We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alykanas Village Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykanas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alykanas Village Hotel
Save
You added Alykanas Village Hotel to your Saves list
Alikanas, Alykanas, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed at the Alykanas village hotel for a week and we had an amazing time. It was the first time we travelled as a family with our baby son aged 8 months old, we were a bit worried but it went better than we could have expected.
The hotel staff and thomson staffs were great. The hotel is beautiful with a few big pools and seafront setting, we were very lucky as we got a seaview room and is close to restaurants and shops. Alykanas is a nice and quiet resort.
Our son particularly enjoyed the babyzone, the soft play area and thomson the dog.
We went on 2 excursions while we were there: we really enjoyed the shipwreck trip with beautiful views and interesting guide ; we also went on the turtle cruise which we found boring, there was not much to see and 7 hours on a noisy boat is a very long time, we did not see any turtles.
We hired a car for the day which was great as we had the time to drive round the island and go to the blue caves by boat (another nice trip).
All in all a very enjoyable holiday, a special thank you to all the thomson reps.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    226
    98
    21
    14
See reviews for
471
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

Stayed here for a week on Sept 8th with husband and 3 year old son. My son loved the kids pool. The hotel is right on the beach and the water is very shallow and ideal for kids.

The hotel is clean and rooms adequate. Unfortunately our room, 312 I think it was, was over the middle pool and could be noisy in the day if you happened to be in your room as the reps were talking on the mic or music playing. But was not going on for too long though but it is a family fun place after all.

Our son went in the creche 3 times (went in the younger one as still in nappies but loved every minute) with the Thomson reps and loved it. (15 euros each session) He went 3.30 to 5.30 twice and 6.30 - 9.30 twice. So thank you Bubbly Becky, Zippy Zara and Super Sarah! Our son did painting and made a penguin outfit and all his paintings etc went in a folder to take home.

Must go on the Trainaki and also go again in for evening trip to Spiros'restaurant, great food, great fun and great hospitality.
There are plenty of restaurants to go to and most family friendly with play areas.

Went for breakfast at The Cosy Corner nearly everyday (where the horse and carts usually are in the evenings) near the hotel and Dilemma Bar for cocktails in the evening - Sky sports tv there as well!

Tip, if you have very young children who need feeding early, our son loved his spag bol in the Cosy Corner. So he ate here about 5 - 6pm ish and when we went out for our dinner, we chose a restaurant with enclosed play area and could see him play whilst we ate in relatative peace without having to worry about him eating and sitting still. Just got him a drink and ice cream!

Would deifinately go back again.

  • Liked — Family friendly and location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Stayed at the Alykanas Village in October for one week as the family wanted a week just to chill out. The hotel was well situated right on the beach, close to the shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms were cosy and clean although the beds were a little bit hard. We werent happy with the view from our room and requested another room with a view and there was no problem. The staff were very accommodating and allocated us a room without any trouble. The kids club was fun and the kids were well entertained, with daily activities around the pool for which prizes were given.

The weather is good this time of year but very chilly in the evenings. This resort is great for a chill out but in the summer more bars and restaurants would be open and I think this would be a great venue for all ages. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Liked — The football pitch and the kids clubs
  • Disliked — Lack of proper restaurant in the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Our stay was at the end of the season so it wasn't too busy but it also meant that there weren't many restaurants open so it was tough trying to figure out where to eat. Food was catered towards tourist purses so a dinner for 3 would set you back between Eu50 - 70 in total and many items were no longer available and to be honest, didn't taste that authentic to me. But if you like your English food then you'll have no problem finding it to eat.

The hotel was clean, spacious and friendly. I didn't attend any of the family events or evening entertainment so I cannot comment on them. My expectations weren't high in terms of what to expect because this is a Greek Island we're talking about with limited resources. Anything broken had been patched in the most creative way but at least it had been fixed. Cleaners came in everyday and washed floors, cleaned bathrooms and made beds. One tip, don't leave your towels or costume out to dry over night - the island has a high humidity point at night and you'll find them wetter than when you put them there! For a deposit of Eu5 you can hire towels for the pool which by the way, closes at 6pm each day (along with the small restaurant onsite).

We hired the car through Thompson's deal with Eurocar for 3 days and explored the island - every inch of it. If you can't stand the loud music in the resort along with the reps blaring out quizes every couple of hours (it was so loud we'd have to close the balacony doors just so we could speak to each other!) then heading out is a great option. We loved St Nicholas beach down south of Argassi. Great stop there for lunch in Argassi called Ruby's where you can eat lunch for Eu3.00 each. The beach has sunbeds to hire for Eu4 each and the sea is shallow for the kids to play in. Loads of watersports to try out too. The sun shone here all day long (at the hotel it was behind the mountain just after 6pm). You also escaped the wind and any orographic rain that the north seemed to suffer from.

One highlight was the Stone Park which was a natural animal park. Very interactive and well worth the trip and Eu7.50/adult. There were deer, potbelly pigs, racoons, 600yr old stone wells, tourtoises, etc. and there's a guide in the park who goes around with you at stages to make sure the animals come out to greet you which was nice:-)

We also did the Shipwreck Cove tour through Thompson. The bus trip was death defying with those sheer drops on the roadside and the boat ride was beautiful. They get there before all the other tours so you get the beach to yourself for a hour which was nice. Only suggestion would be to take your own lunch and not to buy it at the place they stopped. Our Pepsi had an expiry of August on the tin and the food was reheated and dry. Complete waste of money. Only thing worth mentioning was the Olive tree that was more than 2000 yrs old, growing next to the restaurant.

Overall we had a good time. Loads of warm sunshine still, nice and quiet and a good base to explore from. Not sure we'd go back to the same hotel if we went again - we'd probably stay south of the island where the beach and weather is nicer and you don't get tourist prices. And I don't have to suffer ABBA on loudspeaker right outside my room!

  • Liked — Large. clean rooms
  • Disliked — Loud music around the pool all day
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belek, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had a great time at the Alykakans Village, the Kids Reps and Kidzone was ideal for our little 4 year old! She had a great time, so much so, you couldn't eat a meal in peace without having to rush back to see Thomson the Dog!!! Rooms were clean and regularly cleaned.

The only gripe we had was the turtle island tour - we were told a kids rep would be on board and they weren't! Say you can get off for a swim - practically impossible with a 4 year old!!! When you doc for a meal - have to cross a floating pontoon right next to a water sports centre, which the reps don't tell you about. Great difficulty getting across, at least if your told you can decide whether or not to go! Don't bother complaining to Thomson, bloody waste of time, they've had your money, not interested!

  • Liked — Pool side activities and Thomson the Dog!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

What can you say, if anybody finds any faults with the location, the staff, the food, the pools, the bars and yes even the thomsons reps, they can only be moaning for the sake of moaning. Gloria you run the best hotel on the island we will be back next year. Everyone you talk too just falls in love with the place. If you want paradise just go to the Alykanas Village and you will get it.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

just returned from ten brilliant days of sun , fun and relaxation.
we had a two bed apartment that needed a bit of rearranging (very dark unless in the bedrooms), but very clean.
we had a five year old with us who went to the kids clubs in the afternoon and had a great time.

all the thompson staff are fantastic and the hotel staff are also very friendly and helpful.

the shop is reasonably priced and also very friendly (toys for the beach are over priced and can be found cheaper else where).

the staff at the pool bar bar could do with cheering up a bit and the lady ( who also does the bar down stairs in the evening) could do with a personality transplant.

all in all we had a fantastic time in a safe and clean enviroment.

instead of paying for all the different boat trips yo can do we hired a small speed boat for the day and covered everything for a lot less money. it was grrrrrrrrrreat.
we also went to the mill for a greek night and had a brill night, would definitly recommend it.

  • Liked — the pools and closeness of everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Address: Alikanas, Alykanas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 161
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village Hotel Zakynthos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alykanas Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.