We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place; great service - very isolated location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Castelo de Alvito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Castelo de Alvito to your Saves list
Pousada de Castelo de Alvito
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castelo de Alvito, Alvito 7920-999 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alvito
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place; great service - very isolated location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

During our first visit to Portugal in October, 2012 we chose Castelo de Alvito because it appeared to be centrally located during our visit to the Alentejo region. The castle is beautifully restored and decorated, quite comfortable with very helpful and professional staff for such a small place. Due to the time of year and weather we did not take advantage of the pool and gardens. The restaurant, with its vaulted ceiling and wall of arched windows looking out to the castle courtyard offers a stunning atmosphere for very nice dining - a stark contrast to anything else nearby. We had dinner and breakfast there and the food was good. There were not many guests at the castle, so we were the only ones in the dining room and the service was outstanding. It offers a great value compared to the Pousada in Evora, however be aware that it is "centrally isolated" in a small, depressed village with no other attractions. Evora is a 45 minute drive and the suggested routes to most other points of interest are via Evora. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a quiet stopover in a beautiful castle for a reasonable cost. My only real complaint is wi-fi is only available in the bar. They provide free access for 30 minutes at a time. After 30 minutes you lose your connection and must get a new ID/Password from the desk. A minor inconvenience for a stay in a 15th century castle.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room and found it quite adequate and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
47
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here back in July. We paid the extra for a superior room and I would recommend doing the same. The room we had was superb, spacious and had an amazing view. Walking into the room for the first time there was a real wow factor. I'm also glad we stayed here and not in Evora. Beja and Evora are both easy day trips from here and it is just wonderful to retreat to the sanctity of Alvito (although don't expect much in the way of entertainment or dining options). The one thing that let this place down and meant we couldn't give it five stars was the service in the restaurant. First night we ate there our waiter just kept trying to upsell us at every opportunity, second time the service was very, very slow. Aside from the restaurant we had no issues. Lovely pool and wonderful peacocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Pousada in Alvito in October 2012. We booked the suite, which was stunning - about 10m by 10m with a very high domed ceiling with intricate pierced plaster work. The views from the 2 windows were beautiful. Breakfast was fine, similar to other pousadas, although we didn't have dinner there. Hotel staff were helpful, no private car park, but it was very easy to park near the entrance. Nice gardens, complete with peacocks. Village of Alvito is pretty, with a cafe and pharmacy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked the turret suite so our family could stay in the same room for one of the few times in Europe. Magnificent decor and views. Restaurant was good for breakfast but looked a bit pricey for dinner so we went into the village and ate well. Quiet and somewhat depressed village with not that much to do but great for a one-night stopover

Room Tip: The suite was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Pousada de Castelo de Alvito dominates the small town, so full of activity during the day and one of the delights is relaxing in your room watching the world go by. Having stayed in pousadas before, we were aware of their differing characters. The pousada itself is magnificent with everything a guest could want. The castle has been impressively renovated, but still retains an old world feel.The staff are great and chatting to them elicits information and background to their lives and the ethos behind the pousada group.
We are always intrigued by the menu which pousadas offer, being local and in many cases, unknown dishes. Both nights we ate there, the meals were superb, particulary the lamb dish. The chicken pie as a starter was wonderful and could have been a main course. One dessert option was a selection of the local dishes, which we took, and it was a delight identifying the various tastes.
We will return to Alvito and would have no hesitation in recommending the pousada.

Room Tip: Corner suite in tower overlooking the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked this hotel as one of 6 we stayed in on a trip around the south of Portugal. It was far and away the most expensive - over 300 euros for 3 nights b and b as a special 'over-55s' package.
The castle was pleasantly restored but did not appear to be attracting many visitors. On the second morning of our stay, the buffet breakfast was cancelled and we were served a plated selection of goods. We found services pretty good except for the lack of hot water when we first arrived. I noticed, however, other users of the restaurant on the second morning having to wait a long time for a waiter to appear.
The gardens were disappointlng in that they looked as if they were in the process of being revamped - apparently this was not the case. The poussada had been open some 20 years so I would have expected less bare earth. The peacocks were interesting but finding a dead chick in the flower border was not the best part of the stay.
The room was very nice but on the small side - should I have expected such lack of space from a castle room?
I stayed in 5 other hotels in Portugal - all much cheaper. My favourite was the Hotel Moura in Moura at a third of the Poussada price - much better value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent a memorable week in this restored beautiful castle. Received 5star service from all staff and only too eager to help. Rooms superb food very good, breakfast enormous. Would recommend to anyone who wanted a romantic peaceful holiday. Peacocks are magnificent. Surrounding area beautiful, local lake worth a visit. Local people most welcoming and very helpful. Although attractions are a pleasant drive away well worth visiting. I was concerned about driving but this was not worth worrying about as most day we travelled 15-20 km without seeing another car. Thanks to all the staff at the castle for making it our best holiday ever.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the beautiful garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Castelo de Alvito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Castelo de Alvito

Address: Castelo de Alvito, Alvito 7920-999 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Alvito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alvito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Castelo de Alvito 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada do Alvito opened in 1993 after the recuperation of the fifteenth century castle. This building has been classified, since 1910, as a National Monument and an example of the best of the Portuguese architecture, which combines the architecture of the fortress and palatial residence and of Islamic, gothic and Manueline influences. The Alentejo village of Alvito is found around 30 km from Beja. A place that that both couples and families find inviting for relaxation in a splendid location surrounded by luxury, charm and finesse. Stepping out on the outdoor patio we can appreciate a view of the magical flickering lights from the Castle wall lights. Staying the night at the Alvito Castle is a great excuse for a romantic getaway and will delight all those who choose to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Castelo de Alvito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Castelo De Alvito Hotel Alvito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Castelo de Alvito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.