We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panokosmos Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalyves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panokosmos Holidays
Save
You added Panokosmos Holidays to your Saves list
Xiliomoudou | Chania, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed with John and Yasmin at their rooftop apartment, which was a great experience especially to wake up and see the sun rise above the Crete mountains. Their house is really something special, brand new and luxurious accommodation with stunning views. Really a must for those who want to go off the beaten track and unwind but still close enough to everything else for a change of scene. John and Yasmin take every effort to make you feel at home and provided us with a great dinner and breakfast with fresh local and homemade ingredients and good wines. Although not for everybody we can only recommend this unique place and excellent hosts. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Recommend rooftop apartment for privacy, large terrace and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Lovely to have you Fred, and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The late Michael Winner would have been delighted to have taken his beloved Geraldine to such an idlllyc place where both of them could enjoy excellent food, comfortable surroundings and absolute luxury. 'Panokosmos' is a large, pleasant, light and open modern house beautifully constructed and outstandingly equipped with all the latest fitments. The wonder of the indoor splendour is enhanced by the beautiful, far reaching views spread over the country to the North and round to the South backed by the rise of the White Mountains to the West. There is an aura of tranquility around the area that positively encourages total peace and relaxation. And why not, Yasmin and John will look after you with special care and attention. There is certainly no need to go out for that special dinner, no establishment within Crete could produce food of such high quality and variety. For a change of scene the beaches especially to the East of Giorgioupoli (30 minutes away) are worth a visit. A few of the larger hotels have sunloungers, beach bars etc. The two hundred metres or so of track up to 'Panokosmos' may seem a little tricky the first time but thereafter they will not be a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
And we enjoyed looking after you so much, you were such appreciative guests. We are honoured that you rate our food so highly, we are currently trying out new recipes to make the most of the wonderful local produce. We hope we''ll see you again here soon, to test them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I live in Chania and wanted to get away for a couple of days to relax. We met John and Yasmin who told us about their villa and it sounded great... we didn't realize just how great it would be!
The villa is set in a beautiful village overlooking the amazing scenery of Crete. The accommodation was everything we could want. Very comfortable and beautiful. Nothing was missing. There is even a big pool overlooking a small gorge!
Our hosts were the lovely John and Yasmin. Two very colorful, warm and inviting people who make you feel relaxed by just being with them. We were so well taken care of that we plan on getting away to this little gem many more times!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy that you had a good time with us and we look forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templecombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We wanted a relaxing break away in pleasant surroundings and found this villa run by its owners John and Yasmin in NW Crete.

It has recently opened with a long list of desirable facilities which can only be described as amazing and well considered for the convenience of their guests. There is a large swimming pool with secluded terrace that would be perfect for enjoying the long lazy days of summer (we were there in early February so didn't use it). The property is quietly situated on top of a hill so it has stunning views all around and into the far distance. From the terraces we could see little villages and small churches dotted here and there amongst olive groves, the White Mountains nearby and Mount Ida in the distance which were snow-covered (they always are from winter through to early summer), and the sea.

We went there to unwind and J & Y provided us with whatever we wanted whenever we wanted it. They couldn't do enough to make our visit as comfortable as possible and were not around us all the time so that we felt we were intruding on them either. They gave us our own space when we wanted it and were there with interesting conversation at other times. The choice of meals they provided were varied, excellent and healthy.

The property is far enough away from the tourist areas to be restful but close enough to them to make for interesting days out. J & Y were more than happy to take us to visit them and pick us up later in the day, which is a service they wanted to provide, but we preferred to a hire car to give ourselves more flexibilty go wherever and whenever we wanted.

We were sorry to leave but we know we shall definitely have to go back there again.

Room Tip: Contact John or Yasmin and discuss what you would like. I am sure they will do their best for you. T...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we are very glad that you found it so relaxing. Thanks for describing the surroundings in such detail, which will help future guests understand what its like here. As you know, we love to make our guests feel looked after, and taking them to and collecting them from walks, we hoped might save them bothering to hire a car. It will be great to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Breathtaking views from this hilltop eyrie overlooking the mountains and coast of western Crete. John and Yasmin (the owners) made us very welcome and went to a great deal of trouble to make our visit pleasurable.

Room Tip: Get a view towards the coast.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Great that you enjoyed it, and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This must be the most romantic place in the world!

Perched high on a hill in the middle of nowhere with just fantastic views in all directions. The house itself has been lovingly rebuilt to the exacting specifications of its very demanding owners. The facilities are first class and brand new. The pool is big enough for real swimming, not just decoration.

John and Yasmin are enthusiastic, sensitive, extremely helpful and they eat a lot of fruit. They are also multi-lingual and unusual, but that adds to the charm. Both of them come from successful careers in big business and have stayed in any number of hotels around the world. They know the value of service and ambiance, and they certainly stopped at nothing to make me feel at home, while I was with them.

After such an experience I am proud to call them friends!

Room Tip: Study their website carefully. They describe all the options in the greatest of detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandYasmin, Owner at Panokosmos Holidays, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was great to have you with us, so pleased that you got so much out of it, and touched that you should consider us friends! Look forward to your next visit this year. And we will keep eating the fruit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panokosmos Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panokosmos Holidays

Address: Xiliomoudou | Chania, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kalyves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panokosmos - "on top of the world" in Greek - is an exclusive, luxurious, one of a kind bed & breakfast in Crete. Its unique location, with spectacular panoramic views of mountains, gorges and the sea offers an "away from it all" experience. You'll feel among friends as we look after you. For breakfast we'll create tasty offerings with home-made rolls, local orange blossom honey, sheeps milk yoghurt & handcrafted fresh ground coffee! We know the most interesting out of the way tavernas & restaurants. Refresh yourself with a swim in the huge private pool, laze out on loungers amongst the mountains or wander in the lush Mediterranean gardens. There are wonderful walks to experience peace and tranquillity in the bracing mountain air. We can take and collect you, and offer you a splendid packed lunch. We have a rooftop apartment with a kitchenette and two rooms, or a spacious bedroom suite with luxurious ensuite bathroom all equipped to the highest bed & breakfast standards. We are an unconventional couple in our 50-60s, who want to share our good fortune in finding this wonderful place. Why don't you come and experience the magic of our bed & breakfast for yourself? Because it is, after all, just such a special place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Panokosmos Holidays Kalyves, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panokosmos Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.