We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest:Veronika” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments to your Saves list
Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Apokoronas, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budapest:Veronika”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice, well-appointed apartment.Easily accessible.Easy to park the car. Helpful, kind owners. Comfortable. Perfect for relaxation. Excellent view. Supply to the area is good. I suggest everyone. I hope I can get back even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoKalyves, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our property. Our staff try their best to go above and beyond our guests expectations, and I am pleased that we have made your stay an enjoyable one.
We look forward to your next visit, and we want you to know that we value you as our guest!

Best Regards,
the owner & the staff of PORTO KALYVES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived really late at the rooms as our flight was delayed and the lovely owner Ioanna was there waiting for us with a smile! Once we saw the appartment we were astonished! They are not only rooms, they are fully equiped appartments taken care of the smallest detail! It is a new building, with tastefull decoration, a seperate bedroom on the back of the building so you can have some privacy and the living room with the kitchen has a seaview! The bed is equiped with cocomat, one of the most brilliant matresses! The owners are amazing! Very friendly, and there to assist you with anything you need! Locationwise Porto kalyves is amazing! It is 20 minutes away from the chania port amd airport and gives you the chance to explore the most beautiful part of this side of crete! I recommend it without any doubt! Well done to the owners! Μπράβο σας!

Room Tip: All the rooms have seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This one bedroom apartment is beautiful with small touches that make you feel as though the owners really care for their hotel. The beds are very, very comfortable and if you have back problems you needn't worry. All the reviews talk about the view and they are right. It does not matter what room you are in as they all have sea view. The place is clean and the owners are lovely. highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great Apartments near the beach! Excellent location,quiet with wonderful sea view from balcony. Very cleanand comfortable rooms and friendly and helpful people. Definitely the correct location to stay in Chania and Krete. A perfect place for holidays and relaxation. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

These apartments were great, nicely furnished, clean and well positioned for the beach, tavernas, shops and supermarket. All of which were only 10 minutes walk.

I enjoyed sitting on the balcony at the front and taking in the sea view and sunshine. Although positioned on the main road the apartments were quiet and the bedroom is at the back.

We had everything we needed with air con, shower, fridge, kettle, toaster and a small hob.

My only comment would be about the wi-fi. The apartments advertise free wi-fi access but we were unable to get a signal to connect. If you have a laptop then you are able to use a cable to access wired broadband, we couldn't do this with an ipad.

The food at the nearby tavernas was great as was the range of fruit and bread you could buy locally. I've written more about the food on my blog www.nibblypig.co.uk.

This was our first trip to Crete, we came back home relaxed and keen to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived early but this was no problem, shown to our apartment which is a cut above most places in Kalyves that we have stayed in. The bedrooms are at the back of the apartments so very quiet and with aircon inc very comfortable. The view from the balcony out over the bay it doesn't get any better,there was a starter pack of milk coffee bread butter & preserves, with the large INKA supermarket 5min walk away getting supplies no problem. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review to Tripadvisor.
We are very huppy to meet you again.

Best regards

Atsalakis George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

There has not been a word " invented " yet to describe Porto Kalyves Apartments, breathtaking in its views, friendly in its ambience, and as for the family Atsalakis, they couldn't have been more welcoming if they had tried! As these apartments had only opened this season, it was with a little bit of trepidation that Jill ( my friend, neighbour and travelling companion ) booked for this years girls only holiday. We needn't have worried. The apartment was clean , fresh, airy and light. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom pristine and the bedroom cosy. There were two balconies to our room, the rear one used for the washing line to hang wet bikinis and beach towels on, so that the front of the property didn't look like a block of flats. The front balcony overlooks Souda Bay, and the view is unrestricted for as far as you can see, with Almerida to the right, and Souda peninsula to the left. We were made to feel so welcome by George and his sister in law Maria, and nothing was too much trouble for them and their families to make our stay memorable. They advised us on the best place to go for car rental ( Auto Club ) and even got Maria's brother, a local taxi driver, to take us to the airport to come back to UK.

The village was small enough to be friendly and big enough to have all amenities, and long may it continue to be so. We are going back next year, and hope this review will prove useful to those of you who want a peaceful holiday but near to all things Cretan...food, beaches and friendly people.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view and ours was on the first ( top ) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments

Address: Apokoronas, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kalyves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Kalyves seaside apartments is an eco conscious traditional Cretan group of seaside rental 2unit apartments, absolutely brand-new, that combines the unique Cretan traditional architecture with the modern facilities. The beautiful grounds, the traditional Cretan furniture, the traditional glazed windows, the eco orthobodily mattresses and pillows certified by ISO, will give you dreamy sleep and relaxation in a breathtaking landscape overlooking the endless seductive sea. At a distance of 17km on the west of the city of Chania, 15km far from the airport and 8km far from the Souda port,10m lies the vast sandy beach,50m far from kiosk and 200m far from Super Market. All the rooms have balcony with sea view. There is a fully equipment mini-kitchen, which contains 2 hotplates, a fridge, absorber, kitchen equipment, coffee machine, toaster, boiler, plates, glasses, cutlery and more kitchen and cooking equipment, free wi-fi, satellite TV, air-condition, free parking, pet acceptable.Enjoy the combination of Cretan sandy beaches and Porto Kalyves comfort and it will be like living... like Gods!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Kalyves Seaside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.