We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kosmas Taverna

Kosmas Taverna
Stalos Beach Road, Kato Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
0030-28210-60069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 restaurants in Kato Stalos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Quiet courtyard with trees and flowers - pleasant place to sit. Small playground for children. Friendly and helpful waiters. Typical Greece service - they are not in hurry :) Food is very delicious!! Waiter will help you to choose if you can decide. Price for food is not high. Must visit tavern in Stalos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    38
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lured by the sound of the music, we stumbled upon Kosmas on the way back from dinner in some other restaurant. As it turned out a local family celebrated the newest member of their family, the waiter very kindly invited to join the celebrations. We couldn't stay that night but came back the following three for delicious food, exceptional ambiance and great service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect greek ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our first night, Saturday night in Kato Stalos and we discovered this beautiful restaurant, providing just the right atmosphere. Yes, we had to wait a while for our food, but this is Greece, not McDonalds. The food was very good and at the end we got the usual free dessert and raki. What made it really special was about 20 plus local people having a christening party, which made us feel like we were really in Crete. Lovely evening, but we over did it on the raki.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only Greece food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A new restaurant i Kato Stalos on mainstreet.Under my two weeks I been there eight times and eating differents meal to test.They served only greece food therefore a different experien from other restaurants.Service very good,nice personal and real fast serving.I comming back next time I be in Stalos.An extra + for the Selling of olivoil just ask the personal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been there two times in 15 days.
The first time we had to wait 20 minutes to place our order and further 30 minutes to receive the food.
There were only two waiters to serve all the tables in the restaurant. And the waiter told us that he was at the toilet when we arrived, that's why he did not see us (unbelievable). The food was good, so we decided to give them a second chance.
The second time, we had to wait only 25 minutes but the food was awful.The bad surprise was the bill, we had been charged 10% more than the price on the list. So... watch out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosmas Taverna also viewed

Kato Stalos, Chania Prefecture
Kato Stalos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kato Stalos, Chania Prefecture
Kato Stalos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kosmas Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosmas Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.