We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fonseca Winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jose Maria de Fonseca

Jose Maria de Fonseca
Rua Jose Augusto Coelho, 11-13 | Vila Nogueira, Azeitao, Portugal
351-212-199-8940
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Jose Maria de Fonseca like an insider
Private Tour
$51*
and up
Private Tour: Arrábida Day Trip from Lisbon...
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Azeitao
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jose Maria da Fonseca is one of Portugal's largest and most prestigious wine companies, begun in 1834 and run with undiminished passion since that date by the same family. The winery is in the charming village of Vila Nogueira de Azeitao, where visitors are welcome to tour the museum and cellars where many of Fonseca's wines are aged, including Periquita, Portugal oldest red wine. Another must-see is the Setubal Moscatel cellar, in which wines as old as the company itself slumber in their hallowed and tranquil vault. These Moscatels belong to the private collection of the Soares Franco family, of whom the sixth generation now heads the company. The tour ends with a wine tasting. At the Wine Shop you may buy that special wine or gourmet regional product for a friend.Tours occurs everyday from 10.00am to 12.00, and from 2.30pm to 5.30pm.
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fonseca Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited this winery during a Lisbon Rider Tour, thanks to NuNu. It was set in the village of Azeitao, where we also enjoyed some Moscatel wine, desert and cheese prior to our wine tour. We found the tour fascinating and full of history. It was wonderful to be able to walk the grounds and enter into the actual cellars that house the wine. Of special interest was the huge barrels and stories surrounding the Setubal Moscatel cellar - we were able to see the locked/barred vault of which the family has stored special vintages for many generations. The tour ends with a very generous wine tasting and an opportunity to purchase some of the wines :) If you are interested in history and wines, I would recommend stopping at this winery.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFWinery, Manager at Jose Maria de Fonseca, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Marrianna,

Thank you for tanking some of your precious time writing a review about your experience at José Maria da Fonseca Winery
Your suggestions and feedback are extremely important for us in order to continue to welcome our costumers even better.
Hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Sofia Soares Franco
Winetourism and Communication Manger
Member of the 7th generation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“nice tour but dont go out of your way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we love vineyard tours of all our travels and read about this one since we had some time when we first arrived in lisbon on our way to driving to the algarve. nice history but not really picturesque or memorable. interesting to see how the muscatel is stored you dont actually go out to the vineyard or sample any wine overlooking any pretty areas

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFWinery, Manager at Jose Maria de Fonseca, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Honest46,

Thank you for tanking some of your precious time writing a review about your experience at José Maria da Fonseca Winery
Your suggestions and feedback are extremely important for us in order to continue to welcome our costumers even better.
Hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Sofia Soares Franco
Winetourism and Communication Manger
Member of the 7th generation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This being our second visit to a winery in the area, we knew that we would be unlikely to see any wine production. However the young lady who was our guide was extremely informative giving us a history of the family and the company. She also showed us some very old equipment used in the wine making process and explained its use. The cellars are impressive and the story of the journey of barrels of Moscatel to Brazil and back are intriguing. The house which was occupied until the 70's is very beautiful and the grounds are pretty too. Needless to say the wine tasting at the end of tour is very enjoyable. If in doubt which wine tour to go on, make sure it is this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFWinery, Manager at Jose Maria de Fonseca, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Mrs Peem,

Thank you for tanking some of your precious time writing a review about your experience at José Maria da Fonseca Winery
Your suggestions and feedback are extremely important for us in order to continue to welcome our costumers even better.
Hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Sofia Soares Franco
Winetourism and Communication Manger
Member of the 7th generation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Definitely a good place for a business meal which will impress any customer and will give them a flavor of one of the best Portuguese postcard;

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFWinery, Gerente at Jose Maria de Fonseca, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Pedro,

Thank you for tanking some of your precious time writing a review about your experience at José Maria da Fonseca Winery
Your suggestions and feedback are extremely important for us in order to continue to welcome our costumers even better.
Hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.

Obrigada!
Sofia Soares Franco
Winetourism and Communication Manger
Member of the 7th generation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
806 reviews 806 reviews
476 attraction reviews
Reviews in 267 cities Reviews in 267 cities
2,316 helpful votes 2,316 helpful votes
“Comprehensive Tour and Tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My group spent about an hour and a half here touring the winery, the cellars, and enjoying a tasting. Founded in 1834, Jose Maria da Fonseca is one of the oldest producers of table wines and Setubal dessert wines in Portugal. The wines are quite good; the nicest red apparently is a big seller - Adega do Periquita - and it is readily available in the States; it is rich and full-bodied and seems as though it would go perfectly with meats and cheeses.

We sampled several vintages of Muscatel, all delightful, and we learned that this winery is responsible for producing Lancers Wine. I shudder to remember this icon of the sixties. Yick!

It was great fun to visit the cellars and the gardens and buildings are worth the price of admission. The tour is much more comprehensive than most. Enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFWinery, Gerente at Jose Maria de Fonseca, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for tanking some of your precious time writing a review about your experience at José Maria da Fonseca Winery
Your suggestions and feedback are extremely important for us in order to continue to welcome our costumers even better.
Hope that we can welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Sofia Soares Franco
Winetourism and Communication Manger
Member of the 7th generation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Maria de Fonseca also viewed

Vila Nogueira de Azeitao, Setubal District
Setubal, Setubal District
 
Azeitao, Setubal District
Azeitao, Setubal District
 

Been to Jose Maria de Fonseca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jose Maria de Fonseca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.