We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“think very carefully before booking here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monte da Bravura - Green Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte da Bravura - Green Resort to your Saves list
Monte da Bravura - Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cotifo | Caixa Postal 1003 F, Bensafrim 8600-077, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bensafrim B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“think very carefully before booking here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

totally agree with jennier 015 22 oct
we had booked for 14 nights arrived 7 july we got a bit lost and consequently arrived late all place in darkness got thro on intercom gates opened drove to top of drive owner was there i did appologise for our lateness to wwhich i got no response at all just a frosty look .having shown us to our room in an unkind manner said you shiul have rang to which i raplied i couldnt find number at this time felt quiet uneasy about reception we got .next morning at breakfast virtually ignored us .to cut a long story short was quite afew other key points never felt comfotable at any time here .so by the 10 july after 3 days couldnt stand this anymore find somewhere else handed keys to him which he replied why & told him in no uncertain terms why we where leaving.just to finish with i am a really easy going person who can get on with most people except this one if you are booking just take this on board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We’ve recently returned from this wonderful retreat which is situated in the lovely countryside where you can enjoy the peaceful surroundings and charm. Our room was kept lovely and clean and we had the most comfortable huge bed, the grounds are also kept nicely. The breakfast provided was lovely, especially the fresh fruit which is their own grown produce, the breakfast lounge itself is quite unique which has nice furniture and is decorated beautifully with a lovely atmosphere. The best restaurants in Lagos town are further towards the castle in the main square, one of our favourites was Dos Artistas (expensive) but the food was fab. We also ate at a local restaurant just outside Odiaxere (unfortunately I can’t remember the name of it) but had a really nice meal. This was a Thomson’s package holiday and overall we paid a reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our 2nd year staying with Fernado & Elisabete at Monte da Bravura and what another wonderful week we had. Accommodation - superb, food - superb (Elisabete makes the best cakes); scenery - superb; atmosphere - superb. We always enjoy our stay and the hospitality is fabulous. This is the only vacation place we ever visited twice and we'll go back again next year. The only place we can ever truly relax.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an escape in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.
Barry & Angela Cooper, London UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this on strength of other reviews and were not disappointed. Everything positive that has been said before is true and anything negative so contrary to our experience. Please believe us this is as really wonderful place for a tranquil algarve holiday in stunning surroundings and in beautiful countryside. Even without Fernando and his wife Elisabeth Monte da Bravura exceeds expectations and is surprisingly understated in the Thomsons Simply Travel brochure. Fernando is charming, anything but anti-British and the most perfect host imaginable. He is passionate about so much and a truly interesting character but will not intrude into your privacy. He will advise on local restaurants, places to visit etc and engaging him about his folk museum exhibits is worthwhile if you are into that sort of thing. We were allowed to use our room (really a suite) until 5.30 on day of departure without charge.He and his wife have created a prefect haven in their small hotel. Whilst a car is essential it is no great drive to anywhere in the beautiful western algarve and the back roads a mile or so from the hotel take you though magnificent unspoilt countryside either into the mountains or to the stunning unspoilt beaches west of Luz in no time at all. Lagos and its many restaurants are 10 minutes away, though it is worth taking up Fernando's suggestion of a visit to the local chicken piri piri eat in/ takeout in Oxiadere. Looks like a chippy but great atmosphere and food at good value.
The other guests when we were there were German and Dutch but English is the universal language. Really surprised that after so many gushing (but accurate) reviews this place is not overrun with us Brits and booked up for months in advance. Poor marketing, Thomsons, but suits us because we will definitely be returning. Any complaints? Blessed mosquitos bit me alive on last two days after we left door open but I am sure Fernando would have come and swatted them if we had asked.....

Room Tip: Get room / suite on lower level for greater privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A warm welcome, a fine, very clean room with all facilities and a fantastic view. What more can you ask for? We have certainly enjoyed ourselves in this boutique resort. This hotel was a great base for our daily travels. It is close to Lagos (very nice city) and yet remote enough to feel far away from the touristic huzzle and buzzle... The pool was still a bit cold this early in the season but the perfect breakfast made up for this.

Room Tip: rooms 12 and 14 are the oldest and not be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place for a quiet relaxing break. The owners, Fernando & Elisabeth were marvelous in every respect and were always on hand to offer info or assistance when required. The rooms were great and were very clean and tidy. The breakfast was always excellent with a wide election of fruit etc. Similarly each day there was either scrambled eggs, bacon or boiled eggs available. There was also a selection of cold meats and cheese. Absolutely no complaints about the breakfast and it always set you up for the day.

Fernando offers guest a great insight to the local sites/ beaches plus he provides a personal guide to the best restaurants to visit in the area. We stayed for 2 weeks and my biggest disappointment was that we weren't staying longer. First class in every respect and warrants the plaudits. We would hope to return in the near future but I suspect booking early may be a requirement going forward

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Here's a copy of the endorsement I've just sent to the owner:

"Dear Elisabeth and Fernando,
Many thanks to you both for looking after Jennie and me so well during our holiday at your wonderful hotel at Monte da Bravura in September. We enjoy visiting as many different places as we can for our holidays, and we believe that you have developed a very special and unique location. You provide a very warm welcome to each and every one of your guests, which is very much appreciated, and this helps everybody to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and surroundings.

We will always have happy memories of the “surprise dinner” in particular, and we looked forward to every breakfast time especially – what a great way to start each day!

We hope that you can both now enjoy some peace and quiet of your own, as you relax a little during the winter months. However, I know you will be making plans already to welcome new visitors in 2013 and we hope that you will have continuing success at Monte da Bravura for many years to come.

Thank-you again for providing such a lovely holiday (photos attached)."

Room Tip: all rooms are great.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte da Bravura - Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Bravura - Green Resort

Address: Cotifo | Caixa Postal 1003 F, Bensafrim 8600-077, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Bensafrim
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bensafrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte da Bravura - Green Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to laze away your days in the luxury of no one knowing where you are or what you're doing? Then the rustic-style Bravura will be right up your alley. Standing alone in sensationally scenic countryside, you really will feel like you're at the end of the line here. It's just you, the Monchique Mountains in the distance and lashings of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte da Bravura - Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte da Bravura - Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.