We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC MEAL!...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punchbowl and Ladle

Punchbowl and Ladle
Penelewey, Feock TR3 6QY, England
+44 1872 862237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Feock
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A pretty, thatched traditional pub and restaurant, the Punchbowl and Ladle has masses of character both inside and out. Parts of the building date back to the 15th century and during the 17th century it was a hostelry for travellers and mariners crossing the river Fal on the King Harry Ferry. Legend has it that part of the building was employed as a customs house, and the original fireplace in the bar was used to destroy confiscated contraband! Today, Graham & Jacqui Hill and their team welcome you warmly into the pub that has two bars, a large dining area and plenty of cosy nooks and corners for people to sit in comfort.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC MEAL!...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I travelled down from Plymouth to the Punch Bowl and Ladel to celebrate my dads birthday. The food here was delicious my dad and I had the homemade burger with extra cheese and bacon.The meal comes with a selection of sides including homemade chips, side salad, onion rings, coleslaw and three different flavoured dips. The homemade onion rings were awsome, and a great a complement to the meal. One of my sisters had the steak which was also superb while my other sister had a selection of side dishes as one main. I had the choc sundae for desert which was very nice although I would have preferred a choc fudge cake or choc brownie,, infact any type of choc cake but none was on the menu which was a shame. The service here was first class, the waitress was very attentive and polite. I would definitely come here again, and will definitely be recommending this place to freinds.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    50
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great food but over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yes I would recommend the place as the food and service are great.

My only gripe is that the food is quite simpy over priced. The pub will claim to be serving quality/rosette grade food (which I would question) therefore priced reasonably.

Truth is they are basically catering for the Mylor/Restronguet/Yacht owning/London second home type so they can charge whatever they wish

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Refreshingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Three of us visited on a Sunday lunchtime when the car park was full but staff soon found a quiet table with menus and our drinks following quickly on.

Staff were attentive, friendly, efficient and had tried various dishes on the menu and so were able to offer what turned out to be accurate advice.

The food that followed - not suspiciously quickly or painfully slowly - was freshly prepared, freshly cooked, of very ample proportion and well above standard pub fare: it had obviously had some thought put into it. My chicken curry, for instance, was not like any chicken curry that I had seen before and it would not win any culinary award bit it was well seasoned, tasty, had lots of chicken in it and was nicely filling. Fortunately I just had sufficient room for a crumble that was full of fruit - with real custard - and that had not been microwaved.

I am surprised to read that others have been disappointed by the Punchbowl - we ate there last year and had found it to be good food and value.
A very pleasant meal in warm and very pleasant surroundings with very pleasant staff and certainly - for us - good value. Nice beer too. A great shame that there are not more pubs up to this standard.

Five stars is a bit generous but, overall. probably fairer than 4.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Punchbowl and Ladle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments which we will pass onto our team. All feedback is important to us and your comments help us greatly to assess what we do. In the hospitality industry it is hard to meet everyones expectations although our team will always try to do so. We are very much a pub that serves locally sourced, fairly priced food in a comfortable atmosphere - we are glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, a very cosy place to have a drink, top notch service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I ended up in the Punchbowl by a recommendation from a ferry driver and it was worth it. Excellent service, they were very welcoming and attentive. It has a really great family atmosphere and the food doesn't disappoint. The portion sizes were generous and everything you could want was already on the plate, no sneaky extra costs. I would recommend the charcuterie board sharer and the beef burger which was incredibly tasty and wholesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visited this pub this evening for a family meal. It's the first time in many years that we have visited this place and we won't be returning in a hurry. Firstly the "tempters" of potato skin crisps with sun dried tomatoes certainly weren't very tempting, with the tomatoes being very poor quality. Secondly two main courses of Beef Lasagne were lukewarm and had to be returned for reheating also the Chicken curry was not very tasty, mediocre at best. Thirdly, two coffees at the end of the meal were again lukewarm and not pleasant, finally both the ladies and gents toilets smelt of stale urine with the gents having urine covering part of the floor, therefore being walked back through the restaurant! All in all not a good way to spend hard earnt money! Can't complain about the desserts but not much can go wrong with icecream and sticky toffee pudding! It's a shame as the pub is very relaxing and comfortable but we won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Punchbowl and Ladle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your first review on trip advisor. All feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve what we do.
Please accept our apologies given on the night of your visit for the errors we made - we hope the speed with which we resolved the not quite hot enough went some way to putting things right. Obviously we aim not to make mistakes but letting us know at the time as you did gives us the opportunity to resolve things while you were there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punchbowl and Ladle also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Perranarworthal, Truro
 

Been to Punchbowl and Ladle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punchbowl and Ladle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.