We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Vila Velha - CLOSED

Restaurante Vila Velha
Rua Gago Coutinho, Sao Bras de Alportel 8150-151, Portugal
289 098 520
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent seven days in Portugal last September and this restaurant, the food and their attention deserve a special mention. Special people in beautiful country.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The atmosphere is perfect, kind of rustic and modern, exquisite food but very pleasant. Loved it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Vila Velha - a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stumbled onto this absolutely rustic restaurant when we were driving back from Faro to Seville. The ambiance is so completely tranquil and totally relaxing - like being in a spa! The food (by Chef Hubert) is awesome. My kids still talk about it till today. If only Portugal is not that far from Malaysia, we would, with all certainty, make a weekly visit!

On the service side, Kevin is a top notch Restaurant Manager - extremely professional. We do recommend that a meal at Vila Velha as one of the highlights of your visit to the Algarve.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I visited this pleasant restaurant and it was a really good surprise. First the atmosphere is friendly and the ambiance "cosy". From the starters till the desserts it was an explosion of savours with an extremely good quality of food. We also appreciated the service. Both of us were seduced by this restaurant settled in the historic center of the town. I personally recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

It's a shame that we didn't discover this restaurant until the last day of our holiday as we certainly would have visited again. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and we felt instantly at ease. Unfortunately the atmosphere was a bit muted as it was very quiet due to it being the end of the season.

I had stuffed quail to start which was well cooked and nicely seasoned. The rest of my family had prawns and very much enjoyed them. Me and my Dad had skate with Portuguese sauce for main course which was nice however I prefer my skate pan fried and this was poached which changed the texture slightly. My partner had pork wrapped in filo pastry which he enjoyed but found to be very rich.

Overall a good experience and we would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Vila Velha also viewed

Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
 
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Vila Velha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.