We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morfo experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morfo II Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morfo II Apartments
Save
You added Morfo II Apartments to your Saves list
Troulos 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Troulos
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Morfo experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This was our third visit to the island, and Morfo has been the best accommodation yet, even as stated in other reviews, the hill to our apartment was quite a climb, especially during the hottest period of the day. Though there appeared to be an advantage to being up high, as we saw very few mossies. The view is also very nice up high. The only drawback to the apartments on the hill is the balcony which has no privacy whatsoever, and they are exposed to the late afternoon sun, making it almost unbearable to sit out on until the sun sets over the hills.
These apartments didn't have any a/c either, but usually the breeze was sufficent, coupled with the fans we took with us. They do have one fixed fan which you can purchase a card to power it up. They did though provide a safe deposit box, which was free, either that or they accidentally left the key in prior to our arrival.....I'll probably get a bill now in the post for 40 euros or something!!!
The apartment was cleaned every other day, with fresh towels and linen. Overall the apartment was very nice.
There isn't a busting lot to do in Troulos except chill out. There a few Taverna's none were particularly special, but equally none were bad. The Taverna's on the main road, seem to charge a little more than those tucked down the road towards the monastry, and to be fair the food isn't any better.
The beaches on the north are the best, especially Mandraki Elias, which because of it's size combines safe family beach fun at one end and full over tan at the other.
Make sure you make a visit to the dog shelter, take a dog for a walk, and leave a small (or large) cash donation to this worthy cause.
Whilst I never actually felt ripped off, definetly nothing is for free on Skiathos, and if you're taking Euro cheques regardless of the numeration ie 20, 50 or 100's you will be charged a flat fee of 2 euro a cheque. Do shop around, as there are price variations on groceries, and gifts, but no one supermarket is cheaper, there is just no uniformity on prices.
There is plenty of shopping to be had in Skiathos town, but be warned there are trinket stores a plenty....if I've seen one blue ceramic dolphin I've seen a million. Prices for food and drink in the Tavernas along the harbour, and the main shopping areas are somewhat inflated so be warned.
Crime appears to be non-existent on the island, but they all drive like twats, and I mean pretty much everybody, from the Greek 'Hey no problem' locals to the 'I haven't ridden a motorbike for over 20 years' tourist. Expect to see some moody overtakes, especially by the taxi drivers. Take care at night, as there is very little street lighting, cars and bikes come speeding along the poorly maintained roads, with scant regard to pedestrians, I'm convinced some must have been driving well over the drink drive limits. But surprisingly we've never personally seen an accident, and have spotted only a few car wrecks. Talking about transport, the bus is interesting, but fairly cheap. The bus is only full if they can't physically fit anyone else on.....hold on tight!!!
Finally, we've never been to an island before where so many people state they are on their 2nd, 3rd visit.....the highest we've heard was 10th consecutive visit, so it must have something going for it. We think it's a beautiful island, and we like it quiet, so it suits us.

  • Liked — Size and cleaniness
  • Disliked — The bloody climb up the hill
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Stayed at the Morfos Studios with Kosmar in 2005, lovely clean rooms and friendly staff. Troulos is only a small resort with a few shops and taverna's, but Skiathos is really geared up for the tourist industry. They have a fantastic bus service that runs from Skiathos Town to Koukounaries every 15mins. All the stops are numbered, so it's really easy. When you get the bus to Skiathos Town you can get off at stop 4 and walk down hill to the main harbour and when you wish to return you can get on the bus at bus stop 0 at the harbour, so no need to walk back up the hill. When we go to Greece, we like to go to a different place each time, however Skiathos is definately on my list of places to go back to.

  • Liked — Accessability of Island
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn garden city.england
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Just returned from the morfo apartments in skiathos general comments nice clean apartment’s excellent staff. Apartments cleaned 3 times a week, bins every day.
If you do get allocated the apartments up the hill, yes the walk up them can seem hard after you have walked all the way from the beach in the heat of the day. I would not recommend for people over 60, they should request the apartments on the lower part of the complex. Not much to do of a night, a number of Tavernier’s left and right of the apartments, all very much of a much food is above average. Skiathos town much more to do i.e. night life excellent Tavernier’s on the harbour front, plenty of shops for the ladies. Would I recommend morfo apartments yes. Will we go back yes but only for a weeks vacation not two weeks.

  • Liked — clean , agood base to go from
  • Disliked — long walk up the hill
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

Stayed for one week in June 2007 basic rooms but clean,nice well kept gardens,lovely pool but very difficult to get a sun bed as very busy,on site restaurant adequate but much better to be had at some very good restaurants close by.

Some rooms are up a very steep hill and not for the faint hearted.

Location is good near to bus stops,supermarkets,restaurants and only ten min walk from beach but you are still surounded by countryside.

We found that Troulos beach was great and that it was a waste of time to travel every day to a different one as our friends did but Banana beach is a must.

In general Skiathos is great for beaches and restaurants and is a great place for young familys and couples.

  • Liked — Gardens and location
  • Disliked — Busy Pool area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Just come back last Friday (18th Aug 06). Really enjoyed it here. Apartments were lovely and clean although very basic but at the end of the day, all you want is nice & clean & comfortable. Paid for air conditioning as it was sweltering - this was €6 per night but well worth it.

Pool was lovely & clean - which my son spent nearly everyday in. The only nag I have is that all the sunbeds have towels placed on them by 8.00am in the morning. The annoying thing was that the towels owners did not surface until around 1pm so it's frustrating when you want to go to the pool in the morning to splash about with no where to sit.

Restaurant & bar food was good and not very expensive. Staff were very accomodating, they will cook something for you even if it's not on the menu.

All in all very good. Would recommend this to people who just want to laze around and have a relaxing break.

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — Not much evening entertainment
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

Stayed at Morfo 2 July 2006. Overall a clean basic apartment good value for money. I make the following comments:

@ pool nice but around 8ft at deep end. GReat for adults maybe not so good for small children.

@ Cleaning staff will each day just walk inot your room around 10am as you are getting changed. they knock after they are in your room!! The doors do not have bolts and no dont distubr signs so BEWARE!

@ We stayed on ground floor and cleaners left our large bathroom window open evryday. Greece is a very safe country but it would not be very nice to have someone climb through your window and also it lets misquitos in!!

@ Once in your room cleaners take the bin and do not replace it! also they will strip the bed almost everyday and leave you with sheets to make it yourself (which is annoying if you have made it in the morning!)

@ CLose to beach

@ rooms on groundfloor get very HOT i is worth paying for aircon (around 8 euos a day)

Overall cheap good value for money and clean :)

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Morfo 2 apartments in Troulos Skiathos. What a surprise, first choice only rated it as 2 star, but it is much better. Lovely well epuipted apartments, nice pool , restuarant and bar in a great location. Great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morfo II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morfo II Apartments

Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Morfo Ii Apartments Hotel Troulos
Morfo Ii Apartments Troulos
Morfo II Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morfo II Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.