise Suites about five or six times this year, whenever we've been back to Crete - it really is a great place and has always been our preferred place to stay.
Best to fly into Chania rather than Heraklion but it's only about an hour and a half from Heraklion, assuming you're in your own car, and the Hotel is easy to find, although it's only 20 minutes from Chania I never once heard any plane or road noise and the hotel is very quiet. Worth having a trip to Chania as it's got some really interesting sights to see - my favourite is the Lighthouse, lovely to sit sipping a glass of wine at the restaurants there and watching the world go by......
Kalyves is a lovely town, there are some really nice restaurants within walking distance and a few bars, just the right tempo for us, not too busy and is still home to mostly Greek people so the town still has that Greek charm whilst having everything you need to enjoy your holiday - Magaluf it isn't - thank goodness. There's a lovely clean beach and a large supermarket just on the way into town where you'll be able to buy just about everything you need, even the essential wine and beer.
The Hotel is very clean, comfortable and well maintained and both Dimitris and Katerina have that great skill of make you feel very welcome and always seeming to be there when you need them whilst giving you your own space to enjoy your holiday.
The Hotel is situated about half way up a fairly steep road overlooking the town of Kalyves with breathtaking views over Souda Bay from the rooms which all have a sea-facing balcony or terrace - we loved sitting on the balcony before bed looking at the stars and watching the planes in the distance landing at Chania airport. We've always stayed in a Studio with separate bathroom and have had loads of space, all the rooms have a small cooking area with a fridge and a kettle can be provided if you ask Dimitris. My husband is always still working when we're in Crete and so internet access was essential and the connection was always good.
A superb continental breakfast can be provided, mostly lovely local bread, cold meat and cheese, loads of cereals and a mind boggling array of pastries and even (my personal favourite) chocolate cake! Katerina buzzes about making sure you've got everything you need and always has a friendly welcome and a smile on her face - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is served on a patio near the pool with fantastic views and is a great way to start your day
Whatever time of day or night you arrive Dimitris will be there with a warm welcome - there's great parking at the front of the Hotel, and it has it's own pool with a children's pool and little shaded pool bar for when it gets too hot. I've never seen the pool overcrowded and there's always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
I'm struggling a little to find anything negative to say, my husband thought the beds were a little hard (unfortunately that's normal in Crete) which I quite liked, if you're looking for a cooked breakfast or loads of fruit then you'll probably need to make it yourself - I'm not usually a big fan of Continental breakfasts but I think everyone would find something they like in the choice of food that Katerina provides in the mornings.....
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sunrise to anyone visiting Crete and whilst the Hotel is lovely and a great place to stay - it's the attention to detail and welcome and care that you get from Dimitris and Katerina that really makes this place special.
I'm almost sorry our house is nearly finished as we won't be staying at Sunrise any more but I'll certainly keep in touch with Dimitris and Katerina and will recommend Sunrise to anyone looking for somewhere to stay when visiting.
Thank Guys you really made our trips to Crete less stressful !!!!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms nearer the Reception area but all the rooms are great...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fabulous setting overlooking Kalyves and Souda Bay. This was our first visit to Crete and we had a warm and friendly welcome from Katerina on our arrival. Our room was an all-in-one kitchen/bedroom with separate bathroom and shower. We had a lovely big fridge/freezer but the kitchen area unfortunately was a bit thin on cooking utensils and equipment. We did ask for a kettle (we British need our cups of tea!) and the manager Dimitrius happily obliged. Overall it was extremely clean, the bed very comfortable and we had a sea view. There is a lovely big swimming pool which, at this time of year (Oct), we often had to ourselves, a children's pool and a bar area too. Lovely Katerina provided excellent service keeping us supplied with water while we sunbathed. She is a genuinely friendly and sociable lady, always smiling. As the other reviewers have said, Dimitrius is a terrific manager, nothing is too much trouble to make your stay at Sunrise Suites a memorable one. Although he is so friendly, he still remains professional at all times. He speaks good English and German too. Off road parking is available. We had a 5 minute walk into the village, down a steep path (we recommend taking a torch for the night time as it is quite dark). We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here and hope to come back again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Families with small children should avoid balconies. Ground level rooms have a patio area but it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just got back from our second visit to Kalives Sunrise Suites Crete, (this is the first time we have ever been back to the same place twice ) and we must say that it still has the same WOW factor as it did last year. There is more than one thing that makes this place so brilliant the first being the staff, Dmitri's the manager treats and greets everyone as a friend and nothing is too much trouble for him, his attention to detail makes for a perfect stay. Katarina puts a smile on everyone's face from the first thing in the morning with her greeting of Kalimera Kalimera to everyone she meets and her cheerfulness and happiness goes on all day. The cleaner Anglyena keeps the rooms and other areas immaculately clean. The Sunrise Suites themselves are situated to give you a fantastic view over the bay of Suda and Kalives, the rooms are spacious and light with air conditioning and a safe, there is a lovely clean pool that was checked everyday by the maintenance man and also a pool side bar. Will next year be our 3rd visit ? so tempted .

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view sorry no fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great position above the village with amazing views over the bay from our apartment and balcony. Very helpful and friendly staff especially Katerina and the manager Dimitris. Lovely large swimming pool. Short but steep walk down to village of Kalyves which was really nice, quiet, uncommercial with a small harbour and great beaches. Good position near to Chania and the main national road for exploring the west and central areas of the island. Only small suggestion, a little more equipment in the kitchenette in our apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice place, Friendly staff, spacious rooms, spectacular view from balcony, clean and big swiming pool. Thanks for Katarina and Dimitris for realy familly atmosfere. Kalyves as a village is also nice and quiet place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of SunRise suites and their staff. The suites are spacious, nicely done out and those facing the sea have stunning panoramic views of the whole bay. A short steep walk into town and the beach is only 5-10mins. We were well looked after by Katarina and the manager Dmitiris, both of whom could not have been more hospitable during our week stay and we would certainly look to return on a future holiday.

Mark (32) and Sam (27) from South London

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunRise Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunRise Suites

Address: Kalyves Apokoronou, Apokoronas, Crete 73101, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kalyves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SunRise Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your SunRise Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SunRise Suites Kalyves, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunRise Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.