We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“motorbike race track!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Horse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molyvos 81108, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Molyvos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“motorbike race track!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have Just returned from A 2 week holiday at the sea Horse Hotel in Molivos. Having read all the reviews we were excited about our stay in the sea Horse and were sure that the reviews about the side rooms not existing were correct, however they are not, despite booking in January and assured by Thomas Cook that we would have A sea front room we were shown to a side room on the side of the hotel, Demitri was very rude and dismissive an attitude he maintained through our stay. We were also asked to pay £5 per night for the use of the air conditioning, which we refused. The noise in the (hot and sticky) side room was unbearable from the loud music played until 4AM then the bikes racing along the ally was impossible to sleep through. Breakfast was monotonous rotation of stale bread and cakes and on one morning I requested an upgrade to English breakfast (on the sea horse menu at one euro more than continental@ £5.50) Demitri charged me full price on top and served 2 eggs a slice of fat (supposed bacon)and a spoonful of cold beans. Typical of the sea horse attitude of "how much money can we charge them? The Sea Horse spoiled what (despite them) was A great stay on A fantastic Island We will return to Lesvos but never again in the Sea Horse

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just spent 3 days at the Seahorse. Beautiful views from balcony, fabulous food and ambience, right on the fishing port. The price for this location and experience would be difficult to get else where. Stella and Demitrios were fantastic hosts and were very attentive to all our needs
This place comes highly recommended
Lores and Robert Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kersoe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from our first holiday in Lesvos and had the most amazing time, we are already planning our next trip! The Seahorse hotel is the most friendly, excellent value, beautiful place I have ever stayed. The view from our balcony was beautiful, the atmosphere divine and the location just perfect. We didn't have any problems with noise, when the bedroom doors were closed they seemed to shut out everything. Dimitri and Stella are the friendliest hosts, the food in the hotel is excellent (we had two evening meals there) and the staff were excellent. We had such a wonderful and romantic time I can't enthuse enough!

We will definitely be returning here... as soon as we can!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A beautiful hotel in a wonderful location.The owners and staff are freindly and accomodating.the rooms are well appointed and spotelssly clean.Dining is underrated as the kitchen produces local cuisine as good as any in the village.
However, there is a drawback. The owners of the nearby Gallery Bar insist on playing loud music until 6.30am several nights a week. This is also compounded by the sound of revving mopeds as late night revellers leave the area. This detracted from what was an otherwise fantastic stay.
The fish at Captains Table is as good as ever. Octopus is good but expensive. Tropicana provides that authentic Taverna feel. Dont forget to eat at the hotel though. You will be pleasanty surprised.
Mollys provides a good location for those pre dinner cocktails. They use so much friut I am sure it contributes to your "five a day"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fabulous location for a holiday. Stella and Dimitri couldn't do enough for you. Rooms immaculately clean, good air conditioning. Can't fault it at all.
Over looking the Harbour which is so atmospheric, day or night. Food good and lots of other restaurants on harbour to try.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Sea Horse was a clean and comfortable hotel that was great value for money. Stella and Dimitri were very friendly and went out of their way to make my 40th birthday memorable (Stella even baked me a cake for the occasion!). While the breakfast choice was a little limited, the yoghurt and honey was delicious, and the staff happily gave us breakfast even when we were a bit late turning up. The rooms were a very good size and beds were great for a good night’s sleep. There was a lovely view of the harbour from our balcony. The Sea Horse has their own great restaurant downstairs and there are many other really good restaurants close by to choose from too. Also really close to Molly’s Bar which is a must for a drink. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

What a delightful hotel! Certainly one of the most lovely in Molyvos, with views to die for overlooking the exquisite harbour. Our room was clean and comfortable. Hosts Dimitris and Stella were so kind and gracious. Our dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious and the continental breakfasts were very nice with especially good coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our all-too-brief stay at the Sea Horse Hotel. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer at this delightful location. Moyvos itself is a lovely seaside town with ancient cobblestoned streets, one of the most gorgeous harbours in the world, many delightful shops, restaurants, and attractions. We found some beautiful pottery and dress shops, and enjoyed harbourside dining at the Sea Horse Restaurant and The Captain's Table. The 60's music and ambience at Molly's Bar was also great fun. We highly recommend Molyvos and the Sea Horse Hotel amongst the many treasures of Lesvos. Warm thanks to Dimitris and Stella from two grateful travellers from Tasmania, Australia (another beautiful island!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horse Hotel

Address: Molyvos 81108, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Molyvos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Molyvos
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Horse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Sea Horse Hotel Molyvos, Lesbos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.