We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meats, friendly service and transport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Da Carne

Vila Da Carne
R Doutor Joao A Freitas 30-A, Camara De Lobos, Madeira 9300-048, Portugal
+351(0)291 099908
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Delicious meats, friendly service and transport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Quite a modern restaurant like its fish equivalent but just as good.They will collect you from your Madeira hotel and return.
Lobos is a lovely place to visit and when you get an excellent meal as well what more could
you ask for, nice view over harbour also.
Now to the food. Ember grilled lamb fillet, yes it tastes like it sounds, cant get lamb like this in UK except for megabucks.
Beef fillet skewer, delicious.
Nice friendly service and reasonable price for meats of this quality. Throw in the transport free, superb value.
No besitation to recommend, ring them and go for it!
Eddie n Christine

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    29
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place, staff and wonderful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family and I ate here on our 2nd night in Madeira.

We made use of their free shuttle service to/from our accommodation which is a great help!

The restaurant also has a sister (Vila De Piexe) next door which specialises in fish which we also visited (and would recommend too). Carne was quiet when we arrived at 6:30pm - it did pick up and was moderately busy by the end of the evening.

Our waiter was superb. He immediately made my young daughter feel at ease (and made a fuss of her during the evening which she really enjoyed). As it was our first meal our of resort he was very open about the typical foods of Madeira and made lots of suggestions for us. We didn't feel under any pressure to choose these recommendations.

In the end we did take up most of the suggestions. Starting with a Portugese tapsas selection, which we all enjoyed including some local ham. My wife went for the chicken on a skewer and I went for the Sirloin on Laurel skewers, with some Maize, salad as a side order.

The meat was wonderful, very tasty, very nicely cooked, melt in the mouth stuff.
My daughter took a standard "childrens" menu option - as she's not very adventurous food wise, but it was a good size, well cooked and presented and she ate almost all of it which is always a good sign!

We also demolished the recommended wine and followed that up with some desert.

The view out to the harbour was very nice (when we went back to the Piexe restaurant a few days later it was the "Fiesta of the Black Scabbard" so we could watch the harbour area turn slowly into a big local party which was great fun). The staff were friendly, courteous, and more than willing to help us learn some Portugese phrases. Attentive without being overly close.

An excellent start to what was a great holiday, and even for us, who are not great fish eaters, the Piexe restaurant was also excellent, choosing your fish is a bit of an adventure, but great fun and made to feel very welcome.

Overall the cost for the 3 of us, including wine/drinks came to about the same as our accommodation (Around 60 Euros) clearly depending on what you have. Which seemed to be about the same wherever we went.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“avoid at all cost!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A terrible meal, myself and husband had previously eaten at their fish restaurant next door which was excellent so we assumed the meat restaurant would follow suit, unfortunatly we couldnt have been more wrong. We ordered tapas for two as our starters, after the waiter bought out garlic bread (which you get everywhere but which isnt free so refuse if you dont want to have it) he came out with a small plate of cold sliced marinated carrots and a small plate of what resembled salami thinly cut, we waited for the rest but was told that was it the waiter then tried to convince us that the garlic bread was also part of it (strange as we where charged seperatly for it) this 'tapas' was sent back, the chef didnt seem impressed with our reaction and so decided that extea spice was called for on our main meal of skewered chicken, this was described as half a chicken but in actual fact consisted of thigh and leg and lots of bone but very little chicken, it was served with garlic and oregano chips which were nice but unfortunatly the chicken was so bad we decided to cut our losses pay the bill and leave. We were not impressed with this place at all, it was very quite for an evening with just us and one other couple eating. The food was not good, the cost for what we had was high and the service the worst we had recieved. All in all a real disapointment and i would definatly not recommend this place at all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best espetada we've tasted on Madeyra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time we've been to this restaurant by chance, but we've returned there few more times. The espetada (traditional meat on the skewer) was one of the best we've eat on Madeyra, the meat on the stone was amazing, the peri-peri chicken was served on the skewer (that was not what we've expected, but it was good too).
The only problem we've met - last time we wanted to visit this place (we were hungry ad went there purposefully) it was closed for siesta. The kitchen is closed from 15.30 till 18.00 every day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by Holiday Property Bond. They came to collect us and took us home free! The food was superb we had fillet cooked on hot stones the meat quality was superb. Our waiter was fun and helpful and the cost of the evening was very reasonable. Sadly there were very few diners there, maybe too early in the evening or even the year. It can't have been the food or the service keeping them away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Da Carne also viewed

 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Vila Da Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Da Carne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.