We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapsaliana Village Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kapsaliana Village Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Adele, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Adele B&B and Inns
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stylish and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in early July for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The directions (in particular the photographs of key road junctions and signs) were really helpful so it was no problem to find Kapsaliana at all. The room was lovely, with the quietest air conditioning I've ever come across! The inside/outside setting of the restaurant was also quite magical in the evening (listening to the Scops owls gently hooting to each other was a treat) and we particularly enjoyed the special Cretan food and wine menu; it was the first time that the chef and his team had offered this special menu, and it was a great success.

Although we had a car, we took advantage of the offer of a lift up to the Arkadiou Monastery so that we could walk back through the gorge to the hotel. The monastery is really beautiful and the flowers in the courtyard were so colourful. It was also really nice to walk back through the surrounding countryside to the hotel.

We also loved the hotel cats!

Room Tip: Andromeda has a lovely big terrace which is great for birdwatching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had 5 nights here in July 2013, booked through Mr and Mrs Smith. Hard to find, but not as hard as the review on the Mr and Mrs Smith website implies. However car essential.
Beautiful room at the back of the hotel overlooking the land to the sea. Had a relaxing stay. Breakfast limited selection but quite sufficient. Same with dinner - the menu could get a bit samey after a few night so plan to eat here maybe 2-3 times. Quality and service perfect but variety a little limited. There is nothing else within walking distance, hence need that car. The pool area is quiet at night, couldn't help thinking a chill out bar with low lights and music would help extend the atmosphere as the hotel has no bar to speak of, just the restaurant. Prices in the restaurant reasonable (£25 a head or so) given the captive market. Overall, a very good experience - a quiet hotel with peace and very much an "away from it all" with boutique class. Staff were excellent without exception. Try one of the excellent massages which are taken in the room. I'm sure as the hotel grows and invests, things like a spa and bar would be added which would make it a 5 star review as there would be no need at all to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Kapsaliana is a beautifully restored Cretan hamlet, in the hills behind the coast. The "cottages" are a series of decent sized rooms, mostly with their own terrace or garden. Very quiet, with a lovely garden and pool, it also has a great restaurant cooking delicious local dishes. The bedrooms are simple but stylish, with quality linen. 20 minutes drive into Rethymno for good shopping and nightlife and only 90 minutes from Heraklion airport, Kapsaliana is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Kapsaliana hotel every year for the past four years. We have been twice in May, once mid September and this time in June.
The hotel has not changed at all since we first visited. It's still amazingly quiet and the best place for peace that I know. We stayed in the Altair again which is the room that has a very large patio area overlooking the pool and views of the sea.
The rooms are still clean and very comfortable and the staff there have only your pleasure and comfort in mind and nothing is too much trouble for them. Bridgette and Stelios have remained there since we first started going and its like going back to see friends.
There has been a change around of a few staff and I know that there is a new chef now. However, my only tiny critiscism is that the food in the evenings is sooo boring. I really dont think that its changed since we first started going and there is way too much pork on the menu. A few of the guests that we spoke to at the pool also thought that the menu was tiresome and forced them to look for somewhere else to eat. Don't get me wrong the food that you do receive is well cooked but there are not enough main courses to choose from and even with the specials it does not satisfy. However, the breakfasts are very very good, especially the greek yoghurt and natural grecian honey. I always look forward to going for breakfast.
The bar meals served from 13:00-16:00 are very good and a fare price. They also have a large selection of chilled drinks in the fridges and ice creams and lollies to choose from. All of this is done via honesty and you write what you have consumed during the day from the pool bar and its charged to your bill when you leave.

A warning to couples with toddlers. There are lots of steps and some of the rooms are above other suites. The first floor suites are not child friendly as there are no railings around the patios. Also the pool is very quiet and if your children are prone to crying or make too much noise you may get a few annoyed looks from others using the pool.

Word of warning.....take lots of Mosquito spray and bite cream. June is obviously the time when Mosquitos like to feast. My husband was bitten 28 times on one leg!!! Not suffered ever during May and September. It was probably just bad luck this year, but everyone got bitten.

I will keep going back there year after year. I love it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning and very individual....its a matter of price and taste. Choose a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kapsaliana is a truly magical place. My partner and I have just arrived back from a ten night stay which we both agree is the best holiday we have ever been on. If you are looking for an extremely relaxing break, peace and tranquility, wonderful accommodation, amazing food and great service, this is the hotel for you.

I will try to keep this brief, although it's difficult because there are so many wonderful things to say.

We arrived late at night having foolishly followed our GPS instead of the map and having been rescued by Stelios (he drove out to meet us and take us to the hotel in the middle of the night!) to find that the hotel had prepared some lovely food as we had missed our dinner.

We stayed in Perseus which was very spacious, with an extremely large and comfortable bed, a beautiful bathroom and a lot of character.

The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. The pictures look fantastic, however the place has to be seen to be believed. It's the product of a clear, consistent and quite brilliant vision of the owner. We spoke to the owner on a number of occasions who was extremely warm and welcoming and clearly enjoys the fact that people are so enchanted by the hotel.

The food was some of the best we have ever eaten such that we rarely ventured out to any other restaurants. The breakfasts were fantastic and the chef Vassilis has done amazing things with the lunch, dinner and wine menus. Everything is extremely tasty, fresh, imaginative and worthy of the finest restaurants around. My partner has a gluten intolerance which they were more than prepared to accommodate. If you are staying elsewhere in Rethymnon, we would strongly recommend visiting for a meal. We'd also recommend doing the olive oil tasting with Vassilis.

Every member of staff was brilliant, from the extremely helpful girls on reception to the impeccable service from Stelios. We were made to feel welcome and looked after like never before.

If you are weighing up whether to visit this hotel, just do it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary at KV and we are both so glad we did. I won't go into the details of the background to the village, as others have articulated it well but it certainly is the case of the owner's dream being turned into a wonderful reality. This is one rare instance of the website almost understating the beauty of the place. The atmosphere is almost hypnotically calm, all staff are friendly, helpful and professional, the accommodation is brilliant but I will save my final praise for the food; absolutely delicious and to my mind, excellent value.

I'LL BE BACK!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pegasus. It has a huge terrace and views over the pool and the sea. Because it is fairl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Kapsaliana Village hotel is one the most unique boutique hotels we visited in the last 10 years. great big rooms, with a lot of privacy, peaceful location, nice pool, last but not least exceptional food. A new, young and very talented chef started at the hotel three months ago. He uses the slow food philosophy. Great local ingredients, the Greek kitchen combined with a lot of passion. Cook is (almost) working on Michelin star level!!! Prices of wine and food are in our eyes more than reasonable. We will come back one day!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapsaliana Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapsaliana Village Hotel

Address: Adele, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapsaliana Village Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Kapsaliana Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapsaliana Village Hotel Greece/Adele, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapsaliana Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.