We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beachside hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GK Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalyves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GK Beach Hotel
Apokoronas, Crete, Greece (Formerly Galazio-Kyma Villas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful beachside hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have spent 2 very relaxing weeks at this wonderful resort. We were welcomed at Chania airport by Ray and he quickly got our taxi. On arrival at GK Sarah was waiting for us and again quickly showed us to our apartment and gave us any information we required at that time. Our apartment 7M was very nice high up with lovely sea views. Poppy and Maria cleaned the apartment and replenished all toiletries as required. Breakfast was always good fruit yoghurt & cooked bacon etc. & Georgia or Tonia looked after us. The gardens are lovely with some gorgeous flowers and scented climbers, expertly tended by Aliki.
Car hire is a must if you want to travel around and Sarah sorted this out for us. The Botanical Park of Crete, Aptera , walking the Imbros Gorge, and driving the Topolia and Theriso Gorges were highlights of our days out. Not to be missed also is the quirky Koumos taverna, just 20 minutes walk from GK.
Harvey and Sarah have great knowledge of the area and were always pleased to share it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The week at GK Beach Hotel was the most relaxing and pleasurable I've ever spent. The location, accommodation and ambience cannot be faulted. Everything has been carefully designed to maximise one's enjoyment; the friendly, helpful and professional staff ensure that this is so from start to finish. I cannot recommend GK and Simpson Travel highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have views of the gardens and beach and the whole site is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We've just returned from a perfect week in this jewel of an hotel. It looks like the brochure/website (amazing)and it and us are well looked after from start to finish. The Simpson's team are so very efficient, helpful and friendly; the hotel staff the same. The gardens are delightful and the beach and sea the stuff of holiday dreams. So location, accommodation, staff all combine to make a perfect holiday experience.

Room Tip: don't think there's anything to choose - they all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cubert, Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Mind you, it does help when your bags are the first off the carousel, and the Simpson Travel "meet and greet" effortlessly whisks you to your waiting taxi! A short drive of about twenty five minutes brings you to the delightful location: turquoise seas, pale sands and a profusion of pretty coloured Oleander and Bourgainvillea and not a "high rise" in sight. Another friendly greet, help with our luggage and our room was just what we wanted: great sea-view, good linens, simply, but tastefully furnished with plenty of room for our luggage. Our breakfast was included: loved the Greek honey and local yoghurt and fruit, as well as variations on English breakfast every morning. We liked their light lunches too: delicious Greek salads when we couldn't be bothered to walk up the beach to one of the alternative tavernas. The once a week BBQ was also fun and we always enjoyed the friendliness of the Greek staff: Georgia & Halabbabus in particular who ran the poolside bar and restaurant. If you want to get away from mass market tourism, you don't want the fuss and expense of five star hotels, but you do want a certain level of taste the GK Beach Hotel could be for you. Would we return? Yes, definitely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The GK Beach Hotel did not disappoint. We travelled with our two children aged 6 and 9 during the half term week. We hadn't visited Crete previously, so didn't really know what to expect. On arrival at the airport we were promptly greeted by the Simpson Travel ground staff (David and Sarah), who were fantasic! The hire car was ready for us to collect straight away and so we were off the plane and at the hotel within an hour.
Due to there having only been a few short reviews of the hotel in recent months, we kept an open mind, but on arrival found a oasis of calm.
Our apartment was clean, fresh and modern. It had a fridge/freezer, small hob, sink and crockery etc, which was really useful. The Bar and restaurant provide a wonderful service (although the menu is very simple), the staff are great and the pool is spotless. The children's pool is teeny, but our kids still had fun splashing around in it.
The town of Kalyves is closes by. Our children enjoyed walking down the road to dinner in the evenings, although, if you have small children a buggy would be a must. It takes about 15 mins to walk from the hotel to the main town square.
All the restaurants we ate in were reasonably priced (40 - 50 euros for 4, with wine or beer)
The heat was managable during early June (27-34 degrees), but I'm told that it can get up to 40 degrees in July, so I wouldn't take my children there during this time.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at GK, and would consider returning next year.

Room Tip: Unless you decide to go exploring around the island, I don't think you really need a car as Simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

An elegant and relaxing hotel in the pretty and authentically cretan town of Kalives. The friendly and attentive staff made me most welcome; I loved the immaculate pool amid beautiful gardens right on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was my sixth time on the Island of Crete and my Fiance's first. I'd been both to the east and west sides of the island and this time, as we both really needed a break, we opted for the quieter west side. This is a Simpson Travel exclusive hotel and the guys at Simpson travel barely put a foot wrong. When I go on holiday I really just want it to be as stress free as possible and Simpson Travel do actually do their best to achieve this. I assume this starts with the speedy boarding deal they have with easy jet, we didn't know we had it but it seemed to be included in the price, this was one of the minor details that Simpson Travel omitted to tell us of which more later – not a massive problem but worth noting here in case you decide to go with them.
The rep was there to meet us at Heraklion airport as promised and the car rental pick up was painless and swift. I know the island quite well so I knew the general direction to the hotel, which was just as well as the directions we were given were last years and due to a new road being built in Kalyves, meant that we went the wrong way and got a bit lost - again no big drama but not an ideal start. The hotel was lovely. Clean, nicely decorated and positioned in amazing gardens right next to the beach. The pool area, with restaurant and bar were exceptional as were the hotel staff, especially Georgia, Tonia and Demitri the chef. We really felt among friends almost as soon as we arrived. We went very early in the season so the hotel was blissfully quiet and we found ourselves almost alone at breakfast - which was superb. As I mentioned, we hired a car (which was included in the price for May) which I really think you'll need as Kalyves is a small village and you will want to go further afield to Chania and Rethymnon. The Simpson reps were marvelous and unlike some holiday companies were always on site during the day and were always ready to help with trips, maps, books and anything you needed really. Not too much else to say apart from it was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a fantastic location, with really nice people and great weather.
There were a couple of other minor errors like Simpson Travel's directions to Chania airport on the way back when we were going to Heraklion - luckily I knew the way but some of our fellow travelers got very lost – and the scheduled power cut that the guests knew nothing about, in fairness it was thought that the generator would provide power but it didn't, and as I was in the shower at the time of being plunged into darkness, there could have been a nasty accident. On the whole though I put this down to misunderstandings and early season rustiness. One more thing, it did say there were iPhone docking stations in all accommodation - there wasn't in our suite (5M) but the WiFi signal was strong because we were directly above the rep's office. This can get noisy during the day as a result so I wouldn't choose this suite again.
The only other thing was we really could have done with a full length mirror, there was just one small one on the wall. I don't ever usually have the urge to return to a location but I think we will definately go back again - if not to GK then definately somewhere with Simpson Travel. A really nice place to relax.

Room Tip: Hire a car. 5M is above the rep office and can be noisy in the day. If you're going in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GK Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GK Beach Hotel

Address: Apokoronas, Crete, Greece (Formerly Galazio-Kyma Villas)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty lodging in Kalyves
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as the Galazio Kima Apartments, GK is now a small, intimate hotel and its friendly owners take great pleasure in ensuring that guests experience the very best of Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
GK Beach Hotel Kalyves, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GK Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added GK Beach Hotel to your Saves list