We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte da Bravura - Green Resort

Save Saved
You added Monte da Bravura - Green Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monte da Bravura - Green Resort
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cotifo | Caixa Postal 1003 F, Bensafrim 8600-077, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bensafrim B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked this having seen the reviews on TripAdvisor and wanting somewhere quiet where we could relax, away from tourism yet near enough to some beaches.... well this place gave us pretty much all we wanted.

Nestled up in the hills on a quiet dead end road (car is essential), and about 8km from the nearest large town Lagos, the resort is perfect for those of you looking for some peace and quiet to relax. The car park is down at the bottom of a short twisting drive up to the resort, we weren't sure whether to drive up at first.. but that's the best decision to do when arriving. On leaving the car we were met by Fernando who welcomed us and showed us around the resort and to our room. You can tell from the start that the owners have a lot of pride in what they have put together at the resort.

The resort rooms are split into two sections, the lower being single level open plan rooms with small kitchenettes, and the upper ones are split level with the bedroom being upstairs but no kitchenette but do have a fridge and microwave.. and this was where we were booked. To be honest, we were concerned at first that we couldn't cook for ourselves, but Fernando explained how cheap and great the local food is and he is correct. We ate out every night at the restaurants he recommended and enjoyed ourselves each time, and it was so cheap as the places are not there for the tourists, but the locals.

The beds are MASSIVE and you have loads of room to roll around ;) however bear in mind they are a bit hard if you are not used to it.

The resort has two pools, one shallower and nearer the rooms, and one deeper. Both are small in size, but perfect for the personal size of the resort.

The resort is B&B and they grow their own fruit in the gardens on the hill in front of the resort. Breakfast each morning was lovely and in a continental style, and once Fernando and Elizabeth knew our favorites.. they ensured we were provided each morning without having to ask. We loved the freshly squeezed orange juice, and chopped fruits they had grown... and the bread and tomato! my partner is Catalan and used to traditional 'pa i tomaquet' and they had spread tomatoes which she found were amazing, just like home.

The nearest village is about 6km away, and contains a number of the restaurants and small shops you'd need. There is a large supermarket on the edge of Lagos, which we used to buy us some bread, meat and cheese for packed lunches on the beaches.

We really must recommend the fish restaurant in Silves called 'Rui Marisqueria'. Was about 20km away but it was the highlight of the trip. Fresh sea food and at very reasonable price. Must try the 'Green Wine'... delicious and perfect with seafood.

If you want your holidays busy and mainstream, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you want peace, quiet, a lovely location, and the feeling of staying in someones home... then do check this place out.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchen's tend to get rented to guests staying over a week. But we preferred the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a lovely week at Monte da Bravura in May. The beautiful peaceful location, and surrounding green hills gave a feeling of relaxation. The rooms in the guest house were comfortable and spacious. The breakfasts delicious The hosts very attentive and friendly who had tried to make our stay happy and interesting. We enjoyed our stay there stay. Zofia and Alan .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent a week here for a well needed holiday, and it certainly did the trick of allowing us to relax and unwind! It is a beautiful place, which has been thoughtfully and tastefully developed. We spent many a relaxing day by the pool or enjoying drinks on the terrace in the evenings. Fernando and Elizabeth were very welcoming and friendly, and were able to make suggestions for restaurants, beaches and activities in the area. Our apartment was lovely, very clean and spacious with basic self catering facilities which allowed us to make simple meals. The appartment was simply but effectively furnished with antiques and a huge custom made iron bed. We had one of the split level rooms to the right as you go up the drive. Fernando showed us one of the other rooms which I think had a full kitchen but we preferred having the separate bedroom and also felt that the split level appartment seemed more spacious and airy.The breakfasts were amazing, something we really looked forward to each day, with an array of fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurts, meats and cheeses as well as freshly squeezed juice and coffee- a great start to the day! The location is so peaceful and surrounded by beautiful countryside, which was great as we had chosen this place based on the fact that we needed a relaxing break to get away from it all. The drive into Lagos is around 15 minutes, but there are some restaurants and shops within a five minute drive. All in all a wonderful stay in a beautiful place that I have already recommended to many of my friends and family.

Room Tip: Split level appartments have a separate bedroom and seem more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is one of those lovely places that you think, if I tell everyone, they'll all want to come ... It is a seriously gorgeous place isolated from the tourist throng, yet only 15 minutes from Lagos and the beach at Port de Mos, 30 minutes from the west coast quiet beaches of the Atlantic. From breakfast on the terrace, to the pool, it is like having your own villa in the Algarve without having to do any of the work - Fernando and Elizabet are the perfect hosts. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had a lovely week in this beautiful resort. The owners, Fernando and Elizabeth, could not have been more welcoming and helpful with lots of good advice where to go and where to eat. Fernando is a font of knowledge on the history,nature and agriculture of the area. Breakfast on the terrace with homegrown fruit and produce was the perfect way to start the day. An ideal place if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Arrived to find Fernando and Elizabeth very welcoming.They were helpful with advice on visiting the local area and attractions. Very clean and spotless facilities. Nice breakfast and lovely dining area.
Great swimming pools. All in all if you want to visit Portugal and not stay in a busy beach resort
this is the place to stay. Peaceful and Tranquil. Colin and Donna.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had reviewed about ten Algarve resorts on-line before choosing this one...and the homework was very worthwhile. My partner and I stayed for a week and felt we could have stayed on for a month, so relaxing and friendly is this wonderful family run green resort.
The accomodation is well-appointed apartment style with beautiful minimalist antique furniture and huge beds. Breakfast, which is included, is sumptuous and never the same, the fruit and produce coming direct from the gardens along with home-baked breads.
Being a green resort the two swimming pools are chlorine and salt free: sparkling blue pools reflecting the ever-present dome of deep blue sky. Whatever you like to do, be it walking, local dining, beach trips, scenery are all easily accomodated from here, with plenty of advice available from Fernando and Elizabeth as to short-cuts and locally known beauty spots.
After only a week we felt relaxed and like members of the family; the resort does not push the green idea, but is beautifully run by the hosts, Elizabeth and Fernando who completed our holiday with their care and natural friendliness. (...and there is no problem being a Brit here!!!)
Thanks both!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monte da Bravura - Green Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Bravura - Green Resort

Address: Cotifo | Caixa Postal 1003 F, Bensafrim 8600-077, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Bensafrim
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bensafrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte da Bravura - Green Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to laze away your days in the luxury of no one knowing where you are or what you're doing? Then the rustic-style Bravura will be right up your alley. Standing alone in sensationally scenic countryside, you really will feel like you're at the end of the line here. It's just you, the Monchique Mountains in the distance and lashings of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Monte da Bravura - Green Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte da Bravura - Green Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.