We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family holiday apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Horta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olhos de Agua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa da Horta
Save
You added Casa da Horta to your Saves list
Ed. Algarb, Fraccao C, Roja Pe, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-380, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good family holiday apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent our October family holiday here with children aged 6 & 8 (last week of the season). The grounds were smaller than I imagined but the children really enjoyed playing in the play park area. We didn't use the bbq's but they were everywhere so I expect people use them a lot in the summer. The staff were friendly and attentive. Any problems were dealt with quickly. Our apartment didn't have an oven and when I asked a member of staff if I could use one in another apartment (all were empty except for ours) I was told none of them had ovens. Later a new arrival told me her's had one! I had a look in some as renovation work had begun and they look lovely - modern shiney kitchens! Our 2 bed apartment (1) was comfortable and semi-homely. Take a corkscrew as most bottles have corks, unsurprisingly, and the one supplied is a hernia inducing pull out one. The second bedroom at the back has no window so might be stuffy in the summer. They loo paper has to be binned so it was really smelly (again might be a problem in summer). Someone left a scented candle so we lit that in there everyday and emptied the bin every evening. Not what I had planned to do on holiday. However this is an old character farm house with old plumbing afterall! It's a 5 min drive to Agua and close to M526 and N125 which we used daily. Overall I would recommend and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

First this place is not in Olhas D Agua it is in a small place outside it about 500m uphill from shops, bars etc. It is a good 1200m to Faleshia beach and about the same to Olhos D Agua. You are a one hour walk to Vilamoura along the beach heading South. Albuifeira is an hour in the other direction through Santa Eulalia.
The resorts themselves are first class with plenty of choice. A taxi is a good and affordable way around and there are plenty. There is also a good bus service.
There is a large supermarket on the way out of Olhas D Agua just past the public market.
Prices vary depending on where you go but its not an expensive place. When we were there at the end of the season there were loads of deals. Lunch and set menu options. The accomadation itself is utilitarian but well presented and clean. There are loads of areas to chill. It has brilliant built in barbeques and excellent outdoor furnishings. We got a week for about 175 pounds for the two of us. We arranged transfers using A To B transfers . They were punctual and organised. What made it for us was the weather it was superb. Would I go back, absolutely. One caveat though, we do a lot of walking. If this puts you off then hire a car.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely for families. secure and lovely pool area and really good children's play area. would recommend the owners restaurant also for very reasonable and lovely dinning on the beachfront
You will be met on arrival and everything is simple from there.
extended thanks to Anna and the owner for their hospitality - i will go again for sure. probably best to book the transfer from airport if arriving at night as although not far from Pine Cliffs you may not find easily at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I got married this year in the Algarve and we chose Casa da Horta to stay with all our friends and family. It really was the perfect place for all of us. I have seen every apartment and each one is different from the next but all really lovely.

The pool is absolutely spotless and the cleaners are always around tidying up the communal areas and I think every other day we had maid service in the room. We saw the man checking the pool water frequently and it really was completly perfect for swimming. The kids play area is great for the little ones, they enjoyed that.

I would say some of the rooms are probably a bit tired - not a bad thing, I think they are full of character. But probably needs a lick of paint at some point and tightening up a few screws here and there - but nothing that would impact anyone's holiday!

We all absolutely loved it and are already talking about a big family reunion next year as it's a great location and great value. Plus great staff about the place.

I would say you need a car - you can walk in about 25 minutes to town but when you are shopping and buying heavy bottles of water in the intense heat it wouldn't be ideal.

The owners are happy to pick you up and drop you back if you go to their restaurant / bar. We ended up doing loads of BBQ's due to our large number of guests but if we had been on our own we'd have gone there again. It was very good.

Great holiday and fabulous (fairly) rural retreat - we will be back in the near future!!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are great by the pool. The biggest is the one upstairs on the roof terrace which is a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhos de Agua, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Cute and quiet place. Wonderful to relax. The kids had the best time of their lives and are already asking if we can come back next year. The apartments are just what is needed for a holiday. The location is very relaxing, in between orange trees.
We recommend these apartments to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartford kent uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

my two young children, husband tobe and myself stayed at casa de horta in march for 10 nights. we booked direct with company and got good last minute discounts and free transfers from airport. they accomodated our children with cots, highchairs, microwave etc. everything we asks for was no trouble. the place lived up to its glossy pics on the website. all the staff were excellent. the accomadation was clean, large and well maintained inside and out.
it was great to be able to pick fresh oranges and lemons each morning with the children and make our own juice and smoothies.
the area was charming, true portugal... no posh hotels or bright lights, but lovely walks and fantastic views. nearest beaches were between 15- 30 mins walk, local shops and resturants were lovely. we didn't get a car in the end, we either walked or got taxi, this was fine for us as we love walking however if you dont like walking then i would recommend a car.
overall we had a perfect holiday and we will be returning in sept 2008.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

These apartments are great but quite far out and on a dark road walking back so I wouldn't recommend it to people with young children. Set in an orange grove it is a lovely relaxing location but you can get some creepy crawlies and things being so close to the grove. Apartments are a good size and well maintained. Better for a pool holiday rather than a beach one and I would recommend getting a car for at least a few days and seeing some of the places the Algarve has to offer because it is just fabulous. Not the place if you want to give your kids freedom but great if you are after a nice relaxing getaway. I was 13 when I went and had a great time but I think if I'd been a few years older I wouldn't have liked not having the freedom.

  • Liked — The different setting
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa da Horta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Horta

Address: Ed. Algarb, Fraccao C, Roja Pe, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-380, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa da Horta, literally ‘Orchard House’, is an 150 year old farmhouse thoughtfully converted to provide a picturesque cluster of charming apartments set amongst the tranquility of fragrant orange groves in Vale Carro, close to the fishing village of Olhos de Água, the golf course of Sheraton Hotel, Açoteias and the magnificent Falesia beach. 14 well-equipped cottage apartments, all similar in character but each unique in size and layout. Comfortable, clean and homely with a personal touch. (T1 or T2)Each unit has: 1 or 2 Bedroom(s) with double or twin comfortable beds and storage space with wardrobe. Lounge/Dining area (with comfortable double) Equipped kitchen with cooking facilities: fridge-freezer, crockery, utensils, electric kettle, toaster, etc. Bathroom with Shower and/or Bath Air-conditioning/heating, Satellite TV, Telephone. Safety features include fire extinguishers, fire blankets and smoke detectors. Outside - patio furnished with tables and chairs in wood and marble for outdoor dining.Access to communal facilities including Swimming pools, 3 BBQ and Pic nic areas, Gardens, Snooker/Pool table, Parking, etc. Prices include: Regular cleaning service. All household towels and linens. All utilities (gas, water, electricity). Air-conditioning and heating. Satellite TV with local and international channels. Safe. Cots and Highchairs for infants. Optional Extras: On request we are happy to arrange Welcome Packs, Airport Transfers, Internet Access, External Telephone Service. We can also help with Car Rental, Excursions, Golf, Local Information, Dinner Reservations, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Da Horta Olhos De Agua, Portugal - Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Horta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.