We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fonte da Pedra

Fonte da Pedra
Avenida da Liberdade, Sao Bras de Alportel 8150-151, Portugal
+351 289 841 413
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sao Bras de Alportel, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good location fro home although didn't get that friendly vibe that you would get at some of the other local restaurants. Normally either the owner or at least the chef/waiters would chat with you and get to know you a little better, not evident here...food was ok

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    20
    11
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit. Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The atmosphere is very warm, the service is very professional, polite, fast and friendly, prices are more than OK for the type of service and food, and the food, everything must be tasted. I could go there for an entire week over and over. The selection of appealing dishes is enormous and the portions are very rich. Regarding the children issues I read on previous posts, the boy is very friendly and polite. My favorite place in Sao Bras.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta Stuart
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Screaming child...... and it was the owners!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent food, but sadly Germanic owner who let her child run screaming for two hours whilst we ate and would not accept our comments. especially as we had paid for a baby sitter that night. Good luck but good bye, not a cent will pass my hands in their direction. Ever

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Food okay - Service not!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was our second visit to Fonte da Pedra in as many years. The food on the whole was okay on both occasions with a variety of entrees and main courses. There is a good selection of fish dishes and steaks but this time each diner was charged 1.50eu for the bread & olive nibbles instead of being offered the choice. The lasting memory of our visit however will be the total lack of customer service by one of the servers. Ok, it may the end of the season and we maybe not be ‘regulars’ but his attitude, rudeness and curt responses affected all our party. It doesn't take much to be helpful or courteous as customers should always be encouraged to return... However after this occasion we won’t be going back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eros11, Owner at Fonte da Pedra, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear guest! We are running our Restaurante as a family business since 13 years and our top fo the top priority is that our guests are satisfied! Working in the service means to me working day and night!! My staff is trained to be polite and welcoming!! If there is any reason for complain I am around to listen to my guests - and we threat the regulars equally ... I am very sorry about your complain and also very sad I couldn't do anything to "repair the damage"! I think in the future you should give any place a chance before publish negative comments - since we have sooo many great clients through the years and they all adore my staff and come back over years.. Thanks for that... And please accept my appologize!! Best regards Conny - Fonte da Pedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK North West
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent food, even better price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

In August 2011 the prices were great, I had steak for around 10 Euros.
Excellent steak and fish kebabs. The steak-on-the-stone is fantastic as is the fillet with pepper sauce. Very tasty.
Decent service too.
Car parking is plentiful.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonte da Pedra also viewed

Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
 
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
 

Been to Fonte da Pedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonte da Pedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.