We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat or Meat?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mars Bar

Mars Bar
Rua da Oliveira, Manta Rota, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Manta Rota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mars Bar is one of the most popular restaurants in Manta Rota. I see that there are only two restaurants noted in the Tripadvisor guide. There are at least ten good restaurants and as many cafes in this area. I am happy to give reviews but Mars Bar should be mentioned. Kind regards. Charles McEvoy
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Meat or Meat?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A rack of ribs is always tempting but we were disappointed afterwards. Loads of them, even though we shared. The BBQ sauce is a bit too much and we all wished we'd had a salad.
Our friends with steak found them on the tough side.
Service is mixed. A great place to watch the sport on sky if that's your idea of fun in the sun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food, large selection, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a fun place to eat. Food is fab and not your normal portugese fare. Food is chicken or meat based and has a large vegetarian menu. Very tasty and well presented with plenty of food on the plate. Salads are fab too. Great selection in the bar especially the large drink portions! You must visit this Mars Bar if going to the East Algarve. Great value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“English pub food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The name of this restaurant is confusing. It is clearly not a bistro. And the food is clearly not Portuguese oriented, but merely English pub food. Although the food tastes reasonable we were disappointed about it. The service was good but we had to wait for quite some time before our food was served. If this is the best restaurant in Manta Rota than Manta Rota is not the place for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria b, Owner at Mars Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant/ bistro. I am happy to hear you found the food reasonable and the service good. I apologize for the wait. We hope you might give us another chance. If not there are some wonderful other restaurants in our beautiful Manta Rota.
Best regards,
Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spare ribs to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After an exhausting day lounging on the beach at Manta Rota treat yourselves to a superb meal at Mars/Avi's culinery delight.My wife and i were introduced to Mars Bar about four years ago by two of our good friends Graham /Sandra when we bought our property in Costa Esuri.
Every visit to Costa Esuri,and we must go to Mars Bar.The spare ribs are to die for,along with the rest of the food on the menu.The staff are always friendly,and polite.Well done we can't wait for July holidays.When we shall be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant came recommended by our villa owners (Villa Alfarouba), in what can only be referred to as a very sleepy town of Manta Rota this restaurant truly is a gem. I'm often scared off by huge menus as I believe in the adage of do a few things well rather than a heap mediocre but Mars Bar bucks the trend. The ribs were tender, the chicken juicy, the Iberico pork special delightful all topped off delicious side salads and inspiring homemade garlic sauce and ranch dressing.......lest not to mention the equally scrummy sangria. The setting is typical of Eastern Algarve, so don't expect Rattan furniture and long stem glasses but accept your location. Service was fantastic and the constant stream of customers a sign of the reputation they have built. Many thanks for a great meal enjoyed by everyone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Bar also viewed

Manta Rota, Faro District
Manta Rota, Faro District
 
Manta Rota, Faro District
Manta Rota, Faro District
 

Been to Mars Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mars Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.