We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Truro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Truro to your Saves list
Premier Inn Truro
Old Carnon Hill, Carnon Downs TR3 6JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnon Downs
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for six nights with my husband and son. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only thing that could have been improved was the lighting - the room faced a wall so you had to have the lights on all the time you were in the room and in the evening if you wanted to read it was gloomy. Also for some reason the mirror was put in the darkest corner of the room so was unuseable. We had breakfast at the restaurant each day. It was cooked to order which was nice but slow on some days. Nobody managed the restaurant reception properly so you always ended up waiting around for a table for a while which was a bit frustating but the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    135
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
145
129
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We decided to stay in this hotel as it was near to our son's holiday rental in Cornwall and we have found Premier Inns to be of a good standard but this one was exceptional. I cannot say enough good about it from the very start. The receptionists were all smiling, pleasant and approachable. Every member of staff we came across was so pleasant and helpful. There seemed to be no shortage of staff either and the rooms were cleaned efficiently every day and were a pleasure to return to. The breakfasts were so well organized, no waiting around for anything. Greeted at the door of the dining area and escorted to a table. Order for hot food taken straight away and cold breakfast menu explained. Fantastic choice of fruit and cereals, also fruit juices and bread etc.etc..

Room Tip: We always ask for an upper floor if possible and although our room overlooked the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in pleasant warm weather. Hotel staff were great, the usual warm welcome at a Premier Inn. We had pre-booked a table, wisely, when prompted by an email three days before arriving and were really pleased with our meals and the friendly service which, although was a bit slow, was understandable with the large numbers of people and, hey, we're on holiday so what's the rush? Breakfast was a bargain at £8.25 per adult and free for children, all you can eat. And boy, can some people eat a lot. As cooked breakfast takes a long time, we learned to order the cooked part as soon as we were seated, and not wait until the servers came back. Our room? Well it was spotlessly clean, very good TV, excellent wifi at only £3.00 per 24hrs (beat that, Hiltons, Sheratons etc!), and with a fan due to the warm weather. Thought the dispenser soap was less good than normal, runny and a bit antiseptic rather than the usual creamy froth, but can't fault anything else. This hotel chain is the tops for families, putting children on proper sofa beds and not dreadful folding metal beds, and with free food, why would you take your kids to any other hotel?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for one night in July during very hot weather. Room was provided with 2 electric fans and over sheets for the bed in case you did not wish to use the duvet. Used as a base only the hotel is adequate. The room we used was looking a bit tired - grouting needed attention around the bath. One chair provided in the room for use by two people. Did not use the adjacent restaurant preferring to have breakfast, lunch and dinner elsewhere. There is plenty of choice for eating establishments only a short drive away. Thought the room a bit expensive £89 - there was an obvious premium added due to the location and time of the year. Have stayed at better Premier Inns for far less cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullion
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I spent one night in this premier inn near Truro and I can say itwas a really unpleasant experience. It was vastly overpriced for what u got. A very hard bed ,a nylon pillow with matching diuvet, neighbours that u could here through the wall. A very tired looking bathroom with even older towels. Wifi that didn't work even though u had to pay for it, I did get my money back when this was discovered. In all an experience I hope to never have again especially as I had only five hours sleep and had to pay £87 for the the privilege.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and family decided to stay at this hotel whist visiting Falmouth for University graduation and the hotels location means it is perfect for travelling to either Falmouth or Truro. I have stayed at this hotel several times before and expected the usual high quality premier inn experience and was not disappointed on this occasion.

Upon arrival me and my party were greeted by a pleasant and knowledgeable reception team who checked us in quickly and efficiently and ensured that our party were all allocated rooms close to each other even though our party contained several individual bookings. This was greatly appreciated and made our stay more convenient and enjoyable. Throughout our two night stay the reception staff were always pleasant and dealt with enquires efficiently.

The rooms are furnished to the usual Premier Inn standards with a flat screen TV with Freeview, Tea/Coffee facilities and a very comfortable bed. Most importantly both the room and hotel are kept spotlessly clean! One criticism is that the prices are a bit steep for a Premier Inn, £98 a night is not really in the budget hotel price range however it is still good value considering the quality of the rooms and hotel in general. In contrast to this the wifi is only £3 for 24 hours which compared to the prices of some hotel chains is very cheap!

To sum up, though the price can seem quite high you certainly get what you pay for; the usual high quality Premier Inn experience which is made even better by superb staff and a great location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side from the car park offer wonderful views across the surrounding countrysid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

staff at check in was good. room was ample size and nothing to complain about. the hotel was 3 miles from Truro - so not too far to pop into town.

did not have breakfast in the morning - so cannot comment on quality of food.

only problem was that at 89 £ (without breakfast), thought it was slightly high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Truro

Address: Old Carnon Hill, Carnon Downs TR3 6JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Carnon Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnon Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the A39 which links Truro to Falmouth. For shops and local amenities Truro town centre is only 3 miles away. Conveniently located for Truro train station and only 16 miles from Newquay Airport. Our Truro Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly new comfy beds in every one of our 86 rooms and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Truro Hotel Carnon Downs
Premier Inn Carnon Downs
Premier Inn Truro Carnon Downs, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Truro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.