We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poca Da Dona Beija

Poca Da Dona Beija
Lomba das Barracas, Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-044, Portugal
+351 296 584 256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Furnas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this thermal hot spring bath area on our honeymoon. What a surprise! The area was beautiful, clean and serene. The man working the entrance was so helpful and kind. He gave us a bunch more info on local places to see on our way out. The pools are clean and warm. The set up is fantastic. The changing rooms are clean. It was not crowded and the 2 euro entrance fee was well worth it. I guess other thermal pools in the area do not have clear water, like this place. We loved it and would definitely visit again! They also have many other locally made goods and gifts for purchase. But the relaxation of it was by far the best benefit of all!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    64
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice warm bath, Good atmosphere in the Furnas Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good atmosphere in the heart of famous Furnas Valley, nice warm clean bath and warm water falling on your back, place to change your clothes, man who guards your things, benches to relax, low price. Main attraction in Furnas village.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Warm water, warm hearts, warm memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A lovely, natural feeling place……….really relaxing. The whole area is very well-kept & attended, with a friendly patrol keeping a watch over belongings etc. The owner is a kind, honest & very friendly gent (we know he is honest as I lost a necklace on the grass, one day & he had it waiting for me the next, without knowing I would ever return!) The baths are rather like a small canal, separated off into sections & running alongside a cold spring, into which you can dip alternately, if the heat is too much! They are very natural, so prepare for slightly slippery rock & orange deposits, which initially seem as if they will stain but in our case, came off after a quick wash. There are a few steep stone steps into the water but with a helping hand, most people should be able to access them. You will be standing, or holding onto an edge & floating your legs, unless you are quick & grab one of the two stone seats that are placed under the water spouts... just great! Just outside the gates is easy, free parking. As you enter & pay, you are given a large rigid plastic carrier bag, to use for your belongings & directed to very clean, basic changing rooms, with cubicles, where there is also a loo. There is also a small shop at the entrance. There is no time limit and there are benches & grass verges on which you can catch a bit of sun. At night, the lighting transforms the place & it seems even more relaxing & romantic……..a lovely oasis! If I lived within a 10 mile radius, I would go every day & with such a reasonable price, could afford to! Bronwen

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very relaxing experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went later in the evening as it was getting dark, and it was a very relaxing experience to just sit and soak in the spring-fed pools of hot water. The on-site facilities were great (just be prepared to rinse off in a cold water only shower). The admission price was excellent, and the availability of rental towels is very convenient. The owner was very social and pleasant to speak with and took great pride in providing an enjoyable experience to his guests. We would love to go back again, and would recommend to others.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
“Loved the hot water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The price is really low! I loved it! its a very romantic place to visit when you're on your honeymoon!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poca Da Dona Beija also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Sao Miguel, Azores
 

Been to Poca Da Dona Beija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poca Da Dona Beija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.