We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila do Peixe

Vila do Peixe
Rua Doutor Joao Abel de Freitas, Camara De Lobos, Madeira 9300-048 , Portugal
291099909
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's a walk uphill, but seems to be much better than anything available down the village. Pick and order from their choice of fresh fish, they do know how to cook it! Was the best fish restaurant we experienced on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    81
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a surprise find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We walked from Funchal along the coastal path, and were hungry but first places looked at were dire. Then spotted this restaurant up the hill a bit. Worth every effort. Not expensive, but great choice of fresh fish, cooked superbly. Friendly staff, wonderful view over harbour, etc.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excelldnt food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We choiced this place according recomendation from our hitel in Funchal. Real vood food. I asked scorpio and my wife dourade fillet. It took a lot time fo gdt our
order, but fish wzs amazing. Also price was not big. Recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at this restaurant looking over the bay of the fishing village of Camara de Lobos.

You choose your fish at the kitchen counter and have it cooked by the chef, it may take a bit longer to cook but freshness is assured. Great food, staff very helpful. would definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for some fresh fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good food, good location, and a free taxi from Funchal area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The free taxi picked us up in time and delivered us back on time, in comfort.
We enjoyed good fresh fish, good wine and a nice ambience, overlooking the harbour.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
It cost around 70 euros for 2 of us - 2 mains and pudding - passion fruit mousse and fresh mango.
Would I go again - we went to the next door Vila de Carne - equally good

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila do Peixe also viewed

 
Estreito de Camara de Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Vila do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila do Peixe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.