We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renieris Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renieris Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renieris Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Psathi Hill 1, Kato Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Kato Stalos
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Clean and well equipped rooms and fantastic sea views, very good breakfast. Steep steps down to road and beach. Comfortable beds. Choice of tavernas nearby could be better but a short drive gets you more choice. Quiet and peaceful and good double glazing so that you don't know you are high above a busy road. Easy access to lovely Chania. Try it and like it! Will return.

Room Tip: Sea view upgrade is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
222
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is a fab find!the rooms are spotless,views gorgeous,breakfast lovely we have no bad things to say!!Georgio and Stella are so helpful with anything you need!we will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Renieris is a hotel with very ,very clean rooms. Basic but functional.
The hotel offers additional perks eg ,fridges in the rooms,free tea and coffee 24 hours a day in the reception area which can be taken to your room.
The breakfast is fine and bar snacks are good value too.
The view is fabulous and the pool area and gardens are lovely.
The family that own the hotel are probably the nicest hotel proprietors we have ever come across. So cheerful, friendly and helpfull.
A massive thank you to them for all their help and advice .We would return without hesitation.
Suitable for older children but might be a bit of a concern if you have toddlers due to steps and pushchairs etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have recently returned from a week at the Renieris with our two children (20 and 16). We had hired a car which we picked up without stress at the airport. The drive to the hotel was quite straightforward, we printed out instructions before arrival. The Renieris hotel commands stunning views enjoyed from the pool/bar area and bedrooms. The bedrooms have everything you need and are of good quality, providing wardrobe, dressing table, chair and stool, wall mounted TV, phone, comfortable bed and hair dryer, with plenty of power points and free wifi throughout the hotel. As with the rooms the hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully kept throughout. You are provided with a fresh, good quality breakfast with something for everyone. The snack menu offers you a good choice of freshly prepared and good quality food at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed lunch there most days then went out to dinner in the evening.

As you leave the hotel by the steps (not for the faint hearted) turn to the left and walk along the beach for ten minutes where there is a good selection of bars and restaurants. Our personal favourite became an Italian, can't recall the name but has a pizza oven at the entrance. Also, turn left on the turning of Maria's and you will find the 'Triana' restaurant which served very well priced and good quality authentic Cretan fare. We did visit 'Maria's' but were left unimpressed.

The shopping in Chania is good with a Zara, Pandora, Pull and Bear and variety of others. The old harbour is well worth a visit, with great bars and restaurants available. Whilst reasonably quiet when we visited, think you might want to get there earlier in peak season.

The proprietors of this hotel could not be more polite and helpful with a good command of the English language. I would have not doubts in recommending this hotel and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Well - what can I say?!

A couple of weeks ago, my husband and I decided to book a long-weekend. After looking at a weekend in London, we realised we could grab a Ryanair flight from Bristol and stay at the Renieris Hotel in Crete for an extra day, and for less money!

We've never been to Crete before, so this was a good "taster" trip to see if we liked it.

We were NOT disappointed!!!

We arrived (with ResortHoppa) in the early-hours of Sunday morning. The hotel proprietor - Giorgios - had left our key behind the reception desk for us, as he'd previously confirmed via email.

The room (27) was spotless - similar to a room in a Travelodge - with a balcony, sea view (plus a spectacular view of the small island Agios Theodoros), wardrobe, fridge, air con and LED TV.
Comfortable bed and linen. A safe is available for 1 Euro per day if required.

Breakfast is served in a small covered pool-bar area, by Giorgios and Stella. Fresh bread, jams, eggs, a range of cereal and fruit and salad items are on offer, along with tea, coffee and fruit juices. Plenty to choose from, and all nice quality. There is also a lunch menu available, and (lovely) tzatsiki, pizzas, omelettes, salads etc. are on offer at very reasonable prices.

As for Giorgios himself...well - just read the other reviews. They're not wrong. He is - without doubt - the friendliest, most accommodating hotelier I've ever met. Nothing is too much trouble, his English is impeccable (as is his German!), and he just adds to the lovely atmosphere of the place. Other hoteliers should go and learn from him!

We relaxed as soon as we got there - and that was the idea of the mini-break! The weather was variable, but that meant there was a good opportunity to get over to the old town of Chania - just E1.60 on the local bus, which runs every half hour or so throughout the day. Chania is a lovely old town with plenty of tavernas and cafes along the harbour.

Kato Stalos itself is a reasonable place. It was quiet when we went...in the evenings, we didn't pass a soul walking to or from the town! There is clearly some development going on in the area, but it doesn't look like it's going to be overrun with hotels.

In all, we had a fantastic time, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back to Crete, to Stalos, or to this hotel.

I hope we have the pleasure of meeting Giorgios again in the not too distant future! Thank you for making our short break a very happy one!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have some very nice views...ask for one with a covered balcony in case of rain!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Renieris and would highly recommend it. Our holiday was in October and despite the lateness of the season there were still enough guests to give the hotel some atmosphere.

Location is on a hilltop with great views over either sea or mountains. Not great for the mobility challenged as there are lots of steps to get down to the taverna and shops of Kato Stalos, or the bus into Chania. A car is recommended to get the most out of the area.

Pretty, well kept gardens surround the hotel and the pool area has wonderful views, although can be windy. Spotlessly clean, the room was basic but comfortable - bed a bit hard!

Breakfast was plentiful and includes local produce, which is fresh and includes Cretan specialities. We sampled the room service too which, despite the limited menu was tasty and great value for money.

The very best thing about the Renieris is the cheerful and efficient service of your host Giorgos, Stella and the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and Giorgos is a mine of useful information. There is so much to see and do within easy reach and advice can be invaluable.

Looking forward to visiting again sometime.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Donato Milanese, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in Creete at this hotel and we were very satisfied. The position is optimal with a great view; the hotel is run perfectly, simple but clean rooms and well organized. Private parking. Good breakfast with different choices. From here we were able to go to different beaches on the island easily. The price is extremely convenient, we were trated with kindness and we were surprised it was rated with only two stars it sure deserves more. Perhaps just one minor problem was the bed that was a bit small but considering the price it was more than ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renieris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renieris Hotel

Address: Psathi Hill 1, Kato Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Stalos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Stalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kato Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Renieris Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renieris Hotel in Kato Stalos sits upon a hill with a spectacular view of Kato Stalos beachfront, the Theodorou island and the blue Aegean Sea and only 200 meters away from the sandy beach. Enjoy beautiful sunsets while bathing in our custom pool with a separate children's pool. Our amphitheater-style design captures sea views in almost all of our rooms. Our hotel is family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Renieris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renieris Hotel Kato Stalos, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renieris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.