We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to Giorgios and Stella for a great week at Renieris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renieris Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renieris Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renieris Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nikolaou Plastira 1, Kato Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Kato Stalos
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks to Giorgios and Stella for a great week at Renieris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Reineris Experience

The warm friendly staff of Hotel Renieris made us feel very welcome for our whole week's stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Giorgiso or Stella.

The hotel is extremely clean, not a speck of dirt to be found and the view (from all rooms) is beautiful.

The breakfasts were yummy. A good mix of Greek (including local Cretan) food and more traditional breakfasty toast, cereal, eggs, etc.

The hotel amenities are basic, but really that was all we needed for the week. We swam in the pool a few times despite the freezing temperature of the water. It was only later in the week that we realised the sea (only 3-4 mins walk) was much warmer!

Aside from the incredible food (we loved the proper Cretan restaurants that serve local goat, seafood, etc), the lasting experience we had of Crete were the warm friendly people. The genuine smiles of the people we met. Proper full face smiles instead of the mouth-only gestures that you would get from a stranger elsewhere.

We cannot thank Giorgios and Stella enough for a great week. We felt like we made friends whilst we were there and we highly recommend Hotel Renieris if you are staying in the Chania area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    54
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
177
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in mid Oct on a late deal. This hotel is SPOTLESS, never stayed anywhere that's as clean as this! It's family run and they do all they can to ensure you have a fabulous stay. We stayed in a lovely room on the corner of the building, fantastic views from the balcony and room. They provide handwash and shower gel in rooms, and there's a mini fridge and safe (big enough for standard size laptops), the safe was only 1 euro per day. Air con was free for duration of our stay. The complimentary buffet breakfast was lovely and there's free tea/coffee on tap all day. Free internet (wi-fi in rooms and around the pool) and a PC in reception you can use also. Pool was lovely size, views amazing, grounds are spotless, and the pool bar is well stocked - the local white wine at 3 euros a carafe was fabulous! Great home cooked food available, the roast potatoes with rosemary out of this world! 10 min walk to restaurants (bars are further away in Aghia Marina & Platantias). The stairs down (around 95 of them) keep you fit but not suitable for those with walking difficulties. We hired a car from the place next to Maria's restaurant. Ate at Maria's a couple of times, nice wholesome food. All in all a lovely place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing and have fab views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

When we booked this hotel, we had naturally read all the previous Trip Advisor reviews and were looking forward to it very much. We were not disappointed. Myself, my husband and our 14 year old daughter spent one week here from 19th October 2013. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful Giorgios, Stella and family. The hotel and our room were cleaned daily, and utterly spotless. The breakfast buffet was extensive and replenished constantly with greek yoghurt, fruit, meat, cheese, olives, cereals, orange juice, tea and coffee, bread, with the use of a toaster, tomatoes, boiled eggs, omelettes, and a wonderful Cretan speciality called Dakos - you must try this! Also there was something which I have never experienced before in any class of hotel and that was the provision of free tea and coffee available 24/7 in the breakfast room (which incidentally, has fantastic views over the bay. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious enough for the three of us, with a fridge, air conditioning, hairdryer in the bathroom (although not brilliant if you have long/thick hair, take your own), a TV, balcony with amazing views and we had our towels changed 5 out of 7 days! Giorgios is the most helpful and hospitable proprietor we have ever met, working so hard but always cheeful and willing to give advice on places to visit, eat, where to hire cars, etc. There is a small pool bar and the menu is available from 11 a.m. to 9.30 p.m. including immense salads, sandwiches, pizza, pasta, burgers and some wonderful greek dishes - the baked feta is a must. You can eat where you like, in the breakfast room, by the pool, at the pool bar and in your room and everything we had was delicious. I cannot sing the praises of this marvellous hotel enough, even the 97 steps down to the street level were not a problem (quite good for working off all that moussaka and raki on the way back!) On our last day, we offered Giorgios some euros if we could make some sandwiches from the breakfast buffet for our lunch on the plane on the way back (Ryanair's overpriced food didn't appeal and as it turned out they had sold out by the time they got to our seats!). Giorgios refused any cash and prepared us some sandwiches himself - he even sliced a tomato and wrapped it in foil so the sandwiched didn't get soggy!!! One other really nice thing was the lack of people claiming sunbeds by the pool with towels at some ungodly hour of the morning. It is hotel policy to ask guests not to do this and whilst we were there everyone adhered to it. We had such a good week here and are recommending it to all our friends and just can't wait to go back again, which we definitely will

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view, we were in room 23 which is on second floor at the corner and gets sun soo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at end of October 2013 and enjoyed every day. Perched on a 50 metre high cliff it has fabulous views of the Med and the sizeable Theodorou isloand which is an uninhabited nature reserve. The hotel is perfectly run by Georgios and his family who couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and although not serving seated dinners, the room service menu for evening meals was very good - and good value.

While this is rated as a 2 star hotel and doesn't have the facilities, room size and fripperies like bottles of shampoo in the bathrooms it is the best modern 2 star you could hope to find. The hotel is about 2 years old and very nicely built, with a commanding view over the town of Kato Stalos - and all the other hotels. We liked this relative isolation while still being in easy reach of the town, restaurants and beach.

There is a wide concrete staircase down to beach level - 97 steps - but this was a welcome form of exercise in getting back up to the hotel after a heavy Greek meal! In all it takes no more than 3 minutes to reach the sea. The beach is dark golden sand with some fairly modest rocks at the Eastern end. There are some friendly beachside tavernas to the West.

The hotel is kept perfectly clean, fresh bed linen every day with lots of detailed attention. Even the towels are artistically arranged! The balcony is just sufficient for 2 (we were in a double room, no. 14) facing north east over the sea. The perfect place might be room 11 or 12 which would be further West getting more sun in the evening. Even the room at the back have a decent view over the usual Cretan country scenery.

The breakfast is buffet-style with nicely presented but modest in range foods. No full English breakfasts here, but quite sufficient, particularly as there were a wide range of nationalities staying. Oh yes, Georgios and the staff all speak good English and German.

The hotel is shaped like a wedge of cake, and so the rooms are partly triangular as well. The pool is nice but not heated - a little too cool for us most of the time - but this was October. The sea was warmer... The poolside area is immaculate with nice grassy areas, very well tended. There is a poolside bar which was not used much while we were there, and thus thankfully was quiet in the evenings unlike the ghastly Filion Suites in Bali where outside the bar ruined every evening.

At 2 stars the hotel does what it says on the tin - to a very high standard. But the rooms are quite small with not enough space to store the suitcases, and there is no comfortable seating area apart from reception, and no chairs in the room. So sitting comfortably was not an option, and if we'd had a rainy day we'd have been a bit unhappy. I would recommend to Georgios that the balcony seats should be upgraded to have soft cushions so that one could really relax in the evenings.

The twin beds were fine for size, but had rather thin and hard mattresses. This would be a simple thing to upgrade (Georgios)!

Aircon in every room. Decent little bathroom - very clean and well-appointed, decent plumbing but rather small.

The corridor outside the room is very echoey and could do with some soft furnishings on the walls to damp down the noise of other guests coming and going - but not a huge problem.

Value? Superb at about £30/night. Would strongly recommend this hotel, and may very well go again.

Do take the 1.6 euro bus ride into Chania to the East - about 10 minutes. The buses are simple to use and run every 15 minutes. Chania is a lively town about the size of Guildford, and has a delightful Old Town on the Venetian harbour with lovely little alleyways with shops and endless restaurants. We loved it, and felt safe and welcome all the time (unlike Antigua).

Room Tip: Sea view always wins, but don't be put off by country view at rear - it's not unpleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to Hotel Renieris in September this year 2013

We were initially thinking we may be a little dissapointed staying in a hotel as we had previously been staying in a private villa with its own pool etc... for the last 10 days.

However Hotel Renieris was superb!

Really nice little hotel in Kato Stalos.

Superbly clean and welcoming.

The room was excellent with a lovely view out to sea.

The pool was fantastic.

The staff are great! Nothing is too much trouble

The food at the little bar was exceptional and incredibly reasonably priced!

Overall i'd say if you are thinking about going to stay in the area then this is definitely a fantastic hotel to choose!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Due to go home tomorrow from one week at this great hotel! Wish we had booked two weeks! We usually stay in big 4/5 star hotels when we are in Crete. Never again! This place could compete with any we have stayed in. The family who run it are totally dedicated to their business, even though they must be tired out after a busy year. Nothing is a trouble to them. The rooms and public areas are spotless. Many of the people we have met here are returning guests, speaks for itself really. We did not feel the need to hire a car on this holiday, as it was very easy to get around with local transport. The steps previously mentioned in Advisor reviews are not so bad, we are in our mid sixties and we coped without difficulty. All in all, if you are looking for a great base from which to explore this beautiful part of Crete, you could do no better! Eυχατιστω πολυ Γιοργο, Στέλλα και οι οικογεννια σας (sorry if spelling is wrong!) You will even learn some greek here!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a six delightful nights stay with this fabulous family run hilltop sea view 2 stars hotel. In our view, they deserve more than the 2 stars rating with its 5 stars hilltop views, the immaculate cleanliness through the property and the personal services provided by the very hard working family. A totally enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renieris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renieris Hotel

Also Known As:
Renieris Hotel Kato Stalos
Renieris Hotel Kato Stalos, Crete - Chania
Address: Nikolaou Plastira 1, Kato Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Stalos
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Renieris Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renieris Hotel in Kato Stalos sits upon a hill with a spectacular view of Kato Stalos beachfront, the Theodorou island and the blue Aegean Sea and only 200 meters away from the sandy beach. Enjoy beautiful sunsets while bathing in our custom pool with a separate children's pool. Our amphitheater-style design captures sea views in almost all of our rooms. Our hotel is family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Renieris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renieris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.