We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melina's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melina's House to your Saves list
Melina's House
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ir. Politechniou st., Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Stalos B&B and Inns
Chorley Lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, well maintained apartment in a quiet road off the main coastal road. No need to hire a car as local bus service frequent and reliable , with bus to Chania every 15 - 20 minutes. Many tavernas / restaurants nearby. Antonis and Melina made us very welcome and felt like an honoured guest in their house. Made good use of the air conditioning and the washing machine ! The beaches are safe and sandy , crystal clear water for swimming. Small resort but merges into nearby Aghios Marina which is busier. Please note this is self- catering even though is shown as B&B . Highly recommended and extremely good value .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello

We really appreciate and feel oblige ,to thank again
our friends for their polite comments.
Wish to have a soft autumn and winter period.

Antonis-Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent choice and a very pleasant stay. Great location, very nice and clean place at a considerably logical price. The owner was very helpful in providing us with all info and directions to get to our daily destinations.

Room Tip: Top level suite has a great view and a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Google Translation
Eυχαριστούμε,για τον χρόνο που διαθέσατε,για να ενημερώσετε πιθανούς
μελλοντικούς ταξιδιώτες στην περιοχή μας,να έχουν μιά εικόνα για το
κατάλυμα μας.
Να έχετε πάντα καλά ταξίδια.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I can not recommend this hotel for a family. The location was no good, and quite a walk down too the beach with small children on dangerous road. The hotellowner was a bit "over the top" asking questions on where we should go, almost all the time. He sad they had a agreement with another hotel near the beach, where we could use the swimming pool. We used that 1 day, but felt the whole time that they didn't like it. So, we ended up with renting a car, and only used the hotel for sleeping. But sleeping was poor because of terrible beds. I think it would be better lying on the floor. All in all, not recommended hotel for us. But they try very hard too please you. Not recommended for family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had plenty of space in the apartment which was ideal for a base. We were out most of the time enjoying the area. The owners were very welcoming despite our late arrival .
We loved the location away from the coast road. Very quiet at night. Nice views over gardens and vegetable plots as well as sight of the sea ,island , and sunsets through local exotic trees.
Only 5 mins walk from the beach and various beach bars , tavernas , and minimarkets. Swimming was excellent and there were plenty of friendly bars with swimming pools too. Also very good and easy for catching buses east to Chania, about 10 mins and very frequent until quite late as well as potential to travel further west eg. to catch boat to Balos. We also booked/caught the Little Fun Train with a pick up point about 100 m distance to enjoy trips including visits into the countryside to see olive oil factory, winery ,Therisso Gorge etc.
We didn't need to hire a car. Had already done that on a previous visit and there was plenty to interest us and easy access to the buses which were also very economic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer holiday
and even more for this noble movement to describewith such a beautiful
way your staying here. This criticism is for us both useful and constructive.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Our Family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Goncalo do Rio das Pedras, MG
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We recommend you to visit Creta and to stay at Melina´s House!!! Our time was realy good. The friendly and lovely familiy were all the time there for us. They gave us the best tip´s of the island.
Melina´s House has the best location, close to the beach, shops, tavernas and bus stop.

Room Tip: The front side has the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Melina's House from May 6 to 10, 2013. We used the property's website to book our room, and received an email prior to arriving from Canada with instructions from Melina about where to find our keys, as the family would be away during the day for a celebration. We arrived after getting lost -- even though it is easy to find from Chania -- to a beautiful, charming hotel operated by a family that is exceptional.
Our room was located on the top floor of the property, and was cutely furnished and thoroughly clean. The room was large with plenty of windows allowing natural light, and the balcony had a stunning view of the sea. The room was very private and we felt secure throughout our stay. Wireless internet access was consistently strong, and we had all the conveniences of home while on vacation. The neighbourhood is a good one, with dining options within walking distance. Located near the highway, Melina's House is just a short drive away from Chania.
While the property was charming, it is truly the hospitality of Melina and her family that made our stay memorable. They offered us their adviceas to what beaches are worth visiting, what restaurants are the best, and went as far as to welcome us in enjoying morning coffee with them. One day it began to heavily rain, and we returned to our room to find that the family had kindly repositioned the drying rack of our laundry out of the rain so our clothes would remain dry. It is this thoughtfulness and compassion that made our entire trip to Crete so memorable.
We plan to return to Chania in the future, and will be sure to once again stay with Melina and Antonis. We strongly encourage others to do the same, and to experience Greece authentically with a local family that knows hospitality better than any large-scale resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Good evening to dearest long distance friends

Thank you very much for your time to share some useful comments
from your short stay in our House.
We wish all the best to you and your friends.
Enjoy your summer time there,hearty greetings to your family.

Antonis-Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Warm Greek family. Cosy rooms. Low cost standard. Rooms could be equiped a bit better but anyway it was really fine. In this range of price it's really the best you can get. Location is great. Close to shops and tavernas but in a quiet area. You can feel like at home

Room Tip: Nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
511__11__511, Owner at Melina's House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Good evening From Antonis and Melina

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing,our house for your holidays in Chania.
We wish you to have a nice and pleasant summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melina's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina's House

Address: Ir. Politechniou st., Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melina's House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melina’s House is a charming small complex. The house is located in a village, which named Kato Stalos. It is very close to the beautiful city of Chania, only 7 km away. Chania airport is 19 km far from the house and Iraklio airport is 160 km.The house stands in a small but pretty garden of trees and plants on a side road that leads to the grand old village of Stalos. The same road conveniently leads to the cool calm waters of a sandy beach 250 m away.Melina's house consists of 8 apartments studios, which were built in 1997.There are four apartments and two studios on the first floor and one apartment and one studio on the ground floor. Furthermore Furniture varies exist on each floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melina's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina's House Stalos, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melina's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.