We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful peaceful oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosa Apartments
Save
You added Villa Rosa Apartments to your Saves list
Troulos 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Troulos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful peaceful oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Marcos and his family do make you very welcome here. The property is immaculately manicured by papa who does the gardening and the cleaner who is the hardest working person I have ever seen. The rooms,pool area and restaurant positively gleam. The rooms are basic but very adequate,the beds comfortable and the kitchenette just fine for preparing breakfast or a simple meal if you wanted to. However the food to be had both at villa rosa or any of the many tavernas is far too good to be getting your own. We didn't have a bad meal at all but special mention must go to Green Park ( bus stop 16) it has the ambience to match the food. Also Amfiliki in skiathos town which has a view to die for but you have to book and the food is a bit more costly,because of the view I suspect or even the chance of a Goldie Hawn/Kurt Russell sighting. Troulos beach is fab and a steady 15 minute walk away. The swimming is lovely there. The bus service from one end of the island to the other costs €2,bargain and runs every 20 mins. Just love this place. Xx

Room Tip: This is a small family run place and I don't think you would have a bad room in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just got back from a week at this excellent group of apartments. We stayed in room 11 which was spacious, comfortable,very clean and had a great view of the pool area. The shower sometimes took a while to warm up and is best in the morning, but it's certainly refreshing after a hot day on the beach. This really is a lovely place to stay and is run by a friendly family who help create a relaxing atmosphere, it was filled with other Brits while we were there and had a lovely community feel to the place. The villas have everything you could want for a self catering holiday (hob, mini oven, toaster, kettle, plates, bowls, cutlery, hairdryer, even hangers in the wardrobe), although basic, and the supermarket opposite the site is well stocked.The Taverna on site has a great menu and people seem to some from other resorts just to try the food which is excellent. The bus stop (number 18) is an easy few minutes walk and runs late for 2 euros per trip. Skiathos is a friendly, beautiful and safe place which my friend & I are already planning a return trip to. If you do visit, be sure to check out the jets landing and taking off from Skiathos airport ( a short walk from the main town) tremendous fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a delightful family; they treated us like old friends even though it was our first visit. The studio was a little basic, but it was light, airy and had everything we needed (fridge, hob, grill/oven) and was scrupulously clean although we found the beds a little firm. We didn't find any better food in our one week stay, but it must be confessed that we stopped looking around Tuesday because there was a very good choice and all of it was excellent and they even bake their own bread. Nice pool area, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed in room 5 which was adequate. Shower left a bit to be desired as often water took a while before running hot, maid service very good and pool area kept very clean. Excellent restaurant with plenty of choice and very reasonable. Good bus service to Skiathos Town and along the coast. There were no children staying whilst we were there, mostly older couples and never a problem with beds round the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed in room 9 which was a studio located close to the pool area. Larger room than expected and included items not mentioned in Thomson brochure and website, including small 2 ring electric stove and mini oven and a toaster. Wifi is also available at the poolside area and extends to the rooms (depending on how far away your room is). Well located for everything in Troulos and the bus stop to everywhere is only 5 mins away. Eat once at the restaurant and had mama's beef, excellent at only 8 euro. Kalivi taverna opposite is a must...mixed grill excellent value at 8e, steak at 9e and a litre of house wine at 6e. Christakis bar next door is good for all sports, soaps etc and Chris and Nicosia are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from one week at Villa Rosa apartments, I can say that they are what Greece holiday’s are all about set in a quite area and a short walk to the beach, The local bus service is very easy to use 2 euro any distance and the buses run every 20 min’s. The Taverna that is run by the same family that owns the apartments serves some of the best Greek food I have ever had. We are already looking to go back next year (something we have never done). 2 things that Tompson do not mention on their web site is the apartments have a hair dryer and free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having read all the reviews of the Villa Rosa I was optimistic about our choice of accommodation. I've stayed at different accommodation in Troulos 6 times before so I knew the area and the exact location. We chose it primarily because there were 3 of us travelling together, all adults and it offers 2 bedroom apparments as a room choice which we needed. I was really looking forward to it being relaxed and peaceful as my experence of Troulos always has been in the past.

Sadly that wasn't meant to be. Marco's son was at the appartments and was around the pool bar / pool itself all day from morning until night. I would say he was about 8 years old and seemed to need constant supervision and entertainment. He always seemed to be screaming at the top of his voice or even worse throwing a tantrum. The worst of which was when he was picking un-ripe lemons from one of the trees and actually throwing them at guests. I did find it difficult to relax around the pool under these circumstances so consequently spent a lot more time away from the apartments that I would probably have done.

There was also an accident during our stay - one very windy morning when I was at the local supermarket (20 meters away) the front door of the apartment blew open with a large gust which then blew the french doors in our bedroom shut, smashing the glass in one of the doors when it hit my partner's shoulder. Fortunately he wasn't injured. Marco was very understanding about what happened - it wasn't anyone's fault, it was just the wind. He said that the glass would be replaced that day which was day 3 of our holiday however it was never actually replaced througout the whole week we were there and was still left in the same state on the day we came home.

What made this worse was that when they came to clean up the mess which they insisted we didn't do, they just threw all the broken glass over the balcony into the grass below the appartments - we had to warn several people about it when we saw them walking near it when sat on our balcony. The other thing was that the glass that was remaining in the door was never removed - a dangerous shard, poking up about 9 inches was left the entire week. I know Greek Health & Safetly is very different to that of the UK, I actually embrase that, but this was quite bad.

Other than that the apparments were pretty much as I expected. Quite basic but very clean in typical Greek style. The bathroom was quite cramped, especially around the shower / toilet area and the shower curtain was horrendous, constantly sticking to you with no room to maneouver. As is typical with this type of accommodation in Greece hot water was also very limited and was depandant on it being a sunny day. If you were the last person of the 3 of us to have a shower, it was cold. The bedrooms were very large and more than adequate, the beds not as hard as I've experienced in Greece before which was good. The kitchenette was also quite large and was more than ample for our needs.

The food in the taverna was very good and both Marco and George were very friendly. The food was also very reasonable in price and the quality I would say was well above average.

Would I stay here again...probably under the same circumstances (3 adults) if the price was right but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Apartments

Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Apartments Hotel Troulos
Hotel Rosa Apartments
Villa Rosa Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.