We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Vale do Gaio

Save Saved
You added Pousada Vale do Gaio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Vale do Gaio
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Barragem Vale Do Gaio, Torrao 7595-034 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Torrao B&B and Inns
Cascais
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I've stayed in Pousada Vale do Gaio for a weekend with some friends and it was simply amazing. The views were breathtaking, the food was delicious, the staff was extremely friendly, helpful and polite . The pool area is not very big i think it is just perfect for the cozy feel of the hotel. A big big big big plus is the deck on the outside with chilout vibe and spectacular views (i could never get enough of that). It is perfect for getaway because you will find yourself far from everything.

We've stayed in a standard double room and a family room. The rooms were average but i was hoping that the spectacular outside matched the inside but it was not. The family room needs painting. Small downside.

I will definitely return. It the perfect place for a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place is unique and magical! Those looking for peace and privileged contact with nature is here. Its perfect location near the dam, the cozy outdoor space, the pool make this inn a wonderful place. All staff is very available to answer any request and are very friendly. The restaurant is extraordinary! Visit because it really worth ...

Andreia Santos

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is indeed a nice, relaxing pousada in the middle of nowhere. But if you are not a dog lover, it might not be the right place to stay. The owner of the place has two big dogs, which seem to have no restrictions moving around on the premises. They were even allowed in the pool area, which was somehow irritating. Also in the restaurant area there was no way to escape from the dog atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Vale do Gaio is paradise within an hour's drive from Lisbon. It is as if it were your own house, with the advantage that you don't have to do anything -- everything is done for you, in a simple, natural way. The staff is very professional and are always available (they'll get you fresh herbal tea, for instance -- and where do you get something as good and healthy like that in a hotel?), wonderful rooms, a very sweet, country-house decoration, and great food. (The owners are also the owners of a well-known restaurant in Lisbon --XL -- so they wouldn't forget how important it is to have good meals and wine in such a great place.) Beautiful natural environment, on the bank of the dam, this small hotel is a place we've chosen as our second house, not only if we need to rest but also when we need to work hard, away from our Lisbon's office. We do not hesitate to recommend it; it is as charming a place as you can get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South salem, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here for a few days with two families with youngsters. Loved the food, loved the surroundings, loved the running through fields covered in wildflowers, loved the kayaking, loved the dogs, loved the bicycling, loved the decor, loved the candles and firepits, loved the bunkbeds for the kids, loved the cows, loved the pigs, loved the swallows, loved the fishermen, loved Vasco, loved the 'paparazzi' flying in via helicopter for Easter dinner... loved everything about it. And you will too!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room overlooking the reservoir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Vale do Gaio, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay at Pousada de Vale do Gaio.
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments about the activities, the décor and the ambience.
We hope to be able to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Many thanks to all the staff for the incredible holidays I had in the Pousada... Such a beautifull and relaxing place. Realy Fantastic, ideal before a new working year starts... My special compliments to all the cooking staff which gave me the best meals ever had (and 2 more kilos, as well). Hope to see you very very soon. Bye Isabel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Have just got back from our 5 day break which we cut short by one day. We live on the Algarve and in August its pure chaos here so we were looking for a quiet tranquil place to relax and re charge the batteries and be pampered for a few days just to get away from it all. We came across this Poudasa and it looked like it ticked all the boxes, we emailed the owners explaining what we needed and we were assured that if it was peace and quiet we would be happy. With only 14 rooms and an unknown amount of guests we checked into what on the surface seemed idyllic . But the peace was soon shattered by loud Portuguese parents and even loader children screaming all day by the only pool, we were not pampered either we had to help ourselves to drinks and mark down what we had on a piece of paper (which is very trusting) but not being pampered. The food in the very well set restaurant was OK on the first night but a lack of choice was soon a big issue as most of the dished were very oily and tasted the same, we noticed on a few occasions other guests pushing their food around the plate. The bedroom was great and clean and we probably has the best room No 15 for the view BUT every night the AC or Water pump system made a horrendous noise for 20 minutes keeping us awake, then the new puppy dog Obama would bark soon after making getting back to sleep somewhat hard. We were very disappointed overall and as the stay was not cheap we felt we had been short changed. with 4 days running at a little over 1,000 Euros the self service drinks by the pool, limited oily meals in the evening and noisy room every night we had to leave one day early and return back to the chaos of the Algarve but no doubt a good nights sleep in our own bed with no noises to keep us awake, sorry to say not impressed at this price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Vale do Gaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vale do Gaio

Address: Barragem Vale Do Gaio, Torrao 7595-034 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Setubal District > Torrao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torrao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Vale do Gaio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the deep heart of Alentejo, over a beautiful dam, you will find the stunning Vale do Gaio Hotel. It is the perfect place for those who appreciate the culinary delights of the region and enjoy hunting, fishing, walking and other sports such as biking, bow & arrow, canoeing and more. Surrounded by the natural beauty of the great outdoors, our guests at Vale do Gaio Inn share an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Vale do Gaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Vale do Gaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.