We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REAL 5 STAR HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso

Save Saved
You added Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kastro P.O. Box 14, Kylini 27050, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Kylini
Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“REAL 5 STAR HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for second time but its the first time that I write for this. It is a complex of hotels, two 5 star hotels, one 4 star hotel and one 3 star hotel. I stayed in the 3 star hotel named Ilia Palms. This hotel has big rooms, comfortable even for 4 persons as my family is. The dining room, the bar, the pool , the restaurant, the asian restaurant and the beach are shared with the 4 star hotel ,Oasis (probably its for tax reason not a 5 star hotel). The food was excellent and it can satisfy all the kind of taste. Enormous buffet is waiting to satisfy you! The pools are great because it has a big pool for little kids(0,4m depth), one big for kids and adults along with water slide and a very big with super view to the sea and the island of Zakynthos. The sandy beach is very nice for kids. The service was very good in all parts. All these were just the 4 star hotels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at Ilia Palms hotel if you want a cheap all inclusive room, because you will use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    34
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel features an amazing 2 km golden sand beach and surrounded by lush vegetation. The rooms are tasteful and clean. The pools are clean and huge. The views are stunning and the scenery gorgeous. The buffets have a great variety of Greek and international dishes. The spa is very good and the area is famous among the Greeks for the thermal spas since ancient times. All the above helped us have a great, relaxing and fun time, but what was exceptional, was the kindness, sweetness and the smiles of the staff. Everyone there, went a long way to accommodate our every need, always with a smile. Greek hospitality at its best. Definitely try fresh fish at the gourmet restaurant and sushi at the Asian restaurant. In both restaurants, the views are breathtaking. Oh, and this is really something worth noting. Every room, restaurant or anything else in the property has sea view. Just a close drive from the hotel, you can visit ancient Olympia - the birthplace of the Olympic games. Highly recommended for a happy, relaxing holiday in the wonderful and -mostly calm- Ionian sea and the -not much discovered- western Peloponnese.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the main building are more quiet. The ones close to the main building are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

To start off I have to say that I did not stay at the hotel but that I just visited for day (not allowed normally) to see some friends that did stay.
Likes:
Nice Location
Beautiful Beach
Nice views
Nice food (did not eat just saw)
New Facilities
Dislikes:
In essence 3 Hotels 1x5star, 1x4star and 1x3star (the 3 star is a 5 min walk from the two main hotels - this is not advertised - you can tell if you have been given a room there by the price you book as it cheaper...e.g -100 euros/day)
The grounds are large and kids can easily get lost.
Too many levels in the Hotel...to get to the rooms from the beach you go through at least 6 levels, each level with it's set of stairs
A room full of coin operated electronic games - my kids did not want to leave this room to go to the beach...
No greenery in the main Hotel, (just palm trees), only in the grounds behind it.
We decided not to stay, but our friends liked it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World-wide Traveller
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Likes:
- Beautiful entrance and lobby, immaculate staff dressed in classy suits, giving the illusion that you enter a super luxury hotel on Barbados.
- The breakfast: I usually do not like the hotel breakfast buffets, but this hotel is highly generous with quantity, variety and quality. There is also an ample terrace so that everyone can eat outdoor, in the shade or in the sun.
- Friendly staff at breakfast and on the beach.
- The large and clean beach, the shallow and safe sea.
- The view from the large room balcony towards the sea.
Dislikes:
- For a 5 stars, we found the room quite simple and the renovation of the bathtub reflects very poor workmanship.
- You have to pay EURO 50 (being a couple, we were offered a generously discounted rate of 2 x Euro 35) in order to use the indoor swimming pool at the spa… I declined and therefore cannot confirm whether, for that price, the pool flooring is made of gold.
- If you rent a villa, then you can sit under the tents which occupy most of the beach…. As for us, the poor non-VIP guests who stay in the democratic rooms, must squeeze together on a high density of simple beach beds.
- There is no staff to enforce the rules: the upper pool is supposed to be a quiet pool for couples, but families are not afraid to settle there with all their children and play with waterguns… guests are not supposed to leave their towels on the chairs early morning, but they all do so. So, forget the glamour of their brochures, of being pampered into your pool chair: you will quickly realize that you have to fight for your place on the pool or beach, like in a cheap all inclusive.
- Free internet is available only in the lobby is totally slow and useless.
- The TV sets were made 30 years ago, there is no good Pay TV system.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I go there the last eight years and stay at the all inclusive grecotel oasis!!!it is an excellent hotel and the food is just great with wide variety!the price is good, especially during june!visit it!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We’ve been using facilities of this hotel during our all-inclusive stay in Mandola rosa resort. We ordered our stay in Thalaso hotel, but it was full and we’ve got upgrade to Mandola rosa with using all inclusive packet in Thalaso.
Location - in the middle of nowhere – no chance for walk to local village or some shopping outside the resort. Minimarket in hotel, very small, just basic products for extra prices (sun cream – 25 Euro, bottle of table wine starting 6 Euro).
Room – we couldn't comment this on our experience as we stayed in Mandola rosa. Anyway one common issue we have heard was with limited sea view from rooms @ ground floor.
Travelers – We were choosing between Oasis and Thalaso resort and we decided for Thalaso based on reviews that this hotel should be quite with very limited number of child. We spent also 2 nights in Oasis and we can compare – Oasis 95% families with children, Thalaso – 80%. So from this point, not very big difference. Majority of travelers Russians.
Pools – highlight of the resort. Very spacious, clean, luxurious. Main pool was very busy with limited number of sunbeds. But you can stay by others which were mostly empty.
Beach – very nice, maintained, clean, flat access to sea, shallow and clean water. Sometime crowded but no real issue with number of sunbeds. Blue flag beach.
Food – we had a mix of feelings there. Of course because of the number of child was far away from quite romantic dinners by sun-set. Service was trying to do the best, they were trying to keep high standard. Quality of the food was from perfect – when serving capriccio - to zero – when you got tasteless pasta. Variety was very limited and strange was that during Greek’s night was the choice the best but not from Greek’s meals. Overall experience was better in Oasis hotel. Don't forget that in your Premium plus is one dinner a-la carte restaurant. That’s really different experience from every point.
Drinks @ bars – you should check what is free and what not. I really see strange when all inclusive guests are asked to pay extra for some drinks or ice creams, but it’s strategy of the hotel. Don't even think to travel to this resort without Premium plus packet, while single cocktail costs about 10 Euro. Prices in bars are 5*. Also it was quite strange that all resort had only one bar open during the day or evening. It was quite a challenge for stuff to serve everybody. During rush hours you have some delays, but if you imagine how many people they have to serve, it’s logical.
Thalaso SPA – in catalog there was written that Thalaso has inner pool. This pool should be available for use by guests. We were in this pool when we’ve got our compensation voucher (2x50 Euro). When we checked the conditions for accessing the facility, this is only way to get there. When you want to use that pool, you need to pay entrance fee and then you’ll get personal guidance to the attractions. It’s very strange when you’re alone in the pool and you’re telling somebody, please start this … then this etc. We will never pay 100 Euro for such an experience. Anyway, area of the pool, outside pools in Greek’s style, all buildings are very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and let it confirmed when you want real sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in oasis that is all inclusive. The hotel is in a marvelous area with a fantastic seaside with golden sand. The room was luxurious and big. The only disadvantage was that the bed was not a double one but 2 single beds put together. There is central airconditioning system. Breakfast was very good. I would strongly suggest this hotel as perfect value for money

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso

Address: Kastro P.O. Box 14, Kylini 27050, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Kylini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kylini
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kylini
#1 Family Hotel in Kylini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Olympia Riviera Resort Thalasso Hotel Kylini
Grecotel Olympia Riviera Kylini
Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso Greece/Kylini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.