We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Azul

Restaurante Azul
Rua 25 de Abril, 29-31, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-647, Portugal
+351 289 502 848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 36 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
preston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I ate here on a couple of occasions during our recent stay, both times we had excellent meals, for what they are, which is very typical of the whole area. No, its not fine dining, and I wouldn't say the Azul is excellent or get giddy and say its the best around just because we did have two great meals. What I will say is that the mixed meat kebab and grilled chicken are lovely and fantastic value. The fish soup is gorgeous and cheap (avoid the silly priced starters which really should only appear at that price on Michelin star menus) and you should have a good meal. The annoying couvert, which just appears at your table, should be sent back if you dont want it, or pick from it what you do want.
Overall, the best value around, and we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    84
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“SIMPLE GOOD VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

On each visit we tend to enjoy late lunches here when returning from the beach - this time on three occasions. Piri Piri chicken is delicious and so reasonable - half a small chicken with chips and salad, sardines are great. Have never eaten from the a la carte menu so cannot comment there. However we have always eaten well in this restaurant and have been happy with the friendly service. Nice location a little way up from the beach. On each occasion we have seen Portuguese clients eating there - usually enjoying Cataplana. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blarney, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude waiter , average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant and find it hard to see how anyone can say it was excellent.The menu while comprehensive enough has all the fish meals priced by weight (price per kilo) so you have to ask about how much your meal will cost. Asked about the prawns and the waiter huffed about having to answer. He left so we asked the waitress who in fairness was very helpful. When they arrived they were over done and very chewy. I had the belly of pork which just seems to be fried slices of belly of pork and again were chewy and tough.very disappointed by the meal and the waiter . . Will not be returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have visited this restaurant on a couple of occasions when we have been staying in Olhos d'agua or the surrounding areas.

We have always found the service to be extremely efficent and the restaurant offers great value for money. Piri Piri chicken is EURO 5 and is served with chips and salad, in our opinion it is really tasty, We have also tried the local fish and chips which again is really tasty and excellent value for money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A really good restaurant close to the beach, friendly staff and good service. The sardines were to die for. Thumbs up chef! You'll know what I mean when you see it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Azul also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Restaurante Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.