We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phaedra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phaedra Hotel to your Saves list
Phaedra Hotel
Kato Stalos, Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You must stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here based on a recommendation of a person who works for a travel website. It is her job to spend time at hotels and write reviews. When I told her that I wanted to stay in Chania, she said that I absolutely must stay at Phaedra.

Phaedra is right on the beach which for me, is extremely important. The beach is composed of fine sand and when you walk into the ocean, there are only a few rocks in some parts of the beach where Phaedra is located, but by no means is this a problem, the beach is spectacular.

Phaedra is located in Kato Stalos which is not a very busy part of town, but it is conveniently located about 7 minutes (bus ride) from the town of Platanias, or you could easily walk 45 minutes, if you prefer to exercise. Phaedra has a bus stop in front of the property which made it very easy to get to the airport, the port of Chania, Ag Marina, and Platanias. There are also many excellent restaurants, levendis and Merovigli, to name a few.

In addition the location being amazing, the staff at Phaedra does not compare to any that I have encountered during my vacations at similar hotels. Georgia and her husband Christos are beautiful people. They are welcoming and were always concerned about how we were doing. Kevin, the bartender, is equally kind and extremely knowledgeable when it comes to making drinks. We actually looked forward to spending time at the bar chatting with him. The staff actually threw a BBQ while my husband and I were there, providing delicious chicken and potatoes for lunch, as a way of thanking their guests. My husband and I missed the BBQ and an employee Georgia (another Georgia) actually brought a plate to our room and apologized for the fact that we had not known about the BBQ, an extremely thoughtful gesture.

The rooms are exactly what you see on the website. If you email the hotel directly, they will even send you pictures of the exact suite or apartment that you will stay in before you commit. The rooms are modern and fully equipped. We stayed in a basic suite and it was more than perfect for my husband and I. We loved the kitchen, as we were able to make breakfast and lunch in the room.

We have stayed in hotels on other Greek islands and we have never thought about returning to any of these hotels (even though we enjoyed ourselves) however Phaedra changed this. We intend to return to Crete and stay at Phaedra. You must stay here....a great hotel with an amazing and hospitable staff and fantastic value for money. We had a great experience. Thank you Christos, Georgia, Georgia, and Kevin. See you soon!!!!

Your friends from Toronto.

Room Tip: Top floor with a sea view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lisa C,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment.
Your kind words on our team members and premises are shared with everyone and of course, well appreciated.
We are doing our best to keep the quality of our services excellent and your feedback is more than welcome!
We would be delighted to welcome you back in our premises during your next visit!

Yours sincerely,
Georgia Kaymenaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice small quiet beautiful hotel, wonderful location, the sea is almost under the windows, no crowds in the hotel and on the beach, free and always empty sunbeds
Lovely pool, new and modern rooms
Loved it
I hope to return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Maria,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
We do appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed our facilities, services and pool!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, we remain at your disposal!

Yours sincerely
Phaedra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Phaedra is a beautiful and an amazing place with great people working there with a natural sense of hospitality, the location is just amazing, I think it couldn't be better than that.
However, our only comment is about the daily room cleanliness, this might be the point that need improvement, other than that, it's for sure an excellent place to stay in.
Thank you Phaedra staff for the great memories.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ahmed,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this comment!
Your comments are indeed very helpful and honest, much appreciated; we are doing our best to offer our guests unique experience, being motivated and guided by your opinion.

We are always glad to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our customer service and standards. We place great value on your opinion and we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Greece.
King Regards
Georgia Kaymenaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you want to meet the Greek hospitality you must visit Phaedra. Phaedra has everything in order to make our vacation succesfull. The bright apartments/studios fullfill all our wishes concerning furniture, kitchen, bathroom, internet etc. The location at the beach is perfect and the sorroundings are very nice and well kept. The two ladyes, Georgia and Georgia, are very, very nice and helpfull and always ask us how we are dooing. If you need anything....just ask. Last year we,12 friends, wanted to go to a special restaurant in Old Town, and Georgia off course called the restaurant and made the reservation and then called 3 Taxis for us. 8 of theese friends, on our recommendation, stayed at Phaedra together with us, and they will all come back, they say. We will also come back for sure, we have already made our reservations for 2013. You are in very good hands at Phaedra, so you should try it too!

Bolette & Torben

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelenograd
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Phaedra is the most perfect villa at the beach. We stayed at the Crete second time and choose a hotel near Chania for one week. We had a very peaceful and relaxing holiday and saw a lot of interesting places of west Crete. The recently renovated apartments were large and clean, with a beautiful view over the pool and beach. Our son Anton liked your swimming pool and the nearest golf club very much!
Thanks a lot for your high level service.
Regards,
Maria, Sergey and little Anton.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Maria Sergey and Anton
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
I feel petty i was absent by the time of your departure from the Hotel, in order to say goodbye directly and offer you a goodbye gift.
I hope to see you again soon.
Many kisses
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Lisboa, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay in Phaedra Hotel was, without a doubt, excellent. Starting with the owners and staff (bar) hospitality and care to the excellent location, confort and services. The whole hotel was always clean and cozy, the view from the room was amazing (swimmingpool and beach, the beach is just one step away from the swimmingpool area). The cocktails in the bar are simply excellent!

Room Tip: It seemed to me that all the rooms are very good, we stayed in 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Cristiana
Thank you for your excellent comments.
I hope you had a great time at Chania even though you have spend only 4 nights at the Hotel.
See you again next summer. We will enjoy some new cocktails by the pool.
Kisses
Georgia and Spiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It was our 3rd time on Crete and Phaedra was by far the best hotel. Our studio was on the top flour of the main building was spacious, recently renovated, furnished simply but nicely (the pictures on their website actually show the hotel quite truthfully) and with a stunning see view from our balcony. We didn't use the kitchen (the restaurants on Crete are not really expensive and we were keen on exploring local cuisine), but it seemed ok. We did hear a bit of traffic from the road nearby, but it never bother us (although people who are very sensitive to noise should probably ask for room in the building next to the beach). The location of the hotel is perfect. A swimming pool and a really great long sandy beach are just few steps away. As you enter the water there are some stones the first 1-2 m, but then it is all sandy and shallow. Now they also opened a small bar next to the swimming pool. We went there every morning to get a glass of this fantastic fresh orange juice (Chania orange gardens produce really sweet and juicy oranges) and a couple of cheese toasts. They also make pretty good milkshakes. To get to Chania is really easy - the bus stop is almost next to the hotel and most of the time (with the exception of early morning, lunch time and late in the evening) there is a bus every 15 min and during the high season there are also night buses almost every hour. The famous gorge of Samaria is just an hour away by driving and Georgia organized our trip there in 5 min. She and the other Georgia and Spiro were all very welcoming and helpful.

P.S: the reception is not open 24/24 h, and although it is open most of the time, it is a good idea to know its opening hours

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Phaedra Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
It is so nice to read your flattering comments regarding the hotel but also for us.
I thank you so much.
If you would like i could send you fresh orange juice and toast, but i don't know how fresh they will reach you ...
Anyway i hope to see you again another time, and i promise you will have the same and even better memories of your stay here.
Regards
Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phaedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaedra Hotel

Address: Kato Stalos, Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#4 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PHAEDRA is a family beach hotel with swimming pool, built with care on the golden sand beach of Kato Stalos Kydonias, Chania, awarded with the “Blue Flag” of the European Union and supervised by lifeguards. It consists of 22 apartments and studios with private balcony or patio with sea view. PHAEDRA is situated just 7 km away from the picturesque city of Chania, 19 km from the port of Souda and 23 km from Chania International Airport. A bus-stop close to the hotel allows frequent transportation to all the hot-spots of the area. Kato Stalos and the nearby villages of Ag. Marina and Platanias offer plenty of shops with tourist goods, car rentals, super markets, as well as taverns with traditional Cretan food, beach-bars, nightclubs that will satisfy all your needs during the holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Phaedra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Hotel Stalos, Crete - Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phaedra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.